Involving our Kids in our Steemit Activities

in #sndbox6 years ago

In this post yesterday I shared about our challenging journey as young parents, and how grateful we are about how things seems to be working out fine now. We agree on most things about how we will raise Lucy and Sam, our rare disagreements (not arguments) are mostly about whether we will exert our efforts more towards protecting them from the many dangers of the world, or preparing them well for those. In the same way that it is an on-going discussion whether we should get them exposed to the opportunities outside of the traditional path, or let them discover those on their own.

I believe that children of today will grow up in a very different environment, a very different economy, a global community where anybody can be given equal opportunity where nationality will no longer be more important than skills and effort.

Presentation1.jpg

In the picture above @dandalion and I can be seen with our two daughters in the SteemPH year end dinner. This actually isn't the first time they are joining us in a Steemit related activity.

In this hand-written essay Sam started to recount our experiences in an outreach event from her own perspective. @dandalion and I were actually surprised when she showed this to us. We did not ask her to do this, and we did not think that our kids will actually enjoy the event. I've been doing charity and outreach events even before joining Steemit, and some of my earlier post were about that. While I haven't really involved the kids before, I've always wanted to. So when the opportunity came with the help of SteemPH, I took the whole family to participate.
Featured in this photo from the right are @dandalioncub, @dandalion, @littlesteemitph.

Above @littlesteemitph can be seen participating in the art activity alongside the kids with special needs in @dandalion's group.

I created their account using @pharesim's steeminvite.com. When they are ready, Sam will be using @littlesteemitph and Lucy will post using @dandalioncub. I applied for some vacation leaves at work this coming holiday season, and I am taking sabbatical between April and June next year. We will use those time to prep them in contributing meaningful contents to the platform.

Their priority will of course still be their studies, and they may not be able to post regularly, but they'll be able to take advantage of the many benefits of Steemit. In this post I spoke about how I think Steemit can help students, and I really believe those even for our own kids.

Steemit will only be the beginning. Sam and Lucy have very different skill sets. Sam is great with language and the arts, while Lucy is brilliant with numbers. Sam will take some further classes related to music, visual arts and writing. I plan to spend time this coming summer vacation teaching Lucy about reading financial statements, basic trading patterns, and post a virtual trading challenge for a reward of her choice at the end of summer. We'll do this for two years, then I will fund a trading account (with just enough to execute swing trades, but no more than I can afford for her to blow). The truth is I will secretly wish for her to blow it. Success in trading is a lousy teacher, it gives you the impression you can't lose until you are met with a huge drawdown.

@dandalion and I both wish we knew about all the many other options available when we were younger, and we wish someone taught us about investing earlier on. Now that we have these knowledge, and we have access to information to educate our kids better about the new ways, the new economy, and the new opportunities it is creating for many, I feel it is just right that we do all we can to prepare them for the new challenges.

follow_steemitph.gif

STEEMITPH.png

Sort:  

It's a family thing!

You and @dandalion are great parents @steemitph
I would see in the future that @dandalioncub and @@@littlesteemitph will soon be as prolific as they can be here around steemit to write their world and to contribute the vast knowledge that you are now planting into them to prepare them for their life ventures and in here.

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

U have happy family

So nice to meet them both. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91