2018 Steem Silver Round - Final Revisions

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

If I'm looking at the data correctly, I think I made it to the next and final round of voting!

A huge thank you to everyone who voted for me during the voting rounds, especially those who donated SBD towards the production of the coins in the last round just to vote for me. I love you guys! ❤️

During the second round of voting I became aware of the negative implications of having the text say "Together to the Moon."

For me, the words mean a lot of things, not all of which I managed to include in my initial submission, but it's definitely not just about crypto - I just want to make that clear.

In saying that, I managed to connect my printer to my laptop today and scanned my submission so I could give it a few touch ups on Photoshop and see if I can incorporate someone's suggestion of just having a more detailed moon instead of the writing before the final voting round begins.

The Process

First, I had to fix the colour and define the blacks and whites, getting rid of the grey sections that used to be the pencil marks.

01.png

I then made the black lines bolder, more striking, really defining the swirls.

02.png

I added a border because the coin will have a border..

03.png

I then created a black semi circle for the moon

04.png

I then erased everything inside it

05.png

06.png

Tidied up a little corner, deleting the old lines and fixing it so it connects seamlessly to the Moon border.

07.png

Selecting the Mathlete (Commercial Free) Font, I added the writing, finishing off Edit 1 of the design.

08.png

For Edit 2, I added the Moon (Thank You Pixabay!)

09.png

As you could see the Moon looks odd looking so realistic, so I applied the cutout filter to take some of those edges out and smooth out the Moon a little bit.

10.png

I then adjusted the colour so the Moon still had detail but more toned down. I felt it provided too much of a contrast of styles being so dark.

(You'll also noticed I changed the border style on this screenshot to provide a more accurate representation of the coin border.)

11.png

In the end

I ended up with these variations.

With text, simple thin Moon border.

2018-SSR-TEXT-1.png

With Moon, simple thin Moon border.

2018-SSR-MOON-1.png

With text, chunky Moon border.

2018-SSR-TEXT-2.png

With Moon, chunky Moon border.

2018-SSR-MOON-2.png

With Moon, old border.

2018-SSR-MOON-3.png

And just to rewind.. Here's the scanned image.

scan.png

What do you guys think about the edits?

I have considered perhaps another font, but I loved mathlete because it fit the style of my drawing, and was similar to my handwriting.

I was also thinking would it be too cheesy to have a smiling moon?

Let me know your thoughts!

🌼 Arly

Sort:  

I think text with simple thin moon border but i did like the old border. In the first round @skeptic did a moon theme with a cartoon feel, the bottom portion of that design would look cool for the moon.

Thanks @russellbury! I'll go have a look at what @skeptic did. Did you see my reply to your reply on the voting post? :D

I did, wasnt the image id seen, im sure it was something i have seen when i was young so 20 to 30 years ago, but who knows this life could be always and forever and thats why some things in the future can be mistaken for past memories, actually its too early to be thinking like that, i need to go to work lol.

hahah I actually understood where you're going with that. I've had time warp moments :) Enjoy work!

Love what you did there. I personally liked the "together to the moon" because I understood what it symbolised. I'm going to have to up my game after seeing this now. Lol

I don't have photoshop, so is there anything else I could use to "digitally" enhanced my design?

Good luck in the next round and I'd be more than happy to have your design on the 2018 coin.

Awww Thanks @welshstacker, I'm glad you liked the writing, I did too lol

I'm pretty happy your design is in the finals, was cheering about it. I love your meaning and the Tree idea is inspired, I'd be happy to have it in my collection. ❤

I can't think of any other software. I only use Photoshop 🤔 Maybe do what I did and make multiple copies of your original and define all your lines with a fine tip marker?

Best of luck Welshy ❤ I'm gonna see what my day is like then I'll come find you, maybe I can help with the touch up?

I’m sure someone here can do that for you!

I've asked, I even did a blog to ask for help but only had 1 response.

Fantastic! What kind of image editing program do you use if I may ask?

Hey @janusface! I use Adobe Photoshop :)

You did make it to the finals! I like some of the changes you have made to it! I don’t know which design I like best!

Woohooo!!! Thanks so much @sevinwilson ❤❤

How tough is the competition this year??!!!!

These are fantastic @bearone! Super cool design :D

@sndbox, my people!! Thank you ❤❤❤

You guys need to get on board the stacking thing or at least get your hands on Steem Rounds.

I was actually thinking does the annual Steem Silver Round project fit @creativecrypto selection criteria? :D

Hello! I am 1.5 months in Steemit. I ask you to support my posts and I will return you% SBD for each of your votes - the amount of interest you will determine for me. Thank you. Excuse for troubling. Yours faithfully, @maxdani.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Hi @bearone ,all images are great ..but i prefer the chunky border,it shows an emphasis on the desgn..:)

Sorry for the delay checking this out just getting back from a mini Vacay. I really like the moon like it is. We could use a special minting technology to give it a photo realist look similar to this bar.

All good! I knew you were on vacay. Glad youre both home safe and sound!

Oooohhh that is a nice touch!!! I wasn't sure if that was doable. Would we texture the waves too? 🤔

hmmm I might play with that idea tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54