You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Redfish Rockets Delegation Evaluation

in #steempress5 years ago

hi @simplymike

I love your initiative. Myself Im just delegating 1200 SP to support "minnows" here on Steemit (you can have a look at my latest post and support it if you have a moment :)

Hope you dont mind my comment, but I kind of wonder if your requirements are not to strict and difficult to meet.

"You post regularly – at least 4 times a week should be doable."

4 posts a week? That would require huge amount of time, plus it would definetly fire back at those who are trying to achieve that goals.

To be able to create 4 interesting posts every week and then to be able to engage with those who comment - it's hardly possible. Steemit is not like instagram. Those who are posting that often most of the time will not get to far. We cannot expect that our followers will give us that much attention and their time.

To post once a week is completly enough. We should encourage beginners to create engagement, instead of focusing on only creating content.

Of course that is only my own opinion. I really cannot imagine being able to come up with 4 interesting topics every week and then write 4 engaging posts and on top of that to be able to reply to each comment. It would take me several hours a week. At least.

Most likely that would also means, that created content will be low quality or simply not interesting at all

All the best
Yours
Piotr

Sort:  

You are right. 4 times a week is a lot. I often forget that I'm in a luxoury position: I don't have to go to work, I have no kids, I'm still recovering from the surgeries I had earlier this year, so there is not a lot I can do but spend my time here.

These last couple of weeks, I have experienced first hand that the pressure to get a post up almost daily has a terrible influence on the quality of the posts you make. If I want proof for that, all I need to do is look at my own blog... :0(

And putting in the effort of posting that often, makes little sense if you don't have an audience.So I can only agree engaging and networking is a lot more important. But engagement is more difficult to track since HF20. Before, I selected my candidates based on how they performed in @abh12345's engagement league, but since the smaller accounts don't have enough RC to engage enough to make it to the list, that's not an option anymore.

I must say that it motivated some people to step up their game, and they are now picking the fruit of their labor.

Ylu will probably be glad to hear that I did not take the number of posts into consideration when I decided to keep the delegations in place or not. Well.. that's not entirely true: when someone's last post was a 1 month old, I did take it into consideration, especially if the engagement was very low too.

I may have set rules that are pretty strict or difficult to meet, but that has multiple reasons. The people that read them and still apply, are motivated people. People who are willing to put effort in it. So there's a smaller chance your SP will just sit there and be useless.
Another reason is that I am self-aware enough to know I'm a softie. I could never take back the delegation from someone who posts only 2 times a week if it will get him into RC trouble again.

The original deal was that they would get the delegation for 6 weeks, which is of course not long enough to make a difference. When I decided that it would be for 6 weeks only, I was naive enough to believe a lot more people would take the initiative to delegate gheir SP. All my previous Redfish Rockets got other delegations almost immediately after I retracted mine. But it seems like fewer people are willing to delegate.

So - being the softie that I am - after re-evaluating, I decided to keep the delegation in place for 12 out of 13 people. @checkoler is responsible for the other two - I have no idea how he's handling it. From some, I took little chunks back because they were settled above the 100 sp limited, either through other delegations, or because they invested something. With 100sp you can get around without running out of RC, so I thought I could put that SP to better use and help out some other people who are struggling to survive. Because there are plenty.

If I was allowed to.make just one wish, it would be that I would have the resources to help all of them. The reasoning behind keeping such a lot for myself instead of delegating everything away is that by growin my own account, I can help more people evefy time.

But your comment has searved its purpose. The next Redfish Rockets contest will be set up with other requirements

Thanks for your feedback. I really appreciate comments like yours, because I get the chance to learn from my mistake ,:0)

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69