My ArtVenture: Mixed medium painting „Carew castle“

in #steempress6 years ago

Hello dear Steemians,


 



 

*

 

I am glad to present you my painting today that mostly done with watercolor but in order to makes small details I used pastels, as I could not get concentrated watercolor paints. But no worries just be creative.

Recently looking through our old photographs I found a picture of Carew Castle that was done few years ago when we lived in Pembrokeshire, South East Wales. The castle itself is ruin and open for people viewing and photographing. During those years we visited many historical places and castles, by the way there are so many castles there, even some of them haunted.

 



 
„Carew castle“ by @Stef1

 
*

 

The one I remember very well, we were there in Autumn as my son heard from his friends that in front of that castle, they organize a Medieval Event with Knights, battles, all people dressed up in ancient costume. Unfortunately when we were there, it was no play but many tourists, we spend couple of hours and sat at café table opposite the castle with out hot chocolate. That was a view from our café table, spectacular and magnificent construction, although destroyed but still telling us a lot of its history.

 

By the way the photo is done by my husband.


 


 


 
My step-by-step process:

 



 


 


 


 


 


 
The finished painting

 


 
Mixed medium painting „Carew castle“ by @Stef1

Cold pressed watercolor textured paper 30x40 cm, paper weight 300 gsm, watercolors colors in pans and tubes, flat and round brushes as well as soft pastel sticks.

 


 

 






 

*


 
I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artventure.club/my-artventure-mixed-medium-painting-carew-castle
Sort:  

Greetings @stef1.

A lovely painting of 'Carew Castle'.......well done!

Appreciate hearing the mixed media details.

All the best.

Cheers!

Thank you @bleujay for nice comment, always glad to hear from you :)

I like your interpretation from the photographs. You didn't do the exact copy but this is what makes it unique and original.

It's nice to see that you didn't make the sky just blue but you used different textures and color shades. I also enjoy the shadows of the castle. They are done very nicely.

Thank you for sharing and have a good start of the week!

Thank you @delishtreats you are right, when I saw sky which was cloudless and beautiful but for my painting it would be too boring then I just put few different shades together. The same with the colors of stone work. I am glad you like my idea, I know that you also love castles and fortresses, thank you for such lovely comment :)

I was trying to move to such a cute little house like that... but Bitcoin isn't collaborating! :-D
Excellent painting, Steffi! Thanks a lot for sharing!

I know what you mean, that is the problem for majority of us. Therefore we all hope that one day Steem will shoot up so that we all can retire :)

Seriously, how do you inspire? How is it that you are so good? You should have spent years perfecting your technique, or maybe it's a gift of birth ...

This is just daily practicing even using simple sketch, but inspiration that is something that can be triggered by something or sometimes just sleeps for sometime :)

I understand clearly, it happens to me with the composition, sometimes the inspiration sleeps for a long time!

Your painting looks great I must

Thank you for your nice comment and I am glad you like ti :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you c-squared for supporting the Art :)

Very beautiful chalk painting
Especially the clouds in the air
Have a feeling
The spirit in the castle shouts in the air
clouds very have power

You got a 13.02% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @theia7!

Love those color combination of the castle, you made those perfectly from the picture. Sometimes pictures are so full of memories that can bring you back to the past tiime.

Thank you Theia for nice comment, had to change colors few times till was happy with that :) You are right about pictures, that is why I love to look through them on and off, unfortunately many of them digital and it is then a nice surprise to discover them again among hundreds of photographs :)

Congratulations @stef1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77