Pennsif's Progress #597 - Getting it right

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes things go wrong.

Sometimes things aren't as good as they should be.

Both of those things bug me - greatly.

One of my life's maxims has always been...

"There are only two ways to do something - full on or not at all."


I am a perfectionist. If I do something, I want to do it to the best of my ability, I want to make it perfect.

It always jars with me when I hear people nagging me to hurry up, that will be fine, just leave it like that, no one will notice...

I will notice. I will know I have not done as well as I could.

I can't do half-ar$ed.

This is a virtue or a curse that runs through my whole life, in everything I do.

In my business, in the garden, in the house.

When I am weeding a vegetable bed, when I laying the table, when I am tidying a cupboard.

Everything must be perfect.

When I have completed the task, and it is perfectly done, do I get upset when someone comes along and messes it up a few minutes later.


And so it comes to steem...

If I am going to be on steem, I am going to do it to the best of my ability.

I am going to make my posts as good as I can. I am going to optimise the images to the nth degree. I am going to get the layout just right. I am fully research my radio show guests. I am going to my playlists.

That means my posts take twice as long to prepare as they might do if I just 'banged them out'. It means each of my radio shows takes almost two days to prepare and execute.

Will anyone notice, will anyone care, will it improve my ROI?

Probably not.

But that's just me.

It all takes time. And time really is my most precious resource these days.

That brings me back round to my previous post - Time For Change.

I have a couple of new projects that I am rather excited about and an desperately keen to move on to.

But I don't have time. Something has got to go to make space.

Tricky decisions. I enjoy all the things I do on steem.

I've got two tracks to guide myself on.

Firstly the blunt and embarrassingly mercenary fact of what brings in most rewards for the time involved.

Secondly the more virtuous measure of what will have most positive impact on my mission on steem.

For me personally at this moment in time in the here and now it is the mission that is all important.

It is the only way I can rationalise my time on steem.

My mission is to change the world, one sbd at a time.
(or least in some little corners of the world I will do my best to make life better)

What fits stays, what doesn't goes.



While you are here check out these to see what else I do :

[ images from pixabay.com ]

Sort:  

Dear Pennsif, I appreciate you & all the extensive work you put in, your dedication is humbling.
You set an awesome example, as a human & Steemian, for me you are a rolemodel par excellence ❤️

Looking forward to hearing what plans you have made for the future, @pennsif. Some people are forced into making changes and others have the time to think and plan ahead. As we grow older we tend to reflect and the desire for change comes to the forefront again. Perhaps it is that we tend to reflect more as we age. When we are younger we really don't consider what making certain changes will make on our lives.

The older I get, the harder I feel I need to work to make the changes that are needed.

The days are numbered, and they are counting down for all of us.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


It can be a hard process to trim things from our life. We want to be able to 'do it all', especially if it brings us some sort of pleasure or satisfaction. Our priorities can change over time so its not a bad thing to stop and reassess ourselves and our future paths from time to time. In fact, you could call it 'being efficient'.

I think it takes a bit of bravery to actively upset the status quo, and forge ahead via a modified course. And who says that ROI always has to mean a financial return? If you are passionate about something, then it is worthy of your consideration, time, and energy. A labour of love, as they say. :)

raven sml.png
(artist unknown)

Yes, changing the status quo is difficult. It is often tempting to hang back from making the big decisions and hope some external force will make the choice for us.

For now as I sip my nettle tea, I guess I've just got to grasp it...

haha I see what you did there ;)

This is a bit like a drumroll @pennsif !

I do appreciate your dexterity and integrity - it shines through in all that you do and, all that you do, is a very lot indeed!

I am definitely playing for time, and waiting for the stars to align!

This post wasn't actually supposed to go out but there is a small incompatibility between an updated Post Duplication plugin and Steempress. The act of duplication of the previous post to use as a template instantly triggered Steempress to erroneously publish a post. Then I had to write something on it!

Once tested further I will report to Steempress.

I will notice. I will know I have not done as well as I could.

This! I always say this!

Will be interesting to see what stays and what goes.
Even if this post was an accident I think it was a happy one that made people think.

Thank you. It is good to hear I am not alone in getting the same comments about wanting to do things properly.

Change once a decision is made, usually comes easy for me. It’s all of the factors leading up to the decision that must be weighed. Just checking in to see what’s going on with you. Hope you are well. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86