You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being Prompt is Being Divine

in #steempress6 years ago

Are you the white American version of me? Don't answer that...You are. :)

Seriously though, being late is not cool.

One thing I do in my professional life is this:

I rarely say an exact time for appointments, not if I am meeting someone outside of my office. Rather than say 1400 I'll say something like...

"I'll see you at 1400 however I'm coming from the other side of the city and may catch some traffic. Let's call it 1400-1415 ok? I expect to be there at 1400, however I may be delayed outside of my control."

They always say yes.

This way I'm actually buying time and the ability to be delayed. I am almost always there exactly on time which builds value, however I have the chance to be a little late without actually being late.

It's a situational thing of course and not a ploy to use on every occasion. It depends on the appointment, the person and various other factors.

Anyway, American me...Have a great day/evening or whatever the hell it is where you are.

Sort:  

That is genius, my friend. I'm not the least bit ashamed to admit that I i will be stealing this situational tactic. Lol American Me. It is early evening here, sir.

I mentioned you on the other writing platform the other day. I was commenting with @steveblucher and realized he was from your curious little country.

With some good dialogue it can actually seem like a benefit to the person/people you're meeting but in actual fact it simply buys you an arrival-window.

I don't know Steve, but he must be a top sort if he's from Aus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69471.12
ETH 3758.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83