Chronicles of a dysfunctional friendship - Short Story

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


Everybody has secrets, the girl who sleeps with her best friend's boyfriend, or the employee who steals from her boss, even the children, the one who breaks the cup and hides the pieces so her mother doesn’t discover it. Absolutely everyone has secrets, of course, sure listening to this, you think mine is that I killed someone a couple of days ago, but no, it's something much more delicate than that. Do you want to know? I do not know if I should tell you, maybe I don’t know you would believe

Well, do not insist so much ... I'll tell you.

I met a leprechaun, in fact ... I was the owner of a leprechaun.

Look, I see in your faces that you think that I am crazy, but it is for real, I didn’t believe in them either until I met it; Now, seriously, you have to believe me. You will ask you because I tell you this if we do not even know each other. Well ... recently my leprechaun passed away, I never told anyone, about him I mean, and I wanted to honor all the years of friendship we had, I thought to make a small altar at home, but what better than to honor him than to take him out? the darkness and the secret in which I had it. Maybe it does not matter at all, since it is obviously dead, but it matters to me.

What? What should I see a therapist? Well, I'm already going to one. Since I was a baby I go to one, no, not because I'm crazy, or maybe I am, but that is not the topic at the moment. In these moments the subject is my leprechaun. Sit down and prepare the cup of coffee, let's start.


I was about 8 years old, my family was always something dysfunctional. My parents didn’t live together, but they were not divorced either, we were still a family from Friday to Sunday, when we all went to my grandmother's country house, my grandmother died before I was born and she left everything to my mother, but if you're right, I will not disperse.


Maybe I should set you a little in what my family life was like and why I decided to leave that day precisely when I had never done it before. I already commented that my parents had a strange relationship, I didn’t understand it until many years later, well, actually I still don’t understand it and the therapist only tells me that this is his way of loving each other. Anyway, like all weekends, we had gone to my grandmother's house, literally, it is the typical murder house of the movies where you will surely find corpses in the basement, since it was very far away in the forest, without anything of civilization around.

It was Saturday about 3 o'clock in the afternoon, we had finished the meal when my parents started arguing for the absurd reason of who had to wash the dishes.

Yes, I know, the madness is maybe from family, but I swear that my elf was real.

Well, the discussion increased in intensity until Mom kicked out Dad. I don’t know where she wanted that my dad goes at that time if the owner of the car was my mom and there were no buildings or anything around us, but that didn’t matter to my mother. My dad went to the basement, yes, to the basement where there were surely millions of corpses, I never checked.

I went crying to my room, I don’t like screams, you know? and there had been many that day. I sat on the edge of the window from which was my room to look at the meadow behind the house, it seemed to be the only tree-free place in the vicinity of the hut and it was strangely lit and full of flowers; It looked like the meadow where Edward and Bella had their romantic moments. What? Are you going to tell me you never saw Twilight? Yes, the movie of vampires that shined their skin and wolves men who fell in love with babies. YES, THAT ONE. Good thing we are on the same page, I suppose you can imagine how the meadow was.

Suddenly I felt like a voice said my name, I do not know if it was a creation of my mind so that I decided to go to the meadow, why do you put that face? I understand, I know how it sounds, but I'm telling you the whole truth, the least you can do is give me the benefit of the doubt. The point is that I slipped through that window to that lighted meadow. Everything was very nice. There were a lot of flowers, and since I was small, well I know I'm still small, but smaller, some flowers exceeded my height, it was fun, everything smelled delicious.

I thought about giving my mom some flowers, making her believe that it was my dad and that way they reconciled, it was a good idea. So I started to pick up each one of the flowers that appeared in front of me, suddenly I heard a beep, it seemed those beeps that make teapots when the water is ready, the beep turned into words, of course,


words that for a girl of 8 years is not nice to listen. It was something like "Let go of me, smelly giant, or you will see how I make each one of those brilliant little teeth fall with a super strong punch." I felt insulted and flattered at the same time, you know? First he told me smelly, I didn’t consider myself smelly, nor do I today, I bathe twice a day and I always scrub all my parts well; Then he said that I had shiny teeth, I liked that, I have to admit, I went to the dentist every month, because since my teeth started to fall, some of them are twisted and the dentist cleans and fix them. Oh, I always liked that dentist.

The point was that I met my leprechaun, first I didn’t know it was a goblin, I thought it was some kind of animal that could speak, I didn’t want to let go and he bit me and hit my hand, although here between us, it was not very strong that we say and it gave me more tickle than anything else. I kept it in the bag I had for the flowers while he kept saying bad words, I sent him to be silent but it was as if he ignored me.

I was running to the cabin and then to the room, I left him there on the bed. As soon as it came out of the bag, it started to jump around the room, it was like a cricket, it was really like a cricket, small, green and gaudy. So I named it, crickitin, it seemed funny.

Ups I see that you ran out of coffee, there, take mine, just as I have not touched it because I've been talking. You can not go yet, I'm about to finish, do not you want to know how the story ends? That's what I thought.

Well the point is that he said many bad things for many days, I almost kicked out him from home, he actually told me that he had to go back to his family but I didn’t want to leave him alone, yes, I know what you're going to tell me, if he had family because I wouldn’t let him go, because he would say anything for I to let him go and no! I definitely couldn’t leave a helpless creature in the woods. He became my pet.

My mom and dad didn’t agree, but with time they accepted, we bought him a cage for hamster and he lived with me all his life until a week ago that he died, sometimes I seemed to hear him cry at night, but I think they were My ideas, I gave him everything to be happy, so he had to be happy.

Uh, look at the time it is, today is the funeral and I have to go and get ready; It was amazing to meet someone new and take off this of my shoulders. I hope to see you soon here, I come every two days to have my morning coffee, so you know my schedule so we can meet again, see you soon!


Sources: 1, 2, 3


This is my entry for the 24 hours writing contest. Check his profile for more contests like this.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://gabriellecd.vornix.blog/2018/07/10/71/
Sort:  

I really liked the perspective you chose for this story, very original!

This was good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.27