Bird Watching in Pasong Buaya

in #steemph7 years ago (edited)

1DSC_0728

Bird watching is not a famous hobby nowadays. More and more people, I guess, have less time to look up and observe their surroundings.


We have less time to pay attention to tiny details around us like clouds, trees, or these small birds we found a few Sundays ago while taking a stroll. One look tells you that these birds are too cute. But if you pay attention, you will see they are not local birds, they are migratory birds that flew here to visit us to avoid the cold weathers from wherever they came from!

If you drive along CAVITEX and you see the mangrove sites or the coastline just beside CAVITEX, I'm sure you would have seen these birds flying around. I was just amazed that we saw them so far away from the coastline, in a tiny marsh-like area in Brgy. Pasong Buaya.

egret.png

There weren't many of them in this tiny marsh, the first visit we saw about 6 and in our second visit there were only 4 of them, make sure to keep your distance so they don't fly out and get scared. Bird watching is all about observation, I think, as the name denotes, just watch the birds silently.

My little ones especially my son loves his mini book of birds. He asks me to read him the bird names. On his First 100 animals book on the right, he is able to point and remember the names of the birds.

I knew my son would enjoy this little adventure of ours the most.

20180222_234707

My kids didn't know what kind of birds these were and I checked their books, it isn't there but I guessed it was an egret. It was in the area because of the small marsh-like area and the cows. Sometimes it would go up on the back of the cows and seems they have a symbiotic relationship.

So then I googled, "egret on cow" and found out exactly what these little cuties are.

This Cattle Egret or the Bubulcus looks more like the western cattle egret that originates from North America and Canada. It eats insects, worms and the sometimes frogs, too. It is possible these could have flown in from Australia where these birds are used by cattle ranchers to reduce parasitic ticks and flies on their cattle. [Source]

Like I said, bird watching is about observation. But seriously during this time, my little ones and I were looking at these turkeys on the other side of the road while my husband took shots. I think we can take a picnic with us next and just feel the breeze on our faces.

Did you see it? Let me know in the comments if you saw the wonder in this next photo.

This is National Geographic in real life. Predator vs Prey.

On the other side of the road, I diverted the attention of my little ones because the egrets were moving to the far end of the marsh to where the cows were. We saw these adorable turkeys foraging in the grassy area. My son's little book of birds says this light brown colored one on the left belongs to a breed of Wild Turkeys. The color and shape of the head is an exact match to the photo in his book.

They were so happy, wanting to chase the turkeys or try to touch them but I made sure they didn't. They crossed the 0.25 meter wide canal at the side of the road which they called a river and asked if they could go near the turkeys. I was more afraid that the turkeys would peck at them so I said no, let's just watch them.

tukey.PNG

It was about 4pm when we finished up exploring. The cool breeze under the tree was relaxing. The turkeys didn't mind us at all and just kept pecking at the grass, looking for food. The egrets moved further from us, taking shade under the cows. A little bit after, much to the protests of my little ones, we had to be on our way home.

Summer is coming fast so I don't know if these little egrets will be there to stay but I hope that little marsh will be there when they need to come back.

If you are curious where this little marsh is, click on the map below to see it on Google maps.

If coming from Imus or Aguinaldo Highway, watch out for the sign along Daanghari that says Pasong Buaya Brgy. Hall and turn right there.

If coming from Alabang or Las Pinas, cross the Molino intersection and after seeing the De La Salle Zobel building, make a left turn into the road that leads to Pasong Buaya Brgy. Hall and this tiny marsh.

spot.JPG

My little ones loved this quiet afternoon we spent watching birds. And we spent NOTHING! Meanwhile, they learned a whole lot from this adventure like how not to chase turkeys around or else they'll peck at you.

We will surely come back to check if these little egrets already embarked on their next journey.

photogandson


Also posted on luvabi.com.

Follow me on facebook for regular updates.



If you would like to support initiatives on community building and enrichment, kindly check out @steemph, @steemnest, @steemph.cebu, @steemph.iligan, @steemph.davao. @steemph.laguna, @steemph.uae and @steemph.manila .

Consider casting your witness votes for @precise, @steemgigs @cloh76.witness and @ausbitbank who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.
To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Type in the box the witness account, example below for @precise





Sort:  

Note to self: Do same activity with Sofia. I am reminded of our bird watching days in uP with Lolo Madz and @dreamiely. Were you able to join us then? Andami birds sa UP! My favorites then were the blue kingfisher (usually sighted on the way to Math building if I remeber correctly) and yellow oriole (nakatambay lang sa Kamia pag madaling araw), among others.

Now, I miss UP, too! We should plan a picnic or something in UP one of these days.

Yes, I think? first I heard of bird watching that time. I hope we are able to identify those when we see them. I hope they are still there after all these years.

Then let's visit UP again..this time for kids to play and watch the birds as you did long long time ago (long talaga..😂), @thedailymom , @dreamiely , and @luvabi?

Soon, soon :)

Hi @luvabi ,sometimes when i want a peaceful thinking away from my hectic work schedule i spend time watching birds in the sky,how they fly freely without destruction..very cool!!thanks for sharing those "egret".

a very beautiful nature especially the animals that are in it if siatu when I am a lot of money I will visit kesitu.sungguh peaceful place and beautiful @luvabi

beautiful landscapes
I want to visit there to take my moment.
in my place there are also birds like that
image
I always wait for posting @luvabi because it can make a motivation for me

Cool, looks like they fly to Indonesia during their migration period too!
Lovely to see a photo of your community @khairilanwar90.
I am concerned the marsh won't be there for long because there is massive construction in the area and the summer season will dry it up. Places like these need to be preserved so these birds will flourish and not become extinct.

Yes, of course...
in intonesia still stork crane like that and also still many swamp.
I will try to make a post swamp and bird,
I dedicate myself to @luvabi
give me time to search the material and capture it using camera hanphone.

I messaged you on discord about your paper art post, please use your own photos and I suggest taking down that post.

yes like this home make art

image

yes, better to post pictures of art you made
looks great @khairilanwar90

yes I will try to make it later
special I dedicate to @luvabi

Birdwatching is awesome!

Thanks @princesslilo. It sure is!
Most of all we didn't have to spend a penny, just us, enjoying and appreciating nature.

What a great adventure @luvabi :D

It was such a treat to find these birds near our community.
Thanks for reading about our birdwatching adventure @sndbox!

This is a great activity not just for kids but for adults too. Did you use binoculars? It must be nice to watch birds during migration.🕊🦅

I agree! It was fun for us as well. We used telephoto lens on our camera.
We stayed in the car for a few minutes so we could see them up close.
When we were out and taking photos they move to the far end bit by bit making it difficult to take photos.

Very beautiful nature @luvabi

Previously I apologize if commented, because it does not match the topic. But I am sure you are a good and caring person, I am very sure you are too great person of course, I am very motivated with you @luvabi
You love to travel, on the way you meet abandoned children, I am sure you are a caring, loving and loving person that children can smile at children, it will be nice even though the valentine moment has passed. I am sure you will want to be discouraged, if you do not mind visit my bloq, i hope you can give input to my writing and direct me @luvabi
Thanks you so much

Give a little smile (Save the children)

Very nice post and great article.. By @atjehsteemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51