its an old bar :)

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

SSG3EVA.gif

hiya ssg friends!
So the other day I bought this vintage bar, it was prior to my learning curve in fakery and deceit. I was very pleased with it arrived, then I went through my learning curve and was slightly less pleased. The only thing to do was run through the tests I had been learning. I tried weighing it, it was fine just under 32g, I tried the magnet, it was fine had a slight drag and I also used the magnet on one of my coins so I had experience of what to expect, I tried tapping it, no ringing, I examined it closely looking for wearing or showing through of another metal, couldn't see any, however my eyes are not entirely to be trusted, especially with anything say smaller than newsprint, ok smaller than the headlines, ok so my eyes don't see too well, I used the magnifying glass, still looks worn but no showing through of any other colour. I then went to find out what I could about it , see how popular it was, try to judge whether it was popular enough to be worth faking. I could not find much, little bit of history, hardly any pictures, seems it is quite hard to find many others, so not popular? not enough to be worth faking. At this point I decided ok lets write it up and show everyone, see what they think, it was totally on price, I didn't pay over or less, seems I got it for the going rate. Ok so here goes this is what I bought

bar1.png

I have since watched a video on finding its gravity weight thingumajig, thats a techincal term, honest, so I decided next week I shall do a post with a video in it, of little me trying to be all technical and finding gravity thingumajigs of bars to see if they satisfy the silvery goodness requirements :) for now I am say around 60% confident in thinking it's silver, but only because it seemed hard to find so I figured no one was going to bother faking them, maybe it's cos it's old or something , I don't know, so my friends what do you think? does this have a good chance of being proper silver and all , or are you like me and waiting for the results of the weighing in thing :)

thank you for reading

images and writing by Velveteen 2018

an3lg.gif

dbandv.png

Sort:  


If your One Ounce Bar of Silver is about 32 grams, you did fine...

hiya, it was, i weighed on some scales i wasn't sure of though they were old, so i have bought new ones and i shall weight it again when i do the gravity test then i will know for sure :) thank you for dropping by i appreciate it, have a fab day, respect

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

many thanks to ssg community, respect

Specific gravity is a good weigh to find out if it is silver, 999 silver should be about 10.4 . If it is around 8 it would likely to be copper.

hiya, i will be doing the water gravity thing tomorrow, i keep being busy today , think i am procrastinating at the moment as it looks such a nice bar :) however i wont trust it until i have so i wont be able to stay in suspense long :) thank you for popping in i appreciate it, much respect to you

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations @beckieg! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

many thanks, respect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97