Exotic Kraken Zombie! + Recipe.

in #steempub6 years ago

So the other day, to reward myself for all my hard work, I made myself a drink. Frank and I had gone to the SAQ to replenish our Disaronno supply and he also got himself some Brandy. There was a cute little bottle of Dark Rum, The Kraken, so of course I wanted it. The bottle itself is adorable. Though I believe they could have aligned their label better lol OCPD much.

IMG_0485[1].JPG

The rum itself smells nice but is a bit strong alone for my liking. And what's the best thing to make with Dark Rum? When you have a bunch of other rums? And lots of juices? ZOMBIE!

(Recipe below.)

IMG_0486[1].JPG

  • I put in about 1/2+ oz of the Kraken dark rum (didn't measure);
  • 1/2 oz of white rum (bacardi was used);
  • 1/2 oz golden rum (Captain Morgan Spiced Rum was used);
  • Then poured Tropical Passion Juice to fill 1/3+ of the glass
  • Then filled another 1/3 of the glass with Orange juice
  • And again 1/3 filled glass with Pear-Apple juice

The I realised that I did not account for a rim, so I had to sip the top a bit, and I added a teeny bit of the Pear-Apple juice to compensate for drinking some of it.

  • Then I dropped a splash of Apricot Brandy
  • And poured a drizzle of Grenadine (a bit more than a drizzle got poured though)

I drank it while squeezing limes (another recipe I will share in the coming days). It was good, it was an epic zombie. Good thing I drank it slowly :p

IMG_0488[1].jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-15T03:19:42
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 161.60/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Yum!! I don’t drink rum that often - but I really like Kraken when I do! A really good cocktail with Kraken is a “Dark and Stormy” it is just dark rum, ginger beer, and lime. So yummy!

Enjoy your zombie cocktail!! That looks so fun for summer!

That actually sounds quite good, Dark and Stormy. I'll have to try it.

Frank and I were looking at various drinks for his birthday, and we like Long Island Iced Tea, but I've stopped drinking caffeinated things. But we found a Beach Island Iced Tea recipe, which is pretty much the same thing, except with Cranberry Juice instead of Coke/Pepsi. So, guess what I'm making in a pitcher! I'll add in lime and lemon and orange slices. Plus, his birthday is on the 3rd, we're celebrating it with friends on the 1st, and the 1st is also Canada Day. The red colour will be very fitting.

Im a huge fan of brandy and that looks absolutley delicious. Definitely going to have to try this one day if i can remember how to make it.

Haha! There is also a more intense kind of Zombie that includes 7 different kinds of rum. That I have never dared to try lol :p

I'll have to look it up. Long Island Iced Tea and now a 7 rum zombie drink. Sounds like a fun weekend.

Zombie! I used to get hammered with zombies back in the day 😁

I remember going to Les Trois Brasseurs downtown and I first had a Mojito, and I was fine, and then they made me a zombie. When I got out of there, for some reason, I had a fit of laughter, everyone was staring at me because I could barely walk straight or properly. I was hysterical, cramped up, bending over and every time someone gave me weird look, I laughed even harder. It HAD to be the zombie from that place. It MUST have :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82