Wake Up and Smell the Rejections

in #steempress6 years ago


So, a while back I decided that I'd had enough of blogging for a readership of five people.

I was going to get my stories out there, where people would read them--people who weren't my friends--even if it killed me.

So I started submitting poems and stories to magazines.

And what did I get? Rejections. Since my writing time is limited, so is the number of submissions I'm able to send in.

But out of the seventeen submissions that have gone out so far, ten have come back with variations of, "Thanks, but no thanks."

Six of them are still out there--waiting for rejections of their own, most likely.

Most rejections are cookie cutter form rejections.

"Dear Miss Arch,

Thank you for trusting us with your work. We enjoyed poem so-and-so, but I'm afraid it's not what we're looking for at this moment.

We look forward to seeing more of your work in the future, and wish you good luck in finding a home for this one.

Sincerely,

Heartless editor who crushes writerly hearts on a regular basis.

The odds of receiving this sort of rejection are fairly high. Depending on how popular the market of your choice is, it will receive between one hundred and one thousand submissions per month. And how many do they publish each month? Three? Four? Ten?

And when it hits your inbox, the rejectomancy begins. We share the text with our writer friends and bask in their commiseration and consolation. Then the questions start pestering you. "They enjoyed the poem. Does that mean it at least made it through the slush pile? Did they mean it when they said they were hoping for more submissions? I bet they're just saying that."

 

Too much of these ponderings will drive you mad. Mad I tell you. Stop it. Stop torturing yourself with questions you'll never find an answer for. Just keep on keepin' on.

Write, edit, rest, edit, submit. Sleep, eat and do it all over again.

 

And every once in a while, you will get this sweet, sweet taste of victory. An acceptance letter. I've been fortunate enough to receive one for a speculative poem I wrote earlier this year.

I was at work when I read the email and believe you me, people ran from far and wide to come and see why I was screaming like an idiot.

"What? Your poem got accepted? Shit! You write poetry? How did I not know that! This is awesome. And you'll make three whole dollars you say? Wow." And then the non-writery person who understands none of this self torture grimaces and backs away slowly and without making abrupt gestures or loud noices.

 

Forget about that guy. Who needs him anyway? You finally have your victory.

Yes, Precious. Ssoon you will write besstsellerssss. And the whole world will be oursss, preci--

Oh no wait. Different story.

Where was I? Ah yes. Victory.

Even when it's not quite an acceptance, sometimes a rejection will be so nice it warms your heart and feels almost as comforting. When an editor reads our piece and sends us a reply, it's important for us to remember that they're only human. Two hands and one head (I hope) with which to read those thousand manuscripts piled up on his desk.

So when they take the time to write a personal rejection letter, with reasons why they liked it, and reasons why they couldn't take it, that's a huge compliment. Your story stood out from the slush. Enough for the editor to spend the time he could use to read another story from that pile on your rejection.

I got two of those recently, and they're absolutely glorious. It's a confirmation that you're doing something right. And even more precious, it gives you something to work with. Those letters contain feedback you can use to make your story even better before you send it out again.

So, my friends, wake up, smell the rejections and get writing. Because some day soon, you'll get more than just a rejection.

Hugs

Jasmine


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/10/23/wake-up-and-smell-the-rejections/
If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner.

My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference.

For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator.

We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm.

But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues.
We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted. We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections.

We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born.

As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in.

If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing.

If you love writing, we’d love to meet you! Click on the banner below to pay us a visit.





Steemitramble




Steemitengine
The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

This is wonderful, @jasminearch. The rejections are tough but they really are part of the process. The only way to avoid them is to not submit work to publishers. But that is incidentally also the way to avoid getting published at all. You’ve offered some great tips for dealing with rejections!

Well, it's what we have to face in order to get those coveted acceptances, sadly. And only other writers can understand why we subject ourselves to this agony. Squibs and muggles (non-writers and non-readers) would call us mad for doing this to ourselves.

That's why it's so important to have a tribe at your back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46