Where were you in 1982 ?? 2 Oz.'s of Vintage Silver Beauty from The Crabtree Mint......

in #steemsilivergold6 years ago (edited)

92e7593d-2dd2-418a-96b1-019054c7d0f3.jpeg


An LCS purchase today Two Bits. The First Five people that comment below what Countries coin gave us the term "Two Bits" will get a 100% UP Vote from Stokjockey. Now Let's have some Fun........... #steemsilvergold


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play | IOS
Sort:  

A beauty, reminds me of the old german silver coins I got at home from my grandparents. They're bit older but the same kind of beauty :)

What does the reverse look like? You have me intrigued now.
Never knew that origin of Two Bits phrase was from
Spain/Mexico

@senstless well now that you mentioned the Two Countries that I would accept as the Correct Answer you are the #5 Winner and final Full UP Vote for this Post. Thank You for participating.......

004.jpg

I really like that side - great score. Funny that you and @silver-hammer posted Crabtree Mint Rounds back to back. I have heard of that mint until this week!

Great Britain or Spain ?

@mikegpo good job going back to edit your comment early. Spain gives us the Two Bits from the Spanish Milled Dollar. I would have also excepted Mexico because of the Spanish Colonial Reales.

From the inter webs....

“Two bits is commonly understood in America to be one quarter. The word “bit” long meant, in England, any coin of a low denomination. In early America, “bit” was used for some Spanish and Mexican coins that circulated and were worth one-eighth of a peso, or about 12 and one-half cents. Hence, two bits would have equaled about 25 cents.”

So England with a detour via Spain & Mexico?

Spanish Milled Dollar and Yes you had all of the bases covered. Thank you for participating @dfinney

In return for your full upvote, please enjoy my worthless upvote. 😬 Good morning! ☺️

🙃🤪

I always appreciate anyone who takes the time to look at my Posts. Have a Wonderful Saturday @dfinney

Mexico or Spain because of the Spanish Milled Dollar which broken down gave us Pieces of Eight. One Quarter of the Pieces of Eight is "Two Bits"

Spain for the two bits!

@grizzman #4 answer YES and now one more Winner to go...........

I believe it was from Britain — “shave and a haircut — 2 bits”

Never seen that before 😮

I did not find one on eBay when I got home today.......... @pit-bullion

I think that I must start sleeping later, for your posts are always 7 or 8 hours old when I wake up and I always miss the chance for a full upvote. :=)

Why Sleep at All ??

This is really interesting! I do not think that I have ever seen anything like this before. I wonder how it got to your LCS.

@knowledge-seeker I would say that a customer needing some FIAT brought it in during the week since I go to this LCS once or twice a week..................

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65809.66
ETH 2680.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.95