No Place Like Home

in #steemph6 years ago

home.jpg

It's before 6am. Somehow, it's so easy to wake up early in this house. It has always been, since I was little. It might be because of the wide windows with its flimsy curtains or maybe the non-stop crowing of the few tandang or roosters just outside the window. Or maybe because the house is already buzzing with activities and the sound coming from the kitchen just automatically rouses my mommy soul. Whatever it is, here I am, typing away so early in the morning at my Mama's house.

We landed at the Davao International Airport at around 7 the other night. A coupe of security guards are stationed around the exit to record the name and the plate number of the cab you are riding. They give you the piece of paper with those information in case you have any complaints against the driver. We had a smooth ride owing to the fact that it was Black Saturday. The streets were quiet and somber. People were in prayer, anticipating Easter Sunday.

Our residence is quite far from the airport but without the usual traffic, we got to mama's house after a 30-minute ride. Although it was Lenten Season, my Mama prepared a sumptuous meal for us. She also served Binignit (Gintan in Tagalog), my favorite Filipino snack made of glutinous or sticky rice balls, plantain bananas, sweet potatoes and tapioca pearls cooked in coconut milk. My Mama makes it more special by adding Langka or jackfruit. It's one of my Mama's specialties that I never had the courage to recreate because I feel like this dish requires a lot of skills and experience. I promise myself to learn how to prepare it before this trip ends.

We ended up retiring early that night as we spent the whole day travelling. Like today, I was up early yesterday. I spent some time touring the house that still feels so much like the home I left more than 13 years ago.

I couldn't help but laugh out loud at some of the artworks around the house.

p5.jpg

p7.jpg

p8.jpg

p9.jpg

Our altar for when my pious Grandmama visits. She says Angelus every 6pm and we join her when we can.

p6.jpg

I also strolled around my Mama's garden. I was happy to see so many Aloe Vera as I'm trying out some products made out of these alien-looking plants.

p10.jpg

p11.jpg

I'm spending most of today prepping for the Homesteading Brigade event on April 4. We'll be hunting for seeds and will be purchasing notebooks and pad papers for the students. After that, we'll be making preparations for the Meet-Up on April 7. After all these scheduled events, I'll have more time to learn some of my Mama's specialty secrets. How about you? What are you busy about these days?

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Ooooooohhh binignit is one of my favorites! I remember my grandma used to make it a lot especially during the Holy Week. :)

Yes, it's quite popular during holy week. Happy Easter to you and your family, @jazzybells!

Happy Easter to you and your lovely fam too! <3

I absolutely agree with your title, “No place like home”. I like the style of your mother’s house surrounding with many green trees, I especially like the Aloe Vera. When I was a child, my father also planted this in our garden in my hometown, Phatthalung, too.

The artworks are amazing and funny, I like them all.

Your Filipino snack looks yummy. I especially like the jackfruit, too.

Hope you had great time with your warm family in your hometown. ;)

Thank you, @tangmo! Yes, I love the greenery too! It's much like the beautiful pictures you share in you blog. Thank you for being an inspiration!

You're welcome! Ah! I'm really happy every time you mentioned that I'm your inspiration.... ;)

Looking forward to April 7 @dandalion. Meanwhile, enjoy your stay here in Davao.

Thank you sir! Red and I look forward to meeting you and your amazing family. See you soon! ❤

So happy for you Ate @dandalion :)
Hope you will all have a great vacation as well as some activities planned for steemit there in your hometown :)
I bet the kids will enjoy there :)

Thank you, sis! Kamusta ang holu week ninyo? I hope see you soon! 😘

I spent my Holly Week in Cavite Ate. That whole week I stayed at home with my family and watched movies :) Finally got the chance to be with them for that long. Tapos ito, back to reality na ulit. Uwi na lang ulit t'wing weekends.

in Antipolo, we call your binignit as bilu-bilo derived from bilog-bilog because of the round shape of the glutinous rice. best served hot during cold weather. and right now, it is currently raining here in Antipolo.
i also love the artworks with its sense of humor. the joker and the one painted by mr. Bean 😊
thanks for sharing this madam @dandalion

Yes, I heard it being called bilo-bilo in Bulacan too! Thank you for dropping by, @johnpd!

PS. dandalion lng po yan sir. Or Ate if you want pero di po madam 😄😁

Those paintings are reminders of happy, artistic and creative people living in the house.

Thank you, @i-karlll. 😊

you're right.. that plant does look so alien! :) That sure looks yummy. I bet it was.. Did u get to learn how to make it?

Not yet. My mom tells me she will cook it again so she can show me how she does it. Thanks for dropping by, @chinito.

No matter how deluxe room you'll stay for good, the essence of your own room is still missing. Mostly the presence of the ones you love. Indeed,

"There's no place like home.."

Kinda curious, what is the inspiration of the artist? Hehehe Cute! Good luck to this event sir, waiting for the succession post after the meet up. Best of luck to your "home study" with your mom! Have a great vacay! :)

Thank you for your kind words and for dropping by. 😊

Hala ang cute nung mga artworks sa dingding sis! Haha. It must be really nice to be back home. ❤ I'm not a morning person but during vacation like this one, I wouldnt mind waking up early in the morning to make the most out of my day. Have a fun vacation and goodluck to your activities tomorrow sis!! ❤

Thanks sis! sorry medyo na-busy kami ni Red pagdating namin ng Davao. Will try to catch up sa Bulacan chatroom natin.

enoy your stay with your family sis
ang ganda naman nyan, daming puno at halaman.
ganda ng mga paintings den hehehe
Have a wonderful time with your loved ones.
Hug mo kay tatay Digong sis hehehe

hahaa! yes, sis. super hug ko si tatay digs pag nakita ko siya dito. =DSalamat sa suporta sis. Nairaos na rin ang homesteading brigade. Ang saya saya nung mga bata. God bless you and your family sis! labalab!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43