Steem Monsters Season 5 has begun

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

I have been having a lot of fun with Steem Monsters during the last few months, and it's incredible to see that we have gotten to Season 5 already. We have seen some changes during Season 4 when it comes to end of season rewards, so now we all got a certain amount of Reward Cards instead of a certain amount of booster packs. It's far from as exciting to open as the Booster Packs were, but I can understand why they felt the need to lower the value of the rewards they were giving away.

"Opening" my reward cards

I got to the Rating of Gold 1 during Season 4, so I got rewarded with 45 cards. I didn't really get anything good at all, and it was mostly lots of Common cards with a few Rares and Epics. I did not even get a single foil/gold or legendary card this time tough.

sms4rewards.jpg

10 of my cards. Most of the card screens looked like this.

Lots of people are currently in the process of dumping their rewards, so I'm naturally in the process of buying extras. Some of these cards have very good abilities once they reach a certain level, so it's worth leveling some of them up. I see that most of the common cards are worth as little as $0.03 per card, so I think it's a good time to level them up now. Getting the Common Cards to level 7 only costs a few dollars, so I'm very happy with how many people are dumping them.

What's new in Season 5?

According to the @steemmonsters blog post, there are no changes at the start of this season, so it will play out pretty much like the last one. They did make some nice improvements such as showing your golden cards by default if they are higher level than your regular one and things like that, but there are no balancing changes. They said that they are closely monitoring the new rewards cards tough, so it seems likely that some of these could end up being changed once Season 5 has ended. But there is no need to fear any balancing changes during Season 5, so it's a good time to level up the cards you feel most comfortable with.

New to Steem Monsters?

Are you one of the people who have yet to try Steem Monsters? I won't do a lot of shilling, but if you plan on checking it out, feel free to use my referral link. It costs $10 to but a Beginner Set which is required to actually play it, and I will gladly send some gold cards to anyone who uses my referral link for getting into the game.

Anyway, how high did you get your Rating to in season 4? And did any of you guys get any good rewards from it?

Sort:  

I got to Gold 1 as well and I got 45 cards. I did have a couple gold foils, but I think I only got two epics. Actually there is a huge change this season. If someone flees from your daily Quest it still counts as a win for you. That way you can continue to play your daily Quest and not worry about people fleeing. It's a great change.

I am definitely going to be stocking up on the reward cards. Eventually it's going to be a different kind of card being given out and these reward cards will go back up in value.

I have no doubt of that.

I agree with all you said. Getting the win towards the daily quest when they flee is great, and it's a much lesser hassle to get it done with "bad" splinters.

And yeah, the value of them will likely steadily go up in value once they are removed from the pool of cards given away. They are pretty powerful, so new players who want to play in tournaments will likely also be willing to buy them as well.

Haha I got to Gold 1 as well...the mighy hydra has beeen an amazing investment :D got 3 legendaries in the reward packs during the season and sold them to finance hydra + got some profits :))

Posted using Partiko Android

Lucky you! The Reward Edition Legendary card is still worth an okay amount. I might buy some of this card once it goes a bit lower, because it seems like a fun card to play.

Yupp looks like fun play but they will all inevitably fall to zero I feel :D the reward cards I mean

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I agree with that. There's just too many of them compared to how many people are interested in them.

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.188 which ranks you at #860 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 856).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83