100% IN THE PATH OF TOTALITY: MY 2017 ECLIPSE PHOTOS & TRIP TO MANN'S CREEK RESERVOIR, IDAHO

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

As promised, here are my photos taken of the eclipse this morning. I got a few images which I am very happy with. I was using a Sony Handycam with a 54x digital zoom. I covered my camera lens with a piece of "2017 Eclipse Glasses" which were of the proper type for wearing over your eyes while looking directly at the sun. It seemed like a no-brainer to me: if its' good enough to protect your eyes, it should be good enough to protect your camera - but I'm just an amateur at this, so I really don't know what I'm doing. It was difficult to get my camera to stay still enough to take clear photos, but I did get a few good ones!

2017eclipse05.jpg
I think this was my best photo of the 100% eclipse.

2017eclipse01.jpg
The moon starts its' crossing...

2017eclipse02.jpg
The moon is really starting to make its' presence known...

2017eclipse03.jpg
The moon covering the sun by about 50%...

2017eclipse04.jpg
The moon mostly covering the sun...

2017eclipse05.jpg
100% eclipse!

2017eclipse06.jpg
The moon begins to pass out of the suns' light...

2017eclipse07.jpg
I like how you can start to really see the 3D shape of the moon in this photo...

2017eclipse08.jpg
The sun begins to dominate the sky again.

2017eclipse00.jpg
The view from above Manns' Creek Reservoir, Idaho

2017eclipse09.jpg
A white bird, The Great Egret...

946780_1084150701616177_4674436392754802239_n.jpg

After the eclipse event, I paddled around the lake for a couple of hours with my wife and our two dogs. We had a great time. Again, all I was able to catch on film - as far as wildlife went - was a damn bird. We did see a beaver, several ducks, some fish, and even a deer that came down to the waters' edge to get a drink. I find that you must be constantly ready to take a picture when you're out on a trip because, just when you're not prepared, that's always when it seems like you see the most amazing animals. That seems to be "Murphys' Law" for me, if I want to capture some pictures of any wildlife.

If you have some of your own photos of the eclipse to share, feel free to leave me a link in the comments section. I'd be more than happy to check them out and give you an upvote.


Join #minnowsupport on the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Discord channel:(https://discord.gg/qM4rRqs)

Join #steemfollower to multiply your upvotes by X5 (https://steemfollower.com/?r=252)

Let the Cloud mine cryptos for you while you sleep. Start for free, log-on every day for a free reward: https://www.eobot.com/user/764331

Sort:  

nice set of photos

Thanks! It was hard to get the camera to set still enough, at 54x zoom. I had to take several shots to get a good one. Just pushing the button on it would sometimes knock it off of focus. I was surprised that I was able to get better photos than I expected. I see what many others have done and am pretty happy with mine.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

the photos of the eclipse are amazing , thanks for sharing

I'm glad you liked them. Thanks!

Congrats! This post has been selected at random as a part of our promotional campaign for a free resteem. Learn about this new initiative

Thanks for the re-steem.

best pics i've seen of the eclipse

Thanks! I think it was the 54x zoom ability of my camera that helped set my pics apart from many others. The Sony Handycam also has auto-adjustments for different levels of light. All I had to do was set the light settings to "auto" and then do a full zoom - but it was difficult to keep my tripod on target and keep it still enough not to get blurry pictures. For every picture posted above, there were at least 2 or 3 that were too blurry to be any good.

Those are amazing pics. Thanks for sharing.. i didn't get to see much of it here in Denver

Very nice, thanks for sharing!

NICE SHOTS.
Nice also to "meet you "
Watched your video. Smart to invest in silver/ gold. I personally have been feeling that silver has been vastly undervalued at least as of a few years back. As for my plans with steemit, I was thrilled a couple months ago with my first big (to me) payout and then subsequent smaller amounts since i was also quite happy with. I really don't plan on any time of powering down as i think the value of steem is unrealized at this time. But i also see the merit in what you're doing with the precious metals. I plan to leave my steen power alone, probably power up some of my earnings every now and then, and cash out other earnings I obtain as strategically as possible for an extra income stream.

As for the eclipse, again those are great photos. So great imma resteem this! Thanks for sharing since i didn't get to see it i live vicariously through others pictures:D

Thanks for the comment on my pictures. Actually, it was a lot of effort on my part to get them, but I felt like it was an important & rare enough event that it would serve as a good bookmark in time for me & my life - so I can go back someday and reminisce. The whole eclipse event was a bit over-hyped, but that's no reason not to take part in the event, in my own small way. My wife, my dogs, the truck breaking-down, rowing around the lake on my canoe - it's important to me to mark how well I spend my time, because I'll never get that time back again. Time is the most precious commodity that anyone has. The older I get, the more I realize this - and I'm only 44.

As far as other precious commodities go... I love silver for 2 main reasons. First, when it comes to money, you always hear that the first rule of investing is: "Never invest more than you can afford to lose." Buying physical silver, and holding it yourself, eliminates any risks of losing it - other than the ever present risks that already exist - like theft, loss, or destruction. That can already happen to your dollars or whatever else you have, so no increased risk is associated there. Your money remains in your own pocket. The spot price fluctuates a bit, so there are good vs. bad times to cash it in, but your risk of "losing it all" is eliminated. Second, we may - possibly - at some point in time - get this "moonshot" in silver that the silver-pumpers have been hyping for decades. They make ads and videos all the time, breathlessly hyping the benefits of holding your own precious metals. Who knows - when the current debt bubbles go "pop," it's very possible we could see silver going past $150 or $300. Nobody knows if or when that might happen but, if it does, I'm not going to be complaining about having a good stack of silver bullion in my safe. Otherwise, worst case scenario is this: I have saved my money in a way that prevents it from being denied to me at the exact time I might need it. Stacking physical silver seems like a solid strategy for wealth preservation during any time of financial uncertainty. And, we seem to be living in interesting times...

Wow what camera did you use? Beautiful

I used a Sony Handycam HDR-CX240. These pictures were only shot in 2.1 megapixels but the camera has a 54x digital zoom. It can take up to 9.2 megapixels, but I only had a 32 MB memory card on me at the time - so I took smaller pictures to save space on my card. I was an idiot & forgot my better memory card at home. It would have looked even better with a higher resolution, but I'm happy I got what I did. For a light filter, I simply taped a part of my "eclipse glasses" over the camera lens. It seems to have worked out well enough - but it was definitely not a "pro" set-up, at all.

Amazing photo! Thank you for your patience while drawing such photos!

No drawings. All photos taken on my Sony Handycam at 54x zoom, and a lens from a pair of eclipse glasses taped over the camera lens. :D

I'm sorry, friend. I'm writing with the dictionary google) There are mistakes.
I talked about patience when photographing)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61