My ArtVenture: Pastel painting “Michelangelo's David”

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,


 



 

*

 
It is almost a week since my last post, it is quite busy and there was not much time for drawing or painting. Luckily today I came a bit earlier and finished my last work, actually I already tried it in the past but I was not satisfied with the results so I thought that I have to return and try again.


I was always impressed with the marble sculpture done by Michelangelo “David” and here it is my pastel work.
 

*



 
“Michelangelo's David” by @Stef1

 
*

 


 

The process steps:


 



 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 

Final painting:


 


 
Pastel painting “Michelangelo's David” by @Stef1

Sketch block A4 format, soft pastel sticks and pencils

 


 

*

 
For comparison I wanted to show you my very first sketch, that is in the same sketch book, you can see that with regular practice everyone can improve his skills if he will put a lot of Love and Effort in his work.


 


 
*

 



 
source

 


 


 

 





 
*

 
I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artventure.club/my-artventure-pastel-painting-michelangelos-david
Sort:  

Sometimes the life takes priority and it is simply not possible to post as often as we would wish to. I think that everyone understands that :)

I love the mythology and I have always admired those sculptures. The precision and perfection of them is amazing. If you think about when they were made, it makes you realize how small we are :) We should appreciate such art and keep it alive. And this is what you do. You keep it alive also through your paintings.

Your David looks great! You chose lovely colors and your lines are perfect!

Thank you for sharing and I hope that you won't be that busy in the future :) It's always nice to have some spare time and do JUST nothing :)

Have a lovely day!

Thank you @delishtreads for your nice comment and I absolutely agree with you, have had my appraisal today so now I will have a sign of relief. It is nice to hear that you like mythology too, I read all the books about Greek mythology when I was young and love them until now. Glad you like my painting :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared for support :)

Thank you very much Ian, it is nice to hear your opinion, actually I must say that your drawing of sculptures inspired me to try too :)

Thanks, something about good sculptures helps create emotion in my drawings. :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you @artzone for support :)

Wow. What a great art work. Thumb up on this

Thank you, glad you like my work :)

Very interesting and cool expression, Steffi! The drawing almost looks alive! 😮

Thank you, I also like the expression of the face, that is why I decided to do it :)

Such a lovely rendition of this iconic sculpture, @stef1 ! I love the shading and the definition of his facial features <3 You translated his classical looks so well in your style :D Beautiful work <3

Thank you very much @veryspider for your nice comment. It was difficult to choose the colors, as some of my pastels are almost finished, so tried to use what I have, glad that you like it :)

Very beautiful creation, you got the inspiration to create a masterpiece from the master sculptor @stef1 :D

Thank you @cryptopie for your nice comment, you are right there are Masters who will be always an example and teacher for any future generations and it is great that their work still exist and we can learn using their technique and examples :)

You got a 8.71% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @theia7!

This newly created version is very cool and alive then previous one. I like your color combination than the white one.

Thank you @thiea7 for your nice words, I really enjoyed working on it and as you may see I used many different colors to create the tones. As yourself I prefer colorful to white :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65