Sort:  

Half dollars brother

Thanks, @silverd510!

@bengy, they are indeed half Dollars. :)

Lol, why not 50 cents?

I guess because you round up. So if it was worth $0.49, then you would call it a 49 cent piece, but since it's $0.50, you refer to it by the larger unit to which it's rounded. Although, even $0.25 pieces we call "quarters" because they're a quarter dollar. So I don't really know.

I think it's because we're trained to think of things in dollars! Also "half" is easier and shorter to say than "fifty cent piece." :P

Lol... Funny, I always knew coins by their cent values!

Yeah, it's sort of weird. Don't worry. People would still know what you meant if you said a "50 cent piece." The coins are uncommon enough that you don't normally see them in circulation. I think it's mainly the banks that use them.

Different to Australia and EU then! We have 50 cent pieces everywhere... But no 25 cent ones!

Don't know if you have seen an Australian 50 cent, it's massive and 12 sided. The large surface area makes for a great surface for doing special coins.

Thanks, I thought so... But aren't they normally called 50 cents!

I don't think I've heard them called 50 ent pieces very often. Most people just say "half dollar" or "halves."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85