Precious Metal noob hoping to join the #steemsilvergold community

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

Hey everyone,

I'm a relative Steemit noob with only a month under my belt, and only just made my #introduceyourself post a few days ago. I found out about #steemsilvergold through @harleymechanix who I met on the Austin Steemit discord. The very first post I a saw from this group was this post where he won .5g of gold from @goldkey . Talk about having my mind blown!

Since then I did some reading on the community, but didn't feel I could really fit in since I didn't have a hoard, treasure chest, collection, or even a stak. I only have a single 1 ounce silver coin. I've been hodling it a bit over half my life. This lady right here:

It was a present from my grandmother when it was brand new. I assume she bought it out of some magazine or TV commercial as a Christmas present.

If it looks familiar I was reminded I had it stashed away when I saw the post @harleymechanix made here.

Well @harleymechanix being the awesome dude he is decided to DOUBLE my stack by nominating me as the recipient of a coin from the 2017 Steem Silver Round Raffle by @fat-elvis

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think 2 coins can be called the beginning of a stack. With that said I think I may have the bug and am looking to grow it from there.

So far I have:

Hopefully I read and understood the rules correctly. From my understanding to be a member I need to make relevant quality posts at least once a week and the be nominated and seconded by members. That's part of the reason I'm making this post as a way to introduce myself.

That's all for now, but I hope to using some of my SBD gains to make a purchase soon. If I broke any rules please let me know in the comments or in a DM on discord and I will correct my mistake.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

First up, welcome. It doesn't matter if you stack 1oz or 1000oz.... The fact you have taken an interest in it is enough to get you started.

We are a friendly bunch, sometimes too much and if light hearted banter offends you, well you need to suck it up buttercup! 😀

Rules are simple - read posts, interact, give feedback and when @raybrockman walks in the room, you take a knee (unofficial king). You haven't got to post everyday/week but if you have something precious metal related like you found a new supplier with a great deal or you bought a new coin or you just want advice please use the hashtag #steemsilvergold as your first tag and we will find you.

DO NOT USE THE HASHTAG IF IT'S NOT PRECIOUS METALS RELATED AND DO NOT COPY AND USE OTHERS WORK AS YOUR OWN.

Once you have contributed you'll get noticed and added to the SSG members list by @silverstackeruk where your post will be checked and an existing member will second and third you and that's it.... You're in!

Wow, thanks for the awesome welcome!

On the banter portion I think it will be pretty hard to offend me, but thanks for the warning :)

I appreciate you spelling out the rules and giving some tips. I'm looking forward to making a post about my first purchase.

It's all rather laid back, just enjoy and have a laugh. The SSG guys are amazing and will have your back if you're stuck. It may take weeks/months so don't give up and don't expect $$$ flying around from the start. Most of the guys will always interact so just leave comments and don't be afraid to ask questions. There are no stupid questions!

(unofficial king) literally made me laugh out loud! as I slowly take a knee just in case he is watching

Don't ever forget it... He has eyes and ears everywhere

Seems like a good way to start the stack to me! Welcome to the disease, there's no cure but #steemsilvergold can prescribe what you need.

Lol, if it's a disease then I need to make sure the wife catches it too. Right now she's rolling her eyes but we'll see how she feels once she can see the stack growing.

I'm trying to convince my girl. She may be getting her first piece.

Great post! And everyone here started with 1 piece, it is so much fun to find pieces you like or good deal, good luck but watch out it is addicting!

I'm going to have to do some reading before I know when I'm getting a good deal. But I used to flip other stuff so I don't mind doing the research.

I think @Welshstacker covered the main things. So welcome to #steemsilvergold and just stacking in general. Just a bit of warning...stacking is addictive! ☺

Thanks for the welcome! Dang right it's addictive, I already made my first purchase online. Looking forward to posting about it when it comes in.

Looks like you got it all nailed down to me. Happy stacking and look forward to your posts my man 👍

Awesome, glad to see I did it right. I've been scoping out your website I'm impressed with your work!

Thanks for the shout-out (@goldkey) and Welcome to steemsilvergold.
Most all of us got started with One Ounce of Silver. Oftentimes, it was given to us, same as you. I believe you will fit right in.
A local coin shop is another great place to get silver and meet others who value silver and gold.
Cheers - and beware - Stackitis is contagious and real.

Thanks for the kind words. I'm thinking about hitting up a local place this weekend. Im already feeling an itch. I'll make sure to post about it if I do.

Welcome aboard dude, don't worry too much about it, we're pretty laid back, just hang around and we'll get you in soon enough.

Thanks for the welcome and running that awesome raffle I won :)

Great post man! Upvoted. I have followed you on Steemit, please be kind enough to follow me as well.

hello and welcome, I have a hard time with steemit, I hope you succeed better and I press my thumbs for you!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94