SteemPeak is everything you wanted Steemit to be | A small appreciation post for SteemPeak

in #steempeak5 years ago (edited)

I'm seriously impressed with the amount of features the SteemPeak team keeps coming up with. Remember how people wished you could pin a post of yours to show at the top of your blog? Well, in a very recent update, SteemPeak provided just that.

Nimetön.png

Since I am "the dried fruit guy", I thought it would be fitting to pin a post that goes behind the story of where that nickname comes from.

You know, Steemit isn't going to focus on their front-end, but are prioritizing the development of SMT's and other back-end stuff of the Steem blockchain itself. Though during these 3 years they managed to make the "featured" feature and I think they could put it to good use to direct their users to better front-ends.

steempeak.png

Yeah, like that.

Btw, there's another cool feature, did you notice it?

The thumbnail

DSC_0286 Custom.jpg

It was this picture here, instead of the default first one in the post. I mean, how cool is that? Now you can clickbait people, but still save that best bit to the last, keeping your readers hungry until the end. It actually changes the thumbnail for Steemit, too.

coverpicture.png

All kinds of other features there too as you can see, and as someone who has gotten into photography, the slideshow mode is so good, cause you can just show your pictures from your post to other people without all the blog jargon that your friends don't give a shit about (at least on the spot).

One last thing: 50% of this post rewards will go to @steempeak. They're doing such good stuff that I can't help but show my appreciation a little.

Sort:  

Wow, I didn't even know about the thumbnail thing! Thanks for that! Very cool indeed :D

You're welcome :D

LOL wow I really wish steemit would write that post "We did nothing with Steemit, just use SteemPeak instead" :) Truth

I feel it would be too good to be true should that happen, but one can wish :D

Posted using Partiko Android

SteemPeak is everything you wanted Steemit to be

Except today I learned it's programmed in Java. I never wanted Steemit to be that...

Of course, Steemit is coded in JS. I didn't want it to be that either.

Other than their choice in programming language, SteemPeak is pretty nice. They're way more advanced now days.

Ahh, well I didn't know about the technical details :P What language would have you preferred and why?

Posted using Partiko Android

I personally am a fan of Python lately. Of course, that's mainly for quickly coding things. You then rewrite what you need to to be faster or more efficient. But it doesn't really matter what language you program something in anymore, as long as you optimize it properly and rewrite any parts you need to in a lower level language like C/C++, or hell, even Fortran.

I just hate Java and JavaScript with a passion because I was learning web dev and trying to get more into programming when Java started to become a things and Javascript was mainly used for making little floating color things that followed the mouse. Dynamic webpages only started to become a thing after I was already perusing the computer book aisles pretty much every other day. Because of being exposed to it that far back, when it was all fairly new, I basically knew them as a nightmare to work with. They were very ugly and hard to use back then. JavaScript was actually far better. It was ugly as hell, but it wasn't that hard to do cool things with it. I actually never even figured out how to package the Java apps back then. It wasn't so easy at first. There were these jar apps that you had to do something with. I don't even remember. But I remember trying to figure it out for at least a few hours. Guess I wasn't motivated enough though.

I remember I painstakingly replicated the Mac OS X doc for a web page using JavaScript though. Still annoyed that no one was really impressed. That took me more than a few hours. Wasn't quite as smooth on a webpage, but it was pretty cool.

Are you fan of my "python"?

Flagged for inappropriate behavior.

You know I like it rough!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.419 which ranks you at #2156 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2155).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 201 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I hardly use steemit nowadays, steempeak has been one of my favourite. Fast with easy experience

Not many reasons to use Steemit anymore with all the features in SteemPeak.

I still use steemit because the default view is far more condensed than steempeak when I am browsing through my feed. I would actually prefer an even more condensed, reddit-like front end that would let me see three times as many posts on my screen at once when I am browsing my feed, tbh

Well, I guess you found a reason after all :P

Posted using Partiko Android

@celestal You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

I need to be using this more. Only used it a handful of times. You have now motivated me my friend. Also, I want some dried tangerines.

Yes, you need! :D

Also, I want some dried tangerines.

Come to Thailand for SF4 and you'll get some :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80