Beach and Ice CreamsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemparents7 years ago (edited)

image
As kids we would often go to Port Stanley beach. It is a great little beach town only a ten minute drive from our house. Every time on the drive home we would beg to go to Shaws ice cream factory. Since my mother had four kids and was a stay at home mom, it wasn't very often that we stopped.
image
We recently had some friends come and visit us for four weeks from Brazil. On one of the weekends we decided to take them to Port Stanley beach so they could compare it to the beautiful beaches in Brazil.
They were pleasantly surprised for a beach on a lake. Unfortunately the weather was windy that day and the water was rough. We were not able to go for a dip.
image

On the way home from the beach we made sure to check out Shaws ice Cream. It was packed with a line up outside of the building. There were more flavors then I could list (or remembered ). People often came out with two different flavors on a double scoop cone because they can't decide on a favorite flavor. I am not sure if I enjoyed it so much because of the memories that it stirred or because it was delicious!
image
We had a great trip. We finished it off by stopping at a major tourist spot in St.Thomas Ontario. It is a large statue of Jumbo the elephant. This is Joe Thornton's home town and one of the reasons that he is called Jumbo Joe. I have included an image of the history of Jumbo if you are interested.
image
image
I love making new memories with my family especially when they involve things that I enjoyed growing up.

Hope you enjoyed


Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of @steemparents
Check out my Latest Blog

If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Oh man, when I read the title I was fully expecting ice cream being eaten at the beach. I couldn't imagine how that would be done, with all the sand flying around, but yeah. Did they say how the beaches in Brazil compared to beaches there? I haven't seen a fresh water beach either!

Obviously it did not compare.
The beaches in Brazil are beautiful.
I find the fresh water is a lot more fun to swim in. Usually fairly calm waters and does not leave the salt taste if you go under water.

Darryl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82