[Steem talk] Farewell @vornix

in #steempress5 years ago

vornix_banner.png


Source from @vornix

Today, probably marked one of the most important event in my Steem life since 29/11/2017 when I made my first post. I did previously have some other blogs from blogger, blogspot and blogpost before I restarted blogging with Steemit again on the mentioned date. Also, I'm quite active with FOREX-TSD forum for quite sometime back in 2006, until I decided that's enough of teaching people to lose money, and trading discussion is just way too disgusting, and I quit all online posting for a very long time. Now what left with me is my blogspot(which obviously taken over by the big G already) and my active daily entry with Steem blockchain. Despite I no long make use of Steemit, but generally I'm still on the Steem blockchain and time to time I'm using Steemitwallet to navigate with my wallet.

logowhite.jpg

So, today is not about me, it's about @vornix. One of the most important blog hosting service I've use in my life. Those blog platform I used previously are all free services and has limited flexibility. For the first time when @steempress-io was introduced, I suffered for about a week trying to setup my blogging platform with WordPress. Lucky me, my fellow #cn-malaysia curator @auleo led me to @vornix, an easy one stop hosting service which helped me setup everything from A to Z. Within a day or two, I already have my login ID and Password for 3SBD. Let me remind you, back then SBD price despite not expansive, but it could still mean some pain in the backside, but comparing to what I've been gotten, now looking back its been way too cheap. The first week alone, the posts I've been making with VORNIX, already make it all back with extras. Since then, every blog entry I made in WordPress via my VORNIX hosting, I've been getting consistent upvote from @steempress-io. With @vornix and @steempress-io around, I've been growing tremendously, not only I learn to take care of my Steemit layout, but I learn to use web approach to develop a good looking blog entry. Since then, markdown has been less effective compare to object oriented webpage blog editor.

banner-eng.jpg

Roughly 3 months ago, I believe it's a hard decision for the business owner to decide closing down this service. The amount of new user subscribing is not justifying. We can see the daily statistics from @vornix account posted on their blog entry. It's stagnant at 333 users for months. I mean, come on, who is supposed to pay for the maintenance, the server cost? 3SBD was something back then, but not what it is today. Some of the thing @vornix could have make it better and probably benefit over a long run. What if they allow an extra 10% beneficiaries charges? I tried to use free hosting service after @vornix announced the closure, but the free service just not working. The cap is way too low, had I load some high definition photograph, probably less than 100 photos and the storage is full and I will not be able to post anymore. Worst is, the bandwidth limitation. Had WordPress decided to make a new update, there goes my whole month budget. Technically, the free hosting is useless. They're just giving it to potential client to try out their platform and fish them to subscribe when they feel the need to increase their capacity. Other than that, why not host ads to help up the operating cost? I believe, ultimately this should be a bi-directional interaction trades. One time payment, life time service ain't gonna work.

banner-chi.jpg

Lastly, I've finally found a worthy provider, which is one of my delegatee @cnstm, which they host their own WordPress, but I will be under their umbrella. Which means I do not have my own website. Since it's free, it's fast and I'm already supporting @wherein and @cnstm with @iguazi123 in the picture, I think I will be continue to support them. I will do one last backup of my blog, but I have not tried to restore any blog previously. I really doubt if I will be able to restore my blog once I have everything setup properly for the future, whilst currently I'm busy exploring #sct.

logoblack.jpg

Once again, I would like to thank @vornix for the excellent service provided over the past 12 months. I still remember I got off the plane from South Korea, came back and found my fellow team member introducing me to @vornix to avoid all the hassle of setting up my own blog. The first few post I made with WordPress via @vornix is all about my Busan trip back in last May. I really enjoyed almost every bit of the journey with @vornix (other than there was once a long haul of service interuption), but that also being iron out finally. Those who work at the background, @jrvacation, @fr3eze, and @seandeanayao I believe most if not all of your client had made their thank note to you openly, publicly, privately or however way they did it, I believe I'm on the last one who make this open letter to you guys. You guys did great.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://davidke20.vornix.blog/2019/05/31/steem-talk-farewell-vornix/

Sort:  

Couldn't agree more that Vornix did a great job all this long ! I'd like take this opportunity to thank the great team of @vornix . Your service definitely help in sustaining bloggers in Steem world and grow them - I personally experience it myself. Cya @vornix

Posted using Partiko Android

Let's find a new home for our blog.

Posted using Partiko Android

帅哥/美女!来一份新手村小卖部的美食吧!@teamcn-shop倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

谢谢巴迪

Posted using Partiko Android

你好鸭,金鱼佬!

@cnbuddy给您叫了一份外卖!

@shine.wong 金闪闪 迎着暴雨 搭着巴士 念着软哥金句:"上帝往人间洒满了智慧,唯独你打了伞" 给您送来
加拿大人民早餐伴侣

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

谢谢闪闪

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words. Hope you had enjoyed Vornix service the past year.

Good luck and hopefully to see new initiative from you all. Cheers.

Posted using Partiko Android

i dunno vornix but i'll say goodbye too 👋

Hey thanks for stopping by. Year, now I have problem finding a new home for my WordPress.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooowh..now that you've reminded me, it's been almost 6 months since I've done anything on my WordPress website.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58