Steem Poetry Slam Challenge Entries x3: (1. I Had To Eat (2. Birdy (3. For A While

in #steempoetryslam8 years ago (edited)

I Had To Eat


You put your hands on me
While we were shopping
And sent a chill up my spine

How was I to predict
That by tomorrow
You would no longer be mine

I tried to be brave
And I tried to trust you
When you told me to open up

But when I lay my heart
Bare on the table
You smashed it on the wood

It's not easy when
You're trying to be hard
To listen to me cry

So you banished me
From speaking to you
And left me wanting to die

If you knew my misery
Would you have called me
Just so I could sleep

I couldn’t ask you
You wouldn’t speak
And I knew I had to eat

written by @beanz


Birdy


If you wanted to be here you would be here.
All the music is telling me to wait for you
But I’m torturing myself and I can’t wait forever.

I’m attracted to birds with broken wings
Cry baby, cry away
Cry in my arms for I love you.

One day you’ll rise and spread your wings
And you’ll see my corps where all my strength was used to keep you alive.
And you’ll just fly away and strive like you always said you would.

I count the days since your last message.
Karma’s a bitch…
I deserve this...

written by @beanz


For A While


For a while I was happy to be alone.
I ran from potential suitors, having my fun.
But immediately after meeting you I felt something different.
I told my friends “I’ve met someone”.

I hadn’t wanted anyone for a while
But I knew you would make me happy.
You smothered me in compliments and
For a while I was afraid of what was happening.

I wanted to keep you for more than a while
But your insecurities and baggage were heavy.
As I carried them for a while
I used up my positive energy to keep you happy.

I hated whatever made you feel small
Because it made you hard for a while.
You were draining the energy from me but
I was a fool in love and denial

For a while I felt your resentment
And feared I was losing you.
I couldn’t eat or sleep for a while
After both our fuses blew.

You threw me out like my love was trash
And out of desperation I acted rash

You didn’t want to reconcile
And so I missed you for a while.

I thought I could handle it.
I thought I’d move on.
But I clung on to our memories
While you were gone.

After a while I began to let go.
I bounced back in the end.
What we had is gone but
For a while you were my best friend.

written by @beanz


This post is part of the Secret Letters of a Broken Heart series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36