Why Commenting On YouTube Videos Is Pointless

in #steempeak5 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians,

I recently watched one of my favorite movies on YouTube. Rain Man.

Due to the fact that I have many family members on the autistic spectrum, as well as recently taking some tests that suggest I am also on the spectrum, this has been a lifelong movie of interest.

I've put extensive research into this movie over the years, and learned everything I could about Kim Peek (The character Dustin Hoffman emulates for this role.) I was never very impressed with the young Tom Cruise's performance, but hey.. It was a good movie nonetheless.

The YouTube movie description did not mention anything about the real rain man, and I thought a mention of him would have been appropriate. So I decided to post a comment with my opinion. (Something I rarely do on YouTube because of trolls.)

This proved to not only be rather pointless, but also, I set myself up to be trolled hard by a user who obviously has some mental health issues.

Let's take a look at this shall we. I will share the relevant comments in screenshots, but you can view the entire thread by visiting the link I provided above.



Source


image.png


image.png


image.png

Hook, line, and sinker.. Futuremind fell right into the troll trap.


image.png

I could have been a little nicer I suppose.. Let's see how he responds now.


image.png

He definitely started going full troll right here..


image.png

Wtf?


image.png


image.png

He definitely didn't like that.. But seriously check out his YouTube page...


image.png

Projection of his miserable life? 🤔


image.png

Well... It's true..


image.png

He's probably not done yet, but I'm sure done.
I have to admit that I did provoke this guy a bit in the beginning, and for that I have to accept the responsibility of knowing that I was not very nice. He took it to another level and proceeded to become extremely mean and disrespectful.

I would advise against provoking him, and feeding his nasty fuel. I did analyze his YouTube videos and found his personality to be somewhat disturbing. I hope he isn't a danger to society, but it wouldn't surprise me if he is.

The moral of the story here, is be careful on YouTube, because the state of humanity is not good, and people will troll for virtually any reason they can find on these mainstream outlets.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful day!


Much love,
@futuremind

Sort:  

Whoa. Man trolls usually do have mental illness. Its eityer the illness makes them act this way,or they think the mental illness gives them a pass to act in such ways.

Yeah man, it's freaking crazy right!
I entertained it for way too long.

Yeah man, it's freaking
Crazy right! I entertained
It for way too long.

                 - futuremind


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Dear @futuremind

Interesting read. IT seem that we're sharing similar impression about commenting on youtube. Noone usually reads it and definetly it's hard to ever receive any reply. Youtube content creators aren't really doing well when it comes to building engagement with their audience. It's usually like a one-way street.

I set myself up to be trolled hard by a user who obviously has some mental health issues.

Wow. Your experience is even worse than mine. crazy ...

Yours, Piotr

Greetings Piotr,

This is a great point you bring up. (about engagement and one way street). Seems there is no real incentive for content creators to engage on their videos, as it takes quite a bit of time, and unless they are making a living from youtube, it seems pointless indeed. If they are making a living from youtube, they will likely have so many comments that it will not even be possible for them to get through them all, and then they lose too much time. It's not an efficient system.

It does make me think a bit about Steem engagement as well. I think it would be great if there were some large accounts solely dedicated to rewarding engagement. For example, as a top ten stake holder in the weedcash tribe, I make it a point to reward engagement, especially the comments that take time. It doesn't even matter if I agree with the comments, I reward them because it makes it worth their time to continue engaging!

Wow. Your experience is even worse than mine. crazy ...

I kind of "fed the beast". I knew instantly I was dealing with a moron, and shouldn't have even bothered playing into it, but hey.. Sometimes it happens. The lesson here is don't bother engaging on youtube..

Thanks for your support and kind words Piotr,
PS. I just responded to your email :)

Congratulations @futuremind! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Many thanks Steemitboard!!!
You already know I'm going to make the next milestone ;)

Can't wait to see you reach your next target!

Hi, @futuremind!

You just got a 36.28% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello @futuremind, how are you doing? I think giving comments to others is very good. Because it can give some advice or show you like the post. Besides that it also makes fellow stemians interact. .I don't think everyone will be angry with comments on YouTube. Have a nice day, sir.

Very true @elianaelisma,
I'm doing well, and hope you are also well.
Thank you for your kind comments.
Have a great day miss.

the comments section of just about any mainstream site like Youtube or FB is a sometimes entertaining exercise in futility.
internetarguments.jpg

lol, chess is definitely better.

It's futile, oh so very much! And before I posted the initial comment, I felt something like this:



source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75