1st Blog - CampfiressteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemparents7 years ago

As mentioned earlier today it is my one year anniversary on Steemit. As a flashback I am reposting my first ever blog. It was a dadview on campfires. My original idea was to blog about my life experiences as a father. I think to this day that is still my go to topic. Hope you enjoy!
2017-08-02 22.26.56.jpg


Growing up, my parents owned a trailer that we spent our entire summers at. My family and my cousins both had a lot in the same seasonal trailer park. There were other kids around our age who also spent the summer up there and we would all hang out and spend hours coming up with things to do. We built forts in the woods, played arcade games for hours (can I have $5 dad?), created new competitions at the playground and rode our bikes around with freedom. You think that it would be hard to pick a favourite activity but that is not the case. By far my favourite thing to do was to sit around the campfire.
There are a lot of reasons that having a campfire is such a great memory. It was an excuse to stay up late and hang out with the grown-ups. There were always some sort of food option that was completely unhealthy and delicious. Marshmallows, hotdogs, pie irons or even just pop and chips. There was storytelling, song singing and good old fashioned conversation.
In retrospect, camp fires hit so many of your senses that it is extremely easy to retrigger great memories. The sound of the crackling wood on the fire, the smoke filled taste of the food that we cooked, the visuals of the magical flame burning in the night, the smell of the smoke as the wind blew it into your face (I hate white rabbits, I hate white rabbits, I hate white rabbits).

I want my son to have all the same great memories. He is currently four years old and is only interested in the marshmallows. He doesn’t even care if they are cooked on the fire or not, but he does loving holding them over the open flame with the stick. After 10 second he looks at me and says “Is it good enough dad?” Of course I always say yes and let him eat as many as he likes. We make up stories where each person will add on the next sentence. It usually ends up being about Star Wars whenever it is his turn to add on. My wife is not a huge fan of the fires either but she sits out with us and has even started scheduling camping trips on her own accord. She enjoys the social aspect of the fire and often will invite family or friends out to join us. She always ensure that the entire family showers before bed. "Who wants the entire trailer to smell like campfire and smoke?"
At the end of the night I always wish we spent more time out at the fire but my son loses interest rather quickly and I don’t want to force it on him.
I often wonder if his memories of these moments will be as fond as my childhood campfire memories were.
I didn’t think it would be possible but these new campfire moments with my family are even better than the ones I had growing up.

And that is my Dadsview on campfires


Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Awww man this sounds awesome! I'm glad your kid is experiencing the same thing. Way to carry over the tradition! Personally, I have never experienced this growing up, well I guess except drunken bonfires, but that was when I was already an adult. Sitting around campfires, eating s'mores, telling stories--now that's something worth keeping. These days, people are so glued to digital devices that this type of activity seem to be dying out. It's awesome to just kick back, enjoy nature and each other's company.

Although you should really bring weapons in case you find yourself stuck in a horror story with werewolves and zombies and whatnot. But, you need not worry. The Force is strong with your kid ;)

Congratulations @dadview! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post I'll follow you if you follow me

@dadview, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46