SOHO W1: the heart of London

in #steemph7 years ago



I saw it by accident and thought, "that's actually a brilliant idea!"

So walking around Soho Square, it was St. Patrick's Church I was looking for, having missed an earlier mass where I live. Walking towards Soho Square, both sides are townhouses hidden from the outside world of Piccadilly and Leicester Squares, towards Tottenham Court Road. As I reached the square, the last townhouse on my right is a handsome building that looks like a mews house/office. It looked inviting that made me almost go up the stone steps going inside. The name of Barnabas House came into view. Around the bend of its' iron fence is this sign.


Intriguing?

For a moment I was intrigued

Then I saw the hole where any passerby can just drop any amount for ALMS. This then goes inside the building through a tube connecting the alms' sign to the wall. Brilliant right?



Maybe Robin Hood have used this before? It certainly made anyone inconspicous when donating, big or small amount. Or even gold or silver coins perhaps?

I can only imagine how it is on the other side the receiver end, and whoever thought of it is admirable I must say. 

Soho Square

I personally have not been here before, no matter how often I've been around Oxford St. and Leicester Square. When one mentions SOHO, this is where the most exciting and vibrant place in London. It have bars, theatres, restaurants, shops, and what not! It also have China Town, Piccadilly Circus, Covent Garden, it's just the place to be!

One thing about London, one can get lost in a lot of its' side streets and still not far away from its' touristic areas. Although in some commercial places, hidden and little streets can mean exotic and boutique shops, restaurants and residences.

Not forgetting hidden parks, big or small, for residents and tourists to rest or just spending an idyllic time and chill.



A pigeon's house maybe?

One gate of this square goes straight between Oxford Street and Tottenhan Court Road. And what do people do in Oxford St.?

Shopping galore!! 

But if you're like me, just get the tube or bus ride home.



All images are mine and original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

https://hosb.org.uk/

https://www.visitlondon.com/things-to-do/london-areas/soho#DpLmeqmLUBbFS8Xi.97

Sort:  

Most parks and open areas in London are mass burial sites during the "Black death" or the Plague in the middle ages.

Must make me like that House of Alms too. I think I needed one.

Hi Kuya...burial sites, undetonated bombs, and kung ano-ano andito.
Any news of a referral? A friend of mine said to go to PGH for an ENT surgeon.
Ever thought of having a foundation in your name? Kaso like mo estatwa.
Am off to bed now. Chin up!

I am scheduled to see an endoc this monday morning.
I will submit some lab test I've made earlier then will go from there. To PGH if needed be.
A foundation in my name sounds good but I can't handle it I guess.
Good night :D

Wait naten ang monday..suggest na lang na pa-refer sa PGH.
Too early pa yan foundation kuya...don't worry about it. Pero kc nakakatulong yan someday sa mga nangangailangan.

Magpapa-gamot ako sa PGH as a charity or paid?
Kasi napaka-hirap sa charity, ayoko, may experience na ko dun nung kumukuha ako g gamot.
Mahirap considering nakakalakad-takbo pa ako nun.

The OPD shuts down at 4:00 PM and the queues are looooong.

I think that the community will be mobilised once we have a definite plan..so u need to be referred to their ENT surgeons plus assessments. Hinihintay ang plan kuya.

London looks nice. One of my bucketlist is to get to visit London. I like the idea about alms donation. Very witty

Haha..life is easy when we want to. That was a brilliant idea!!

soho diba motel satin yan?hahah
wag k mag alala d me nadako dun
malapit me nakatira dun dati kaya
sogo ata yun hahaha

Sogo un noh

I don't enjoy shopping, but I would love to take a walk around there!

Yeah London got a lot to offer..just walk and walk.

I wish I could go to this garden since I was young and thank you for remembering me

Nice narrative @immarojas a good place indeed...

Welcome and do find time to check my blog posts

WOW! I love to go to London. kelangan lang mag ipon haha

U blog and make ipon and u will be visiting here in new time :)

Opo mam ganun gagawin ko haha

Mayat met igta UK! Kayat ko met mapan idta tuno maminsan. 😀

Kaykayat ko diay France..pero ok lang naman. Old buildings sa gilid-gilid.

Thank you so much for making it possible. I sent the link to her at discoord chat.

oh thank you so much!! @sunnylife couldn't wait for me to request it myself! Danke!!!

I will be requesting more pls..so stay tuned. Will give others the chance to request theirs if that's alright?

That is wonderful!

Indeed! Dankeschön!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84