So that is what that means.....

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Well, the silver/copper collecting bug has truly bitten me (I would also do gold and the rest if I had the cash!). However, as with every new interest there is a wealth of things that need to be learnt... either the hard way or the easy way! I have been putting some relatively low bids on auction sites like ebay, Marktplaats (Dutch ebay) and BVA (insolvency auctions), and I pretty disciplined about it. I'm just growing the collection, and so I don't put in bids that are more than the actual price of the silver (or whatever metal) itself.

Some things that I've learnt are to keep an eye on the reputations and volumes of the sellers. It is pretty hard to trust someone that has had a number of complaints and/or is selling things for the first time. Sure, they might be genuine... or they might be scamming...

100 mills

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, I learnt what 100 mills means in silver circles! I had seen this auction on Ebay, and it was described as a 100 mills, one ounce 999 silver bar (which I later found out is technically the truth!). I didn't think too much about it as I put in an initial 5 euro bid on it (I tend to do this, just to essentially bookmark the auction, it isn't going to ever win!). However, as the days went on, it was still the highest bid at around 2.5 euro. That's weird I thought.... normally, I get trumped pretty quick on these things!

Anyway, that was when I did some research as to what 100 mills actually meant... and apparently it is a euphemistic "codeword" for silver plated. Great... At least I didn't put in a realistic bid... but it looked like I was going to win this auction unless some other noob sucker decided to outbid me!

Alas... no one else was stupid enough to... and so I'm now the proud owner of a piece of fake silver! Anyway, that was a good lesson to learn... and it came in pretty cheap at 2.5 euro plus 1.5 shipping or something like that. It won't kill me, but the damage to my trigger happy bidding finger is permanent! At least, I will be much more careful about reading the description and looking things up before I put in a bid! (As an aside, I did see an interesting Silver Liberty coin on Marktplaats... which I did some little research on, and it turned out to be a fake (at least from the photos...)).

As you can see, it is pretty magnetic! Probably, the case that it came in is worth more than the thing itself.... but it now has pride of place next to my computer! As a reminder to just slow down a little bit... and at least it LOOKS pretty, even if it is fake....

Mene, Investment Jewelry!

Look great whilst retaining your long term investment value! Mene has Gold and other precious metal jewelry for that special person or persons... or just for yourself! Sign up with this link to get $5 credit.


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Keep Your Digital Gold Safe with Ledger

Ledger is one of the leading providers of hardware wallets with the Ledger Nano S being one of the most popular choices for protecting your crypto currencies. Leaving your holdings on a crypto exchange means that you don’t actually own the digital assets, instead you are given an IOU that may or may not be honoured when you call upon it. Software and web based wallets have their weakness in your own personal online security, with your private keys being vulnerable in transit or whilst being stored upon your computer. Paper wallets are incredibly tiresome and still vulnerable to digital attacks (in transit) and are also open to real world attacks (such as theft/photography).

Supporting a wide range of top tokens and coins, the Ledger hardware wallet ensures that your private keys are secure and not exposed to either real world or digital actors. Finding a happy medium of security and usability, Ledger is the leading company in providing safe and secure access to your tokenised future!

Ledger Nano S - The secure hardware wallet

Sort:  

Pretty sexy bar - if it was legit😶

Yes it does look pretty... pity it is fake!

However, on a completely seperate topic! Are you interested in a totally legit 100mills silver bar!

You called for The Stackitis Nurse?

My Clinical Study of Stackitis-Stackitus Article Health Report 8675309
Intervention Assessment:
Brand: Probably made in China ✔
Configuration: Bar ✔
Year: Unknown ✔
Purity: 0.009 ✔
Supporting Ag: eBay Return ? ✔
Patient Assessment (SAT) score 8.0
Status: Oh Poo!
Conclusion: Treatment outcome NOT Successful. Mr @bengy
Comments: So Sad, these things are terrible and the only thing you can do is put a negative result to his/her posting. Happened to me as the Seller never stated that the item as a Replica, Novelty item and misrepresent an item by neglecting key facts. I know the feeling. Lesson learned.

Thank you as I'll be monitoring and documenting the results carefully. I will add these experiences into our knowledge base knowing that it will greatly benefit others in similar circumstances.
If you are having problems dealing in coping with Stacking symptoms, side effects, or negative outcomes my clinic door will be open.

"Because the loss of a Stacker as a loss to all of us."

Kerris L Ravenhill
Steemit Public Health Intake Studies Division: HCW II, N.P.N, D.T.Dip , Bu.S.H.I.T PMAS Stackitis Study Group
🚑 💉 For the Health of the Stacking Community 🚒 💊

Lmfao this is one of the coolest comments ever!

Posted using Partiko Android

If you read my Study and Report you will see that my passion in the #steemsilvergold community is not just silver and gold but also the health of our members coping with this condition. @bengy 's condition is positive for Stackitis but so far mild compared most members. There are examples of severe maladaptive behavior elevating into an acute phase. There is a chance of this leading to overcompensating and flawed decision making if left unchecked.

Lollol! This is such a great comment! I was stung a little by this purchase! But I'm now wiser!

I have quite a few new little things to share, but I've not found the right time to post it! I'm keeping the sickness fed!

As for the ebay seller... He didn't do anything technically wrong, it just wasn't stated up front that it was plated. But that is what 100 mills is. So it was deceptive, but not wrong...

The part of my Comment beginning with "Thank you" is the part usually read fast as in those Drug Commercials (Industry Standard...you know...govt bureaucracy) Here you can read it at your leisure. No need to rush.

I almost bought one of these once, too... but, the price appeared "too good to be true" so I did a bit of research on it before bidding, and glad I did! The piece is pretty, though, so enjoy it! Or, make some child happy by gifting it to them!

Maybe it can be the dud prize in the next @ssg-community Monster Raffle!

Bummer! But an affordable bummer.

This reminds me of a 17€ Pepsi I bought in Paris. 😂🤣 #lifelesson

Lol! You didn't realise you were buying a fake Coca-Cola?

😂🤣😂🤣 YES!!!

And was just dumb and bought something without realizing what I was getting (both in size and price). I think your feeling of not paying attention and it being a learning moment for you is what took me back to that darn cola!

A few years ago, I almost bought German Silver... that too, is not silver.

That one I learnt whilst learning about 100 mills as well. Also, little tricks and tests for testing real silver.. and how to spot fakes... I'm by no means an expert, but at least I won't be tricked by the simplest fakes now!

I was just going to congratulate you on owning a pretty piece and then find out it is fake hahaha
Well, wishing you more authentic ones soonest :D

Oh shame, @bengy! Lesson learned....

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bengy (also musicapoetica) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.241 which ranks you at #2802 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 2813).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 281 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 14.23% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @bengy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43