Steem Monsters – Lessons from the First Two Weeks

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Steem Monsters – Lessons from the First Two Weeks


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Hi stortebeker,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I invested my steem into the game during the alpha phase and slowly reaping the rewards by quests and earning season rewards. I just keep on selling cards I don't need and eventually profit from the rewards the game offers. I can agree with your observations into the game. In fact, blogging with steemmonsters as a topic can be a feasible niche to get into.

Thanks for the reply! Yeah, I was surprised to be curated. Never thought this post was considered quality. Anyhow, I'm excited to be in at the start of the new season. And yes, I know I'll be selling some of my reward cards. Too many of a kind and I expect to be getting more of those. Problem is: many others do that too, so the price is accordingly low.

Hey @adamada, I just noticed we (almost) battled this morning. But then you let me win by forfeit. As happy as I am about the few extra points, I'm burning to ask you about your motivation behind surrendering. It happens to me all the time that an opponent runs away, and looking at their numbers, as it was in your case, I'm sure they would have beat me in battle.
Anyway, you are the first person I'm interacting on Steemit as well as on Steemmonsters, so I'm curious about some insights from a more experienced player.
By the way, I checked out your blog. Very cool art!

Thanks for checking my blog ^^

I lost connection during the match. But I wasn't really aiming to win any matches during that time. I reached my goal of earning 30 cards for the season and with what points I had during that time, it's not likely I am going to reach 35 cards for seasons prize unless I spend more time on the game.

Competition is more intense during near end of the season because people want those rewards. I try to raise my ranks up and reach some feasible goals from the start to mid of the season so that I don't get a hard time achieving the minimum. During the early to mid, people become complacent and think they can rank up higher, I bet they do with more time but if you're the type that wants to squeeze out more value for your time then avoid the rush.

What's so great about a few minutes of not playing steemmonsters vs playing during that period? well, I could focus on creating a blog. I already got my season rewards target done so the rest of the time I'm free to do something else productive. I'm sure spending hours of win and lose for 5 cards isn't really being productive. You could create 2 to 3 good posts with that time.

As for why some people surrender, I could draw up two rational reasons for it. 1 is not spending time on predictable reasons, if they know they are going to lose, it's better not waste a few seconds on building a deck and only to lose a few points. Move on to the next opponent. The second reason often seen during near of season is trying to loose more points near reset value.

Steemmonsters resets ranks lower than what you previously ended up with. Players with experience and good decks can get cocky by farming low tier players and rise up to where they previously ended. This also leaves room for experimentation of decks in ranks without harsh punishments of being psychologically losing at higher tier players they deserve within their league.

A less rational reason is crappy internet or just losing for fun. Anyway, I don't mind losing a few points. I'll rise up to the ranks and aim for 30 cards again as a minimum. This works for me because it's feasible. The game may give the illusion of rewards but it's just one aspect of the blockchain you can grow on. Best to allocate some time on some other stuff like engagement. I wasn't able to reply on time because I'm busy with hospital work but I do check in some messages.

Oh wow, thank you for your long explanation. Interesting to see the reverse psychology behind losing battles in order to get lower ranks, which are harder to get out of. In my experience, the levels of between 800 and 1000 points were the hardest to get through. At the end of the season I got my 30 cards, but was bumped down to 1000, and guess what: I ended up in that same range again. Even as we speak, I'm still trying to get out of bronze.
But it seems like we are (or at least were at the time of writing) around the same level. Who knows, we actually may face each other in a battle for real. I'm looking forward to it. Also, there is the challenge button... I'm not sure if you're up for it.

I think I'll pass on that challenge. I don't doubt that you'll win XD
Not sure how the challenge system works but does it matter whether I'm offline or not? Would be nice if I could just see the result on autoplay. Not sure when I'm online or not so that also is a factor for the challenge. Just got off from hospital work. Spent my New Year celebration at the ER. :>

Happy New year to you!

Hmmm... questions beyond questions. I honestly don't know. Maybe if you accept the challenge you assemble a team, and they battle it out whether we're on-line or not. Would make sense. Now whether I'd win or you, that is entirely in the cards, as they say. But no pressure, I'm sure eventually we'll find out, sooner or later.
Happy New Year to you as well! Too bad you couldn't participate in the annual abandon, but I'm sure those fellows appreciated it who overdid it and were brought in to your work for treatment.

Sorry, I just HAD to scratch that itch and find out: So the challenge is not ranked, and there are different level limits. I kept it conservative by choosing bronze. That means the card's levels are limited as follows: common 3, rare 2, epic 2, and legendary 1. I also decided to allow all cards, not just gold or alpha cards. It's possible to wager (wink-wink) any number of booster packs, but I left that at zero, as I don't have any at this moment. Plus it's our first trial run for both of us, or it will be in case you decide to pick up the glove. If you don't, no worries. You've already said you'd pass, and it's just me insisting. In either case, I don't think we'll lose anything.

Okay, so now we know: both of us need to be online at the same time for the challenge to work. That's cool, my curiosity has been satisfied. I don't have to bother you with that any longer. :-)

blogging about the steemmonsters did gave you a nice amount of steem to buy some new cards I assume with the Curie upvote you had 😎

Wich cards did you upgrade by buying them in the market?

"So I visited the market, and went on a bit of a shopping spree for specific cards I actually needed. 4.272 STEEM later I had myself a flesh golem and minotaur warrior, needed to level them up, plus two more Lyanna Natura cards so I could actually use them."
Right... blogging about steem monsters might be what I should do, actually. As I'm noticing that 14 Vampire cards (and similar reward monsters) aren't really that helpful, plus the market is saturated with them. But wait! Let me elaborate this issue in my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64