MY FAVORITE EMPOWERING BOOKS

in #steemph4 years ago

"So many books, so little time."

That's what most of the book lovers' line.

Reading for me is like an escape but the past months have been really stressful for me, so much that I can't find enough time to read as much as I wanted to. The last book I finished was from two months ago. Though I still have few books that are currently "on read", I still can't find much free time to finish them. I wanted to have a "book review" for so long and this will be my first time and I'm so excited about it. Bear with me as I know I could really be biased.😁
As a first, I wanted to talk about my three favorite books last year that has something to tell about women empowerment. Since I had read the classic, Virginia Woolf's A Room of One's Own, I started searching for other books that could make me open about being a woman. And these three are like gems that I found:

1. BLOOD WATER PAINT

IMG_20200217_135752.jpg

You will rage and be called you are too small, too weak, too feebleminded to be of use. You are not.

IMG_20200219_152022.jpg

This is based on the life story of an iconic painter from the seventeenth century, Artemisia Gentileschi. Gentileschi was sexually violated during her teenage years but fought her way to obtain justice. The book is written in verses that captured me in every pages. Verses that conveys strong messages of courage, self-respect and empowerment. I admire how artistic the author is, as if painting and writing are interwoven with one another.

2. CIRCE

IMG_20200219_133441.jpg

Humbling women seems to me a chief pasttime of poets. As if there can be no story unless we crawl and weep.

Greek mythology never bore me and this book surely never did. Circe may be known as a villain in some stories but the author's portrayal of the character is very unique. In this novel, I admire Circe's strong character. Circe fell in love with a mortal that later left her broken and had her revenge through witchcraft. As a punishment, she was exiled and forced to live in solitude . There she discovered more of her magic. And when another mortal tried to break her and violated her as a woman, Circe made sure to present a severe punishment to her perpetrator.

2. THE PRINCESS SAVES HERSELF IN THIS ONE

IMG_20200219_143720.jpg

The princess locks herself away in the highest tower, hoping a knight in shining armor would come to her rescue. - I didn't realize I could be my own knight.

This is a beautiful collection of poems from Amanda Lovelace. Verses that are very true and straight that could inspire young women. The book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration. Almost every pages left me thinking, some made me smile and some made my eyes cloudy. 😄

These are my top three books that could inspire and empower young women. Finishing books like these felt amazing and could make you hug more women out there who are in a different and uneasy situtation. It made me love myself more and be proud that I'm a woman. Most women may believed that they are weak in many situations but these books could be an inspiration to not be afraid, to be independent, to build up thyself, to embrace self-love and fight for what is right, to be brave and strong and to win every battle they thought are impossible to overcome.

Sort:  

Hi eunhye.gray,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

thank you so much, this made my day. :)😍

Congratulations @eunhye.gray! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

First I want to tell you that you have an enviable summary ability. I had a lot of time that I did not read someone who could summarize as you have done with these 3 books. I know Circe's story; I love reading mythology. As for the 2 poems, you describe them in a fabulous way: the strength and temperance of women, their fears, pain, healing, etc., must be magnificent books.
Thank you for sharing this reading experience. A cordial greeting @eunhye.gray

Wow. Thank you sooo much, didn't expect though. This is my first book review ever and these books are really special to me.😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90