Ulog #5: [WalkWithMe] A Rainforest in the City [MakeMeSmile]

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I got to know from @elizacheng that there is a "rainforest" mini park in a mall that is worth a visit. This mall is not new at all, in fact I think everyone knew there was a mini rainforest in it, but perhaps we being in the city, never thought much of visiting it when we hit the mall.

I grew up in a place with more trees and nearer to nature compared to my son, who is raised in an urban jungle. So, when my mom-in-law and her sister wanted to visit the mall, One Utama, I immediately bought the idea to tag along. It would be nice for him to just be at home and able to visit a park with real trees and fishes. At first, I was thinking it would be a great time for my boy to meet his grandaunt and great grandma and spend some time bonding with them. But, my husband's grandma could not make it due to us being too impromptu. Nevertheless, the rest of us still went ahead.


Appreciating some greens in a mall

It is a place well kept and well maintained. I love how they incorporated waterfalls into it. It is a really small space but it was decent enough and made us slow down our pace for a while.


At the entrance

We were greeted by this banner at the entrance. I absolutely had no idea that we have dolphins in Malaysia. I always thought the nearest country to have is Indonesia. I am glad with this fish food they are selling, the money is going to a good cause.


A fish food vending machine

There was also this vending machine which reminded me of the good old days when we put in coins in the vending machine to get an egg with a surprise toy inside. This looked exactly like that, except that it is for us to get fish food. They packed it really nicely and it is only for MYR 1, fairly cheap and reasonable.


The @littledrummerboy was very happy to walk around. I realize he likes walking and I was hoping it could tire him down to nap earlier than his usual nap times which has caused him to sleep later and later in the night.


He had been asking me to see some fishes. There were some really lovely Koi fishes here, though we also have plenty of that at his grandaunt's place too. The fish here were well fed because of everyone wanting to feed them from the fish food through the vending machine. They are really FAT! Now if you worry if they are overfed, I see that they stopped eating whenever they didn't want to.



If only my phone camera is better to capture the KOI fishes better

We went ahead to feed the fishes. @littledrummerboy is a very careful boy so very often, he would "test the waters" first before he goes near to something. I just let him learn and explore at his pace, while encouraging him along the way. There are many things he doesn't prefer to do and we don't push him to do it. Many would think he is timid and at times, he too tell me he feels scared when he encounters some things. I would let him express it out so his emotions can be acknowledged. So, for this visit, he would not go near the pond. He would stand a distance away. But when it came to feeding time, I could tell he tried to move nearer and I saw a beautiful process of him growing to overcome some of his doubts and even his apprehension.

He went nearer to stir the water with a dried leaf to try to attract the fishes. Then he enjoyed himself feeding them. He took small steps to go nearer so the other fishes could get the food.




It was fun and it was really like what @elizacheng had said, it is not easy to get the children to leave the place after their visit, hahaha! It was such a great time we had here. Thank you for recommending the place, @elizacheng!

After that, we went to @littledrummerboy's next favorite palce - the supermarket!!! He loves the supermarket a lot and could get really excited to see fruits and vegetables. He asked me, "Do you want to see some fruits, Mummy?" For some reason, I just love any background with greeneries that day, even if it was artificial. This was a nice wall in a bakery while we were waiting for my mom-in-law and her sister.



Lastly, on our way back, the boy dozed off in the car and napped all the way up as I carried him home. My mission was accomplished, YAY!

I am entering this post as an entry to @elizacheng's #makemesmile contest too! You must check it out, if you haven't!

Thanks for reading my ulog of the day. I love going out with my boy! That is if I am not lazy and not staying home, doing Steemit and Discord, lol. Once in a while, I must be more diligent.

Green is the prime color of the world, and that from which its loveliness arises. ~Pedro Calderon de la Barca Source

In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks. ~John Muir
Source

Photos above are taken from my own photo gallery, taken using my phone Vivo V5s.



RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png



Steemit Bloggers


Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://happycrazycon.vornix.blog/2018/07/20/ulog-5-walkwithme-a-rainforest-in-the-city-makemesmile/

Sort:  

Such a cool day out with your boy! I also like the vending machine for the fish haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @happycrazycon! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To tell the truth I have never step into the rainforest area. I love the idea of fish food from the vending machine.

Fabulous greens @happycrazycon your boy is so cute, how old is he?

This looks like a great place for a visit with the little ones, thanks for sharing!

Yes, indeed a good place to bring our little ones... Love the idea of having a mini rain forest inside the mall...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @happycrazycon: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Glad to see the BIG SMILE from @littledrummerboy! The time I went there, no fish food available in all the vending machine...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45