You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemigram - Monetize Your Instagram Account

in #steempress6 years ago

Just the other day I was discussing whether it would be possible to 'plug in' into existing websites. To be honest I thought it couldn't be done. But then just one day later this thingy pops up.

I've had the discussion about the short form media with taskmaster4450 last week. I'm not a fan, although I plead guilty of using Dlike and Steepshot every once in a while. I don't like what SteemIt is turning into. Last week someone called it an 'everything bucket'.
It gets harder to find a decent blog post each day.

But after talking to taskmaster4450, I had to change my point of view: if we ever want to achieve mass adoption, those dApps and their non-blogging content are the way to go.

I just hope someone creates a separate blogging dApp some time in the near future. An interface where you don't have to go through all the meaningless content to find a 'real' post. Then SteemIt can grow further in the direction it's going now, an everything bucket, but I can just enjoy reading and writing blog posts.

Creating a separate blogging dApp, it should be possible - I guess it's just a matter of finding the right person to give that idea to. I think there are plenty of people who would be more than happy to have a way to avoid all that other content and to be able to focus on blogs again.
It would be like the 'old' SteemIt, but then as a side-platform, instead of the main platform.

Sort:  

I think there's different ways to go about doing what you say. A more robust filtering system on any of the blogging apps would be one, where you could filter out tags, since most of these posts are using the dApps tag so they can get the upvotes.

For me, it dilutes the value of everything to have all of these no-thought posts flooding in, especially since I know they're getting their rewards from the same reward pool as everyone else.

And that's probably the reason why we keep seeing them show up. They don't have their own reward pool, so things dump into Steemit/Busy/Steempeak, etc., where we're trying to do some actual blogging.

I'm sure it's also about gaining users. If they're left to their own devices, will they get followers as fast as they do if they're constantly showing up with the rest of the churn? Probably not.

I've been trying to be a part of the minnowuprising that taskmaster4450 wants, but dang it, there's so much dLike stuff in it by the same four or five people over and over again that I got tired of it. I want to support people, but a photo that may or may not have attribution and a simple two line caption does not reach my standard of quality. I can't even say it's original. In my mind, it's just another dMania.

In the meantime, there isn't much picking and choosing going on as far as whale delegation goes when it comes to these dApps. Is there a form you have to fill out? Any requirements? Or do just somehow have to bend the ear of the CEO for a few minutes?

It is true, the reward pool isn't getting bigger.
I am guilty of taking from that reward pool by posting low quality content through apps like dlike, Steepshot and Appics (which is awful btw - you can't even add text in the app, only a title), on my alt account.
But I made the mistake of subscribing to a couple of community bots for a month with that account, so I need to make sure I get some posts out. And I simply don't have time to properly take care of my own account (of which the quality of posts hasn't been up to standard either these last two weeks), the newbiegames account and the alt account. Once the subscription has ended, it will become more dormant again.

But it's like I said, we don't have a choice. If it weren't for those dApps, SteemIt, and maybe the entire Steem blockchain, would be dying, or would be dead already. There are so many things so very wrong with the SteemIt community - even before the dApps arrived - that it was killing itself.

And about the minnowuprising... both the previous time in July and earlier this week, I warned taskmaster4450 the platform would be flooded with those low quality posts. Lol, he did not reply to my comment, but that very same day he wrote this post.
How's that for an answer, lol?

I can't say he's wrong, though. It is one or the other. But I'm not so sure what I'd prefer. I think I'd rather go for a low price of Steem and an improved version of SteemIt like it was when I started 10 months ago, instead of Steem being worth $10, but with loads more crappy content. (In spite of the fact that I have invested pretty much into Steem, and I'm losing a lot of money now the prrice is this low)

Now, since I don't browse through SteemIt that often, I don't see a lot of content that is not a blog post. I have a list of authors set up in Ginabot so i can follow up on them, I read blog posts I find in Discord channels (which I need to read if I want to promote my own links) and I'm spending loads of time on replying to comments or writing posts. So I actually miss most of the other things.

The last part of your comment is not clear to me

In the meantime, there isn't much picking and choosing going on as far as whale delegation goes when it comes to these dApps. Is there a form you have to fill out? Any requirements? Or do just somehow have to bend the ear of the CEO for a few minutes?

I'm not sure I fully get what you mean. (It might be because it is 3am again, and my brain starts shutting down a little, lol)

re: last part

Well, I was just questioning what criteria there might be for dApps to get major delegation from the Steemit controlled misterdelegation or even ned himself. I personally haven't seen much rhyme or reason to it, other than, hey, it's another dApp! Let's fund it! (It helps to smile and make a thumbs up when you say that last part.)

I know it's easy to criticize from the peanut gallery, but I was in business for myself for 15 years. Even without that experience, most of us would say a brand new company or organization should have something going for it before they partner up with an established, fully functioning business, even one as young as STEEM/it, no matter how desperate they are for players.

After DLive, while I'm not upset as most, I think there's a bar that needs to be raised retroactively. You stick with us for a certain period of time, you meet certain user requirements, some standard level of quality, some level of growth (meaning you power up your account) and you can't jump ship. You can open up to other blockchains, but you can't just leave. Unless you shut down.

I agree with taskmaster4450 more than I don't, and I always find his posts relevant and interesting. I like his cheerleading for STEEM. He makes good points.

I probably would have worded the post about the quality issue a little differently, though. There's no need to encourage substandard posts, even for the sake of a minnow uprising. That turns off the long time users who might have some SP and actually vote for the increased posting, and I would hope it would make at least some of the minnows and red fish take pause.

There is such a thing as value setting. We all do it, and that becomes the line we won't cross. I need some words. It doesn't have to be 1,000, but at least 400 would be nice. A photo with attribution that isn't google search or something like that. If it's English, it would be nice to be grammatically correct, spelled and punctuated, but if it's interesting, compelling, timely, thought provoking, I can live with all lower case, all ran together. If it's none of those things, along with being incoherent, forget it.

Plus, I didn't think the idea was to make STEEM into another social media wasteland, but raise the bar. Take it back to the golden age of blogging at least a bit, before anyone anywhere could just simply start sharing the same mindless meme over and over again.

If it were me (and I might even make a post myself) I would say make sure it's original content, shoot for the best you can make, but do it in as little time as possible. Two hour limit, max. I've been breaking my own rule the last few days and I've got nothing out of it so far. it's worth the time to come up with good content to build the audience. It's not worth the time to put out your best stuff that's going to take longer until you have the audience.

People might disagree with me on both ends of the spectrum, but I think there's a point called good enough, and that's where you start.

And besides. There hasn't been a focus on quality since I got here. Lip service, flags, yes. Focus? No. The flaggers tend to pump out the worst drivel, just because they can get away with it. Cult of personality over quality. Lord of the Flies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55