Sort:  

I've read it! But I'm sorry, I have no ideas...
I completely understand your situation... it's similar to mine except for the fact that I already am jobless. And I can tell you: being jobless at 50+ is, well, uh, let's say... SH*T. Sorry, I didn't find another word...

There are good things of course about the situation... lots of free time is the most important. But... having a lot of free time when most people around you are working is not really fun every day...

If I were you, I would look for another job while still working. A part-time job for example... just to keep a foot in the "active population". It would give you more time to investigate what you want to do, but also keep a certain financial security...

Believe me, finding a new job while still working is much easier than finding one when you're jobless. Just my 2 cents...

Hey man! Thanks for reading it! :))

Damn, that's a real tough situation for you. I'm quite lucky that I'm only 29 yet, so there is still a good chance for me to find something probably more easy.

A part time job would be great as well, but it should be something what I like to do. Editing / Photography or something else what requires creative work.

I'll keep looking and looking. Thanks again for taking your time! :))

Thanks for your personal post! It's always great to read a but more about Steemians and their backgrounds :-) I can totally relate to 'selling your lifetime' in a company. As a photographer you must already know about stock photography - you could consider reading up on what trends there are in imagery and create an amazing photo series which might sell well on stock sites.

Hope you can find ways out of your job, and I'm happy to hear of your 6000 STEEM buy :-) Congratz!

Good luck <3

Hi @soyrosa ! Thanks for stopping by and going through it :))

Yeah I really have to try to dig a bit deeper into stock photography. I tried for about 13 months now but it just wouldn't work. One main problem is that the market for People/Street photography is not really big :D

Thanks again :))

Some very familiar stuff/situations :D Stay strong and keep the faith buddy, this world is full of opportunities and hopefully, Steem is one of them :) Wishing you all the best and hoping you will be able to live a life you want after you quit your current job. And congrats on the power up ;) I believe our faith and persistance will come to fruition soon.

Hi Buddy! Thanks for you comment!

Yeah I 100% will keep trying until I succeed. We are not giving up! :))

I still believe that hard work pays off at some point. We just gotta keep going.

Thanks man! Wish you a great week!

First of all— sending luck and good vibes your way! Leaving the rat race to do your own thing is a big move, and hope you end up with the smoothest transition possible!

Second— as for passive monetization utilizing photography, off the top of my head, here are a couple of just semi-formed ideas:

  • sell an online photography course that you promote using your blog -- you've clearly got the skills! Something like: The ABCs of authentic street photography, Intro to Landscape Photography... or some such title. You can offer the course directly on your blog using WooCommerce/or some other plugin, or you can use a platform like Teachable or Thinkific to host the course.
  • incorporate ads (doesn't have to be Google Ads, there are other options) into your blog - I know you mention in a previous post (I think?) wanting to get out of stock photography, but if you decide to set up a little subsection of your site or a totally new one where you offer FREE stock photography directly to your customers (no more middleman!), with the right SEO and guerilla marketing tactics, you might be able to make a decent amount of cash just from display ads alone.

Best of luck to you, Chris!

Hi @oheyo :)

Thanks for taking the time to read/comment my post :)

I have to agree that a online course might be a decent possibility. I will collect some Street Photography footage in the next weeks and try to make a few single videos. If it works I could build up a course. That will be something totally new for me but as I said, I'm open and willing to learn/try out almost everything.

The second point is very interesting as well. I never thought about it to be honest. I will do more research in this field. Thanks a ton for bringing it up!

Thanks again for taking your time! :))

Cool post. I see some similarities. I carried out newspapers as well, sometimes...sometimes I just hided them in the basement until there were to many. 😂

Why not creating a coaching program for photography, photo/video editing and so on? I’m not skilled enough, but you are! Just a idea! Online coaching is more popular than ever. Some of the kids nowadays do not even need a school they learn all the important stuff on YouTube.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Didn't we all do that? Hahahahha :D

Yeah you are right! I thought about it as well. I might try to make a few single videos for LR editing first and if it works maybe build up a course. That's a super good idea!

Thank buddy!

It is the hope to get Steem to moon that kept us going on Steem. I came across many user on steemit who simply consider steemit as a source of income and left their study or job. But that is very tricky or like gambling that one is doing when deciding dependency on Steem.
So if everyone gets😍 lucky the days are not far enough to see a brighter future for keeping faith on steem

Yeah we gotta keep believing but I definitely can not count on it as my only income stream :D

At the moment the price is just to low to earn money with it. But hope dies last :))

Thanks!

Good Luck with your plan.

Thanks @willowwisp , I appreciate it :))

Very nice article! I read every line! I could feel your struggle! I am also looking for an income to be able to retire properly! It’s tough time at the moment!

Don’t quit your job yet! You just have to be quietly with yourself for sometimes and be patient! The answer will come and it will find you! Live everyday with the awareness of how lucky you are at the moment comparing with most people who are sick or have no freedom.

This is testing time! Get some Bitcoin, Litecoins and small gold bars (at Ausìris in Bangkok, prices are lowered this week!). I may have to sell some antiques to get by in a few months’ time! At least I still have something to depend on!
Karmic law is at work here! Go with the flows!

Good luck!

Thank you for taking the time to read it buddy! :))

Very strong words which you left here and I have to agree with you. I need to keep my patients and I need to appreciate smaller things in life as well.

All I can do for now is work as hard as I can and try to reach all my small goals!

I hope you situation is becoming better soon as well.

Thanks!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the new contest I just launched.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Black and white

Posted using Partiko Android

Are you a bot? haha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86