I Became Art - Liberating Myself from Society's Gates.

in #steemph7 years ago

Art exists in various forms, some take to the streets and make graffities and others paint abstracts and display them in exhibition. But for me, art is a form of expression. And I consider my body as the best canvass. Last year, I decided to attach something on my body forever. I'm now going to tell you the story and meaning of my tattoos chronologically...

I got my first tattoo out of curiosity. Started with a small one just to feel the pain.

I chose Dove and Grenade, an album name. It's the fifth single released from Hollywood Undead, my favorite rap rock band. Another form of Yin and Yang. Blue for peace, Red for war. Grenade: a sign of destruction and Dove for restoration. Just like how I can use this arm. To inflict pain or caress people. Symbol in the grenade means Capricorn, my zodiac sign.

1.jpg

I never thought I will get another one because of the pain and it's cost. But then I liked it and want more. So I tattooed my favorite DOTA2 hero: Witch Doctor. And I inked it on the most painful part of the body. I'm somewhat in rue for it's so painful and struggled to finished this in one session. And those characters behind my ears are drawn by someone dear to me. Someone whom I know that can't love me. But still, I dont want to forget about our happy memories. (Tattoo na lang ang forever nako... #SadLife)

2.jpg

Next is this hourglass tattoo. This is to remind me to spend my time wisely. And never wait for someone who won't come back. (Yes, hugot na... haha). Below it are the card suites. Card games are already a part of my life and want to show it. I like to gamble in Poker, Tong-its and many other card games.

3.jpg

I tattooed this dragon as a sign of courage and bravery. The Yin-yang means to balance it. To remind myself to control my courage in loving someone I can't have. Been in a lot of clandestine relationships lately.

4.jpg

Colorful compass. This tattoo means that I have colorful experiences traveling with @misai, my travel buddy. We have too many memorable adventure that I even tattooed her name.

5.jpg

Owl with Heart. Owl has been depicted to be the symbol of wisdom. I inked it to remind myself to love wisely.

6.jpg

The Enso & Aperture - The Enso or the Zen circle means harmony and the freedom of mind and I put the aperture icon to signify my passion in taking colorful photographs.

7.jpg

A Kanji character means Loyal or Loyalty. I tattooed this to remind me to stay loyal as what I am already and to be loyal for the right people only.

8.jpg

My birthdate. A reference to Eleven's tattoo in Stranger Things. Unluckily, my ability is only to wait for something that won't ever comeback... (hugot na sad haha)

9.jpg

Inked this in that area so whenever I put my finger in the shutter, my model will read it and there's no need for me to tell them to smile. : )

27655173_10213524857108847_2964452018325522788_n.jpg

And I'm not planning to stop this madness as long as I have an empty space of my skin.

If you're from Cebu, my tattoo artist is Jonz in Hipodromo. Just search Jonz Tattoo in Facebook.

If you ever wonder If I asked permission to my parents (considering we're Asian and in a religious family), I didn't. I just went to a tattoo shop recommended by a workmate. When I got home, my mother was infuriated and didn't talk to me for like a week or so. My father was cool with it though.

This me now, as an art:
27867170_10213524856188824_2295693389497385522_n.jpg

If you're now thinking to get one, do it. The scolding will not last. And the pain dont lasts too(It's a good emotional pain diversion actually.)Don't be trapped in old society's gate of being judged of being tattooed. : )

Sort:  

You just planted 0.02 tree(s)!


Thanks to @vanj

We have planted already 5653.47 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20703.97
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45