You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Amazing Benefits of SteemPress for WordPress Users

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

To be fair, Paula, there are benefits to enabling the the comments widget on your blog, but SEO on the Wordpress blog is not one of them. Because the comments widget is included within a <iframe> block, and Google doesn't crawl that content.

But SteemPress as a whole should be very helpful to most bloggers and I enjoyed your presentation.

Sort:  

I have to disagree. Iframes can be searched by google, just not if you are using custom search on your website or under a few other circumstances.. Disqus comments are iframe and these are indexed. FB comments are also IFrame, but I am not so sure these are searched. So a few weeks back I spoke with the steempres team on this, as i wanted to see if the comments would give benefit to steem or the wp site. They said it should benifit both. So I checked the code.

<div id='steempress_sp_comment_feed'><iframe name='steempress_sp_embed'  onload="iFrameResize({ scrolling:true, heightCalculationMethod:'min'})" src="https://two.steempress.io/?author=@theexcelclub&permlink=stopdonotmergecellsinexcel-hereswhywithfixes-czqvy7x0eg&display_comment=true&parent=https://theexcelclub.com/stop-do-not-merge-cells-in-excel-heres-why-with-fixes/" 

As you can see, the true parent link is back to my website. From what I understand, if the Iframe is SEO engaged, then it will be crawled. However, if I took content from a different site, placed it on my website with an iframe, this will probably not be crawled.

As with everything on the seo side, you can read conflicting stories. Testing is the only way to prove it

Google says this:

Google supports frames and iframes to the extent that it can. Frames can cause problems for search engines because they don't correspond to the conceptual model of the web. In this model, one page displays only one URL. Pages that use frames or iframes display several URLs (one for each frame) within a single page. Google tries to associate framed content with the page containing the frames, but we don't guarantee that we will.

So, maybe they started to crawl iframes to some extent.

Also, not sure if this is an authority, but the first result I've been showed by Google when searching for "iframes good or bad for seo" was this answer from Quora:

Because the content within the iframe is attributed to the source URL and not your own page, iframes do not offer any inherent SEO value for your on-page optimization. When it comes to iframes and SEO, they appear to neither directly help nor hurt your on-page search engine optimization.

I agree with it, or I wouldn't have quoted it.

So the source/parent is defined in the steempress iframe to be my own page.

I gotta run some tests. This site is too new, I dont even have my ssl cos the hosting messed up. But once it's all sorted I be in a better position to run tests

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, testing never hurts.

Although, as you could see in Google's comment on this matter, they tend to disapprove of the use of iframes. But they rarely say it straight.

But if testing shows Steempress comment plugin is ok for SEO, than even one more point for using it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00