An Invitation to Dabawenyos | SteemPH Meet-Up Caravan In Davao City

in #steemph7 years ago (edited)

I will never tire in saying that one of the biggest blessings I received in 2017 was to be a part of SteemPH. Their announcement at the year-end party about me leading @steemph.davao took me by surprise. Although I was deeply honored, I had doubts and apprehensions - I still do. I am physically away from Davao (more than 900 kilometers away, in fact) and I had no clue how I would create a team when I only knew a couple of Steemians from Davao at that time.

After SteemPH Davao's first post in January however, Steemians from Davao started to make themselves known to me. The Davao Chatroom in Steemit Philippines Discord Channel has seen more and more activities. Since then, we were able to come up with activities and projects for the Steemit community in Davao.

Activities/ProjectsPost Link
Gift GivingFirst Steemph.Davao Outreach and Promotion Event
Free Art Workshop For KidsArt in Community Building Efforts in Davao City
Power-UP BrigadeCalling All Davaoenos - New Initiatives: Featured Contents & Power-UP Brigade
Daily Featured PostsDavao Weekly - New Initiatives, Concluded Projects, & Challenge Updates

In April, we are bound for Davao and will be spending time with the students of Samal Libertad High School in the hopes of imparting knowledge on Basic Homesteading techniques.

ActivityPost Link
Homesteading BrigadeLive In Davao - Projects, Updates, & Meet-Ups

Homesteading Brigade is a project that I am personally involved in. It was a proposal I made to the SteemPH core group last year when my brother, an educator at Libertad National High School, told me about some of his students eating sea salt with rice for lunch. I look forward to making this project a success and have been preparing for it the past few months.

But since it's not everyday that I get to visit Davao, I want to make sure I get the most out of our trip there this year. It would truly be lovely if I could finally meet the Steemians of my own hometown, and what better way to meet them than through SteemPH's Meet-Up Caravan!

Meet-Up Caravan

meet-up.jpg
SteemPH Meet-Up Caravan Kick-Off in Malolos, Bulacan

This really just evolved from my partner's (@steemitph) desire to meet Steemians from Bulacan, his hometown. After he posted his intention to hold a meet-up in Malolos, Steemians from different parts of the Philippines reached out to us through comments and direct messages, asking if there were any meet-ups in their areas. The truth is, Red and I have always thought about going to certain parts of the country to meet the Steemians who we know are based in those places. Their queries gave new light to that thought and that is how the SteemPH Meet-Up Caravan was born. It has these objectives:

  • Start or improve engagement between existing Steemians located outside of Metro Manila
  • Provide educational materials to improve existing Steemians' experience in the platform with the help of @steemnest
  • Encourage Steemit promotion among existing Steemians by requiring them to bring a non-Steemian friend to the meet ups
  • Explore community related events in each location to improve visibility for Steemit, and support @steemph's vision

This will also be the perfect time to get to know the Steemians who I can work with for future Steemit activities in Davao. As we are nearing April, I have been busy the past few days in search of a good place where we can hold the meet-up. I have been reaching out to my fellow Dabawenyos and they responded with suggestions. Here are some of the places on our list, in no particular order.

Claude's Le Cafe De Ville

mu1.jpg
source

Claude’s formally opened on the 1st of May 1996. According to their website, "(t)his little café was born out of a dream to build a home in an ideal place to make roots – Davao."

I love their elegant setting and the fact that they have excellent reviews when it comes to the overall experience of their guests. People are raving about their "perfectly prepared dishes", and the restaurant boasts of top-notch service.

Saging Repablik

m.jpg
source

According to their Facebook page, Saging Repablik offers a refined modern twist of Filipino cuisine and contemporary dishes. It’s a place where diners can enjoy a wide variety of banana-inspired dishes, drinks and desserts. They also received very good reviews on their food, place, and service.

Dencia's Restaurant

mu2.jpg
source

I have personal experience with this restaurant and I've always loved everything about it. The Chinese and Filipino cuisine they serve is one of the things I miss about my hometown. It is an establishment that is known to Davao because of its longevity (over 50 years), and that is well-loved because of its food and service.

I will be spending the next few days reaching out to these establishment, making inquiries, and making arrangements for the Davao stop of the SteemPh Meet-Up Caravan. We have always aimed for the meet-ups to be free for the participants so our budget, will be one of the deciding factors on which place will be chosen. If you know of other places in Davao where we can hold the meet-up, please share it in the comments section below. You can also reach me through Discord - I'm using Dandalion - or start a conversation about it in our Davao chatroom in Steemit Philippines Discord channel.

footer.jpg

Sort:  

You got an upvote from Sndbox-Alpha! Please help us find more great contents about Meet Up and Philanthropy. Click here for more information.

171020_Cryptocurrency-07.png

If you like what we are doing and want to contribute in rewarding authors who spread the Steemit love through Philanthropy & Meet Up, we encourage you to follow the @sndbox-alpha trail on Steemauto.com.

I would love to join the group @dandalion. I'm currently working in Davao City downtown area. I'll start keeping myself updated with what's going on in the Discord Chat so I can prepare myself, file vacation leaves if needed. More power! God bless

this is great, @caratzky! The Davao Communal accout will be posting about the final details of the meet-up and the homesteading brigade in Samal. I will also be posting it in our #mga_dabawenyos channel so yes, please check it there from time to time. We hope to meet you there.

wow great job.. We are also about to start here our team the steemphnegros .. I also believe if we are not afraid to try thing and giving our 100% best even we fail.. you cannot say that it was a success.. an accomplishment..good job Davao team..

yes I just heard from the core that Steemph Negros got a go signal. Congratulations to your team! We look forward to working with you in upholding our mission and vision as a group. Reach out anytime you need any help. =)

Very good job @ dandalion., when i first involved in steemit i am also happy and feeling blessed for this new.community..it helps. A nd as part of steemph ,i believe that thru steemit we can share the little of we have to make a difcerence..More power and god bless team davao

Thank you for the kind words, @reginecruz. I hope to meet you in one of our meet-ups. Steem on, girl! =)

wow! u're doing real good work! thank u from all of steemit! :)

Hey @dandalion, gotta love Steemit! Still awesome platform and community and it's nice having great people contribute so we all benefit. Keep up the good work! Cheers!

Thank you for the kind words, @exxodus! We're all just trying to do what we can do. =)

this is very amazing maam @dandalion 😊
great job on leading the davao team. if its possible, i would like to join in this caravan and if you need help i'm willing to lend a hand also. Great job again ma'am! Power! aw. haha
Steem On! (diay) 😂

hahahaha! Thank you, @iamkuyaj!

We would be glad to see in the meet-up! I sent you a DM in discord. =)

Wow!! Really amazed by your advocacy mam danda! Continue sharing this platform to everyone. Even if the place is a miles miles away from you, you really make an effort to reach out all steemians! Goodluck and Godbless for this meetup caravan!! ❤️❤️❤️

wow nice great

APRIL?! uuugghhh... I won't make it!! hahaha I'm going home May.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34