Steem-Powered Outreach Event in Libertad National High School, Samal Davao del Norte

in #steemph6 years ago

dp16.jpg

I am in a beautiful island as I write this. The fine white sand is kissing my toes. The sun is high up in the sky, doing a fantastic job at keeping me warm despite the cool breeze. The sound of the waves crashing is like a hum tempting me to sleep. My is heart is full and my soul is at peace, but not because of the breath-taking view of the blue green ocean in front of me. It is so because of what transpired just a few moments ago in a school not so far from where I am now.

dp6.jpg

My day started at 4am. It rained heavily last night so I woke up to a cold misty morning. It would have been quite ideal to curl up in the warm bed and go back to sleep. I roused immediately though; it was going to be a long day and I might as well start it right by being on schedule. Our destination is more than 3 hours away from home and there were much to do before we leave the house. Red and I had our cup of coffee before taking a bath. It is a blessing that my mama's house has 3 bathrooms and we were done by 5am. We then proceeded to our checklist. Seed, check. Fertilizer, check. School supplies, check. Laptop and USB, check. Personal effects, check. We went to a Jollibee store near us to get the food we ordered the previous night. The whole ordeal only took about 10 minutes but by the time we got home, three boxes of torta (some sort of cupcake) were already there. My aunt who owns a bakery sent 80 pieces of these soft bread that will also be distributed to the students of Libertad National High School in Samal, Davao del Norte. We loaded everything in the SUV we rented especially for this trip and by 6:30, we (Red, my mom, my brother, a friend, and I) were on the road.

It was a good 30 minute drive before we arrived at the port, where our vehicle embarked on a ferry that took us across Davao Gulf to the Garden City of Samal. It was my first time to try it and I was quite amazed at how big the barge was. There were at least 20 vehicles and about a dozen motorcycles. Passengers can actually go out of their respective vehicles and roam around. Red and I found ourselves at a space for passengers, after climbing a steep stair. From there, we could see Samal Island from the east, and Davao City in the west. It was a quick ride and we docked after just about 15 minutes.

We then made our way to Libertad National High School in Kaputian District. Samal has only seen road developments recently and although there are roads that are already paved, there are still rough roads in the far side of the island. I can hear the engine of the SUV groaning when we go through steep and rocky pathways but our skillful driver is familiar with the place. We arrived at our destination at around 8:30 am. A number of students immediately offered help as we unloaded some of our things.

My brother introduced me to the school administrator and his co-teachers. I was informed that the school lost power because of the heavy rain last night so we wouldn't be able to use the projector and the projector screen that they prepared for us. Red and I decided to change our discussion flow because of this. We figured it was best to just discuss the basics of crop planting and give them hand-outs later. After setting up our laptop, Red and I introduced ourselves to our audience, which was comprised of about 40 students, 10 parents, 10 teachers and 5 volunteers. I talked to them in our Bisaya dialect while Red quietly reminded me of the things I missed. I first told them about the crops that were easy to raise, such as talong (eggplant), okra (ladyfinger), and tomatoes. I also discussed the proper way to plant the seeds, transplanting, applying fertilizer, and seed propagation. I can see them nod too, and I guess they already know some of the things that I was telling them.

dp2.jpg

dp9.jpg

It was then time to distribute the seeds and fertilizers. I reminded them to be cautious in handling fertilizers and that it is important to wash their hands properly after using them. I was very happy to see their eagerness for these items. I received tons of thank yous as I handed over their share.
Their smiles beamed more brightly when we told them that we are also giving out school supplies. The students and parents each got 4 notebooks, 2 blue ballpens, and 2 black ballpens. The box of pad papers were left to the teachers for them to use during quizes.

dp3.jpg

dp4.jpg

dp5.jpg

It was then time to eat! We ordered Cheeseburger and Peach Mango Pie from Jollibee and got the sodas from a store near the school. We also gave them the torta from my Aunt.

dp10.jpg

dp11.jpg

dp12.jpg

While eating, Red and I got the chance to speak with the teachers that were around. We told them that this event was made possible through the power of Steem and how Steemit played an integral role in funding it. Luckily, a couple of them know a thing or two about bitcoin and cryptocurrency. We told them about Steemit and how it works, about the things that they too can learn from other people using the platform, and the things they themselves can share. We told them about the meet-up this Saturday in Cafe Demitasse and a few of them said they will confirm by Friday morning if they can join.

dp13.jpg

Before we left, the school administrator, the teachers, the students, and the parents, gave us a round of applause. They profusely thanked us for visiting their school and for all the supplies we distributed. I would like to extend those applause and their gratitude to you. This project that once was only a vision became a reality with all your help. A big shout out to our @steemph family, @sunnylife, @bearone, @immarojas, @sndbox, @surpassinggoogle for all the love and support.

I am in a beautiful island as I write this. The fine white sand is kissing my toes. The sun is high up in the sky, doing a fantastic job at keeping me warm despite the cool breeze. The sound of the waves crashing is like a hum tempting me to sleep. My is heart is full, my soul is at peace, and I wish you all the same.

dp15.jpg

Sort:  

You both had great activities for those students in the high school. They would gain a lot of useful information from you. In the meantime, it’s a good opportunity for you to invite those teachers to join Steemit. Well done!

Beautiful scenery at the beach! And you both look very happy…. ;)

Thank you my friend! This was all made possible by Steemit through people like you who support my posts. So thank you, @tangmo! Much love from the Philippines!

You're welcome! Big hug from Thailand! ;)

Try Our Service Befre Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : JOIN NOW CLICK HERE

Awesomeness! Kumusta! :) wow.. all those beautiful smiling faces.. so cool! so did u and Red and the kids make sand castles?? =p

Thank you Danda and Red for your generosity and the work you both do for our people. I see the big heart runs in the family. Thank you po Tita ❤🙏❤

Also, combining homesteading and Steemit is genius and personally I think it covers a lot of bases. 😊

Side Note.. Sounds like you're home... Just saying.

Thank you so much sis for sharing your journey.
This is very touching and inspiring.
Feeling ko nag travel na den ako sa inyo, ramdam ko ang pagmamahal mo sa kanila.

"My is heart is full, my soul is at peace, and I wish you all the same."
Thank you so much sis. Enjoy your holiday and have a great time with your family. love you guys. Stay safe God bless your family always sis. xoxo

Aww, congrats sis for the successful event! i can see all those smiles both from the kids and the parents. I hope they would really apply what they learned from you so there would be no starving anymore. God bless your beautiful heart sissy 😘❤

how priceless are the smiles on the kids' faces. 😍😍
kudos to you maam @dandalion and to your team for the generousity and congrats for this successful initiative. 😊😊

God will bless you more.

Congratulations @dandalion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29