The story behind his laughter

in #steemph7 years ago (edited)

Being an engineer assigned in the field, I get the chance of talking to our workers. For 10 projects that I have been part of, my friendship with them has gone stronger. We laughed and even shared the drizzles of the rain during our operation. This wasn’t what I have thought when I was in college, I thought of just daily and weekly reports submittals and of course the salary. But my engineering career and even my life’s perspective have drastically changed over time.

The day-to-day activities have made me drawn to them – bonding time during vacant hours and sometimes even during operations. I see to it that they get the needed attention they need. Human as we are, though we’re separated with the social norm – the work status, I have considered them as my friends.

With the stories each of them have, I was quite surprised with one. Though all of their shared life stories have equivalent life lessons in my end, there is this one story I admire the most.

image.png
source

It was one hot afternoon when I get to listen to one of our workers’ sentiments. He’s the kind of guy you’ll never hear dramas from. That is what I thought! And I was so wrong. I saw him with those sober eyes locked with mine. I felt his sincerity with every word he uttered. He told me his admirable life story.
He’s a man of five children who once had a beautiful, happy and complete family. He was once living his dreams with the bond they shared with his loving wife and children. But it all crumbled before his eyes. And he was left with tears and sorrow. He was addicted to "shabu" which by now he regretted the most.

Drugs took away all his gems – his family and promising life. He was left with almost nothing. He couldn’t extend his money to support his children’s needs. And on top of all the problems, he was more dumbfounded when his children told him that his wife left them. He was shattered and even thought of ending his own life. But he had kept his sanity just right for his children. He went on with life fighting with the perils thrown at him. He kept his mind busy. But it wasn’t enough. So what he did was humbly asked for the help of his aunties. He slowly regained his life for years. He then worked hard until he was financially stable to support his children.

Now, he’s one of our company’s rigger. He is indeed a hardworking man with a heart in his work. I’m seeing him as a changed man now; quite far from who he was few years ago. This man truly amazed me for he was able to conquer and face the life’s uncertainties. His fighting spirit and perseverance is truly commendable! Kudos to you kuya for being an example of change! And lastly, thank you for sharing your story to me. I will surely treasure the lessons you have taught me.

image.png
source

Each one of us has stories worth sharing. This blog is made to inspire the struggling single parents out there. I want you to know that you are not alone. Just go on with life and continue fighting with every bit of lesson to back you up.

Best regards,
@aljoursantillan

If you haven’t read my previous blogs, just click here.
Thank you for reading it till the end means a lot to me, commenting your views down below will be much more appreciated. KEEP STEEMING EVERYONE!


Sort:  

Did he ask forgiveness from his wife? I want to know. Hehehe! Basin magbalik pa sila.

Nana may lain iya ex-wife. basin nagkita na cla kay nagpasko man. Pero wla na cla nagbalik.

Dude great post.. its a heart warming view..

yeah right bro.

wow clap clap for you jours. Naninuod njud uh hahhaha... Kinsay editor in chief ani???hehej

ofcourse me,myself and i... .hahhahaha @jonnahmatias

ge resteem tka maaglibreb jud ka naq huh...Hhaaa dako nka points

Hello, please follow the rules of the group ►Resteem to steemit◄ and you will be resteemed by the most active members in the group.

You have to resteem someone from the group if you want to post there your link.

Yes i will do resteeming with the rest thabk you

Congratulations @aljoursantillan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! I think I know this guy. Hm indeed he's a changed man now I can tell. Nice hearing this, Aljour. Keep posting!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aljoursantillan to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00