RE: Logiczombie - My 30 Days on a TV Game Show - Part One - (Post Response)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steempeak5 years ago (edited)

Hi @logiczombie,

This was quite an eloquent analogous work of art you created here.

If my perception is correct, The Bucket-Head Talent Show has been a rough start for you in some ways.

I also had some similar frustrations at the start of the show, as I'm sure you know, because you had a look.

So let's take a look at what was going on at the beginning for me, leading up until now.



Qimono, Pixabay

There was so much to learn about the dynamics that are not crystal clear from the start. I became very excited to see my 25 stage blocks start going up right away, and also became frustrated when they seemed to stop suddenly around 40ish. It was not clear what was happening until finding out that after increasing a stage block, I must receive double the amount of coin flips for the next one, and so on and so on. Of course the value of the coin flips is relevant by far, because it's all calculated on these intricate game show grid scrapers which analyze your numbers in the game for you. I discovered Steemworld which helped me track my stage block rate growth, as well as Steemd which also helped me tremendously, especially with keeping track of those action points. In the beginning I did not even know about the action points.

I never did have trouble with the robots and the kangaroo courts, as this was my first time taking part in this kind of show, and didn't have any previous acts from any previous shows that I felt were worthy to share. I have seen it happen to many performers in the show, and I imagine it is a very frustrating and confusing part of The Bucket-Head Talent Show when it comes out of nowhere like that.

One particular day, I was having a great time in the The Bucket-Head Talent Show, tossing around my worthless coin flips, commenting on other contestants, getting to know some of the others in the studio, when something terrible happened. I ran out of action points and had no clue what was happening.

I ventured into the Discordian Restaurant to have a bite to eat. It's a known location where all the mega players in the The Bucket-Head Talent Show eat and discuss power moves in the show. I was a little scared walking in there with my tiny empty bucket.

They knew it too, the sharks eyes were heavy on the new player, and I knew they sensed I was a brave one indeed to enter such a place where new players were not seen as often.

Everyone stopped eating, dropped their hard forks and one of the big willies asked me what I was doing in his Discordian Restaurant.

"Sir, my bucket is empty, and I was having fun playing the game, what do I now have to do to keep playing?"

Everyone let out a little knowing chuckle under their breath, and he said:

"Go back to the studio, you can play now."

I didn't argue, just did what I was told and was happy to be out of this restaurant with all the looming pressure.

When I looked into my game wallet, I noticed some of the special coins that I could do nothing with, but they gave me bigger coin flips like magic, and allowed me to comment and have fun with the other contestants. I started getting more popular, everyone loved my bigger coin flips, and then suddenly, without notice, he took it back.

I was devastated at first, and thought "why would he do that?" I started asking around to figure out the answer. I didn't want to ask him, because I thought maybe I did something wrong and he was mad at me or something.

Then another contestant explained that it was not like a loan, because he didn't give me any terms, in fact it was the opposite, a sacrifice of his own resources so that I could continue to play. He monitored my progress and use of action points, and when he felt it was necessary to take his sacrificial game gift back, that is what he did. This did cause some hardship again later with action points, but it taught me how to manage them better as well, even if it was an aspect of the game I didn't like much.

The contestant further explained to me that if I was to give coin flips on performances that were older than 7 days, it would be a loss of the coin flips, and neither one of the players would get anything! I said:

"Whoah, this does not make sense! How do I reward them with my little coin flip for their old performances?"

The contestant replied:

"It's simple, you just make a comment, and when they respond, you can coin flip their new comment and reward them with your coin flip, and in 7 days when they are allowed to take the coins out of their bucket, they will even give you 25% back."

(That was the old Bucket-Head Talent Show, and now it's 50% to each contestant.)

As time went on, I started to really understand the show, and how to perform to the best of my abilities. As I became more skilled, and met more and more contestants, I started to have a new problem in the game, I could not keep up with everyone! And to make matters even more complicated, coin flips are measured by time and percentage based on time, so the more I use them in a certain time frame, the less my coin flips would be worth!

I've been playing the The Bucket-Head Talent Show for about 22 months now, and I've learned quite a bit about its complexities. I've made a great deal of progress, but I find that my newest conundrum in the show, is keeping up with all of the contestants I've met during this time. It's tough to give everyone commentary and coin flips everyday, and it makes me sad. Even though I'm a fast script maker, it still takes time to write my scripts, check them for mistakes, make my rounds, and some people I don't make it to for weeks at a time even. It is a tough aspect, but I am doing my best.

The Bucket-Head Talent Show is not an easy show to partake in, and it takes tons of work, at the end of the day, I have to take myself out of the show, and attend to my real life obligations, such as cooking, cleaning, eating, sleeping, appointments, and this takes time away from the show.

The best way to participate in this show, is by being positive, and looking at the bright side of things. With the approximate 35,000 contestants, we could one day have millions! Can you imagine? It is one of the things that keeps many of us going in this show, because there is light at the end of the tunnel, a bright light that we see, and it might not be a perfect game, but it's a game worth participating in.


I hope this helps a little with some perspective regarding the Steem blockchain @logiczombie, and please feel free to message me anytime with questions you may have if you need help. If I have the answer, I will do my best to help, and if I don't have the answer, it is likely I can guide you in the right direction anyway.


If you found this analogous story line interesting and enjoyed it, head on over to @logiczombie's post and shower it with some coin flips, because it is logiczombie who originated the context. I merely added my experience in conjunction to the story.


Much love,
@futuremind



Sort:  

I thought I re-steemed this already!

You are a true inspiration!

Thank you for the re-steem @logiczombie,
I'm happy you found this inspiring. I try my best.

That was amazing! Nice moves! I want to see if I can find a steemian to make a short web-comic or animated video based on this idea that might be a way of introducing new players to the game (TBHTS)! If you know anybody, or if you're reading this and might be interested in a collaboration, just shoot me a note!

Thank you @logiczombie,

I'm happy you were pleased with this. I wasn't sure if you would be offended by me responding this way, but I thought it was more creative and involved more thought than a simple post response, plus I like to do what I can to bring more exposure to new members.

That would be great if a comic comes on board with this. I'll keep my eyes open for a comic or graphic video creator. I know I've seen them around the chain before, but do not know if we have any currently creating on the blockchain. It really is a very cool story line, I love your creativity :)

I love sharing stuff and I love your creativity!

I don't believe ideas (Qualia) can be owned like property (Quanta).

Ideas have none of the essential characteristics of property and it is a category error to claim that ideas are property.

Even the term, "intellectual-property" is like a mind-trap that infects your whole world-view.

Eh, for example,

Please don't worry about personally offending me, I haven't been personally offended in a number of years, and I certainly don't plan on starting again now!

Hello @futuremind, how are you doing? Unfortunately unfortunately I have never watched the show so it seems I can't comment. Enjoy your day, sir. .

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44