The “no phone” experiment part 1

in #steempress6 years ago

Disadvantages


Well after some time without a phone I had been thinking in a number of disadvantages or problems of not having “the little guy” (the cellphone) around, some maybe too obvious but others not so much, I going to start naming the big ones for me, the most annoying or that bother me the most, lets begin:

Not being able to call


I know it’s too obvious, but you don’t realize how important its to call somebody until you are in a moment of need or trouble, and you don’t know what to do, and need the help of someone, like the moment when you get stock in the elevator and you are scrub because you cant call anybody at the same time the alarm is off, that really sucks (doesn’t happened to me, but it did to a neighbor) in that moment you would want to have at least something to make noise, or when you get stuck in the highway with your broken car, and you have to make smoke signals, to call the mechanic or something, anyway during this time not been able to make a phone call for anything meaningless or really important has been a big problem.

No sending or receiving SMS


Yeah you are right, this is also a pretty obvious one, but it’s also really annoying, especially in those moments when you only need to said little things to someone, but you don’t want to call it, well like that but multiplied by a hundred, because you simple cant reach it in any way, and even worst is that lately any services online, or webpage is using your number to send you a text with some code, that you need to access it, so you are screwed.

No camera


Maybe this is a little egocentric, but is really annoying that you want to capture a moment, a view, a panorama, etc. And you can’t reach your camera in your pocket to save that instant. I’m not a person that its constantly taking “selfies” (actually is really rare that I do it, usually is a group photo or something) but I like snapping some pictures of places, landscapes, beautiful views, some animals, I really love taking those kind of pictures, and don’t having that option is bothering me a lot, you could said that the best place to save the moment is in the memory, and maybe you are right, sometimes capturing a pictures of that instant could ruin the moment, but I am one of the people to think that a picture enhance the moment in your memory, and give you a better reincarnate of the feelings and emotions of that precious instant.

No flashlight


It might sound weird, but lately having a phone equals to having a flashlight, thanks to the flash of the camera, we always have a torch on the pocket, and man, you have no idea of how many times I am looking for something under the bed or in the darkness, reach to my pocket and realize that I don’t have a cellphone, that is so frustrating.


I believe those are the biggest disadvantages or at least the more troublesome for me so far, they are not the only ones that I encounter, in the next post I will share the little inconvenience of not having a phone, they are small ones, but men, when you stack all of those, it would bring you a lot of “damm” moments.

Hope you like this post, we’ll “see” you in the next one, and I talk a little bit more of that inconvenience.

Have a great day, and remember tomorrow is a new day, full of opportunity just waiting for you.

Bye

J.

Sort:  

Nowday we are very dependant on the smartphones to do job, even in venezuela where it´s hard to get a last era cellphone you use it for everything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42