Pennsif’s Progress #578 – Mr Goose saves the day

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

This afternoon I heard the chickens scream.

The puppy started barking. Maybe because of the poultry panic. Or maybe because of me jumping into action.

We rushed to the compound.

The cacophony grew more frantic as we got closer - chickens, goose, duck all joined in.

Then as I reached the gate, there it was. A guilty looking buzzard flew up from a clump of nettles with feathers in its beak.

The goose was shouting and screaming, the duck was flapping its wings trying to look big.

They were doing their job as best they could to frighten away the aerial predators.

So far they have been successful. Before goose and duck arrived we regularly lost hens to the buzzards. But since their arrival the negative score has been zero.

Today, though it looked like they had met their match. After a through sweep of the compound I could not locate our fifth hen.

Only an ominous scattering of bunches of white feathers.

Farewell Mrs Hen, you served us well.


But hold fire before you book the funeral band.

When I returned this evening to put them all to bed, the hens again numbered five.

All hail the hiding hen. Somewhere she had gone to ground too scared to come out.

Too traumatised I think. On close inspection the hen appears to have lost a few rips of feathers from its neck.

This time she got lucky - saved by the goose's guarding, or perhaps by my arrival.

Happy hen day.


Postscript

We are investigating getting one or two alpacas soon.

I know they are reputed to be good for deterring foxes.

Anyone know if they will keep buzzards and kites away as well?



PROJECTS :
BLOGS :
RADIO :


[ photographs by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

I have read somewhere that decoys of owls and hawks on nearby trees deter them. When we had the problem we put our chickens in a large coop at night and in the day they were out in a very large run that we put chicken wire over the top to keep them from landing in with the chickens.

oooh poor hen baby :( I am glad she survived though <3 good goose and duck babies <3 well done ...

When our cows or dog are out by the chickens everything leaves them alone. I think the size scares them away. I would think the alpacas would definitely help! Glad all are ok!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62