A Steem Monsters Story

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

image.png

I am not anyone special. Won’t even bother you with my name. I am not one of the heroes of this land. I am merely a witness. I have spent my life as most do here in the Splinterlands, working hard. I wasn’t born with the gift of magic like my brother. He left to learn how to become something special I was told. All I knew at the time was that meant more work for me around the house. I never understood what the big deal was until he returned. Valnamor, I had so much hate for you and it was from jealousy. Only now after seeing what you are can I admit that and beg to be forgiven. That day started like any other but it all changed so fast.

image.png

I was up before dawn and headed out to feed the animals. Let them out into the pens to run again and then head towards the docks. Ships were coming in and I couldn’t be late all the best supplies go fast. I made it before the first ship had come into the docks so I waited off sitting on some boxes. I was able to get up and head over as the first ship reached the docks but I could tell it wasn’t a trade ship. It was too small and had the symbols of the water clan on it. I sat there waiting and then I saw you. Walking off the boat you looked different but that orange hair was the same. At first, I wanted to head to greet you but I didn’t. Once I saw the way the others followed you. I couldn’t walk up in my work clothes dirty and alone while you walked first in front of so many.

I waited so long that day after buying my goods before heading home. I just figured you would be waiting. As I got closer to home I noticed that one of the wagons or horse that you left with where around. I walked in not to find you standing around in all your glory but to see our parents sitting alone at a table with a look of worry on their faces.

“Where have you been?! You missed your brother who returned today. He couldn’t stay though he was not here to visit.” my mother stopped and put her head down.

“He has come to fight, the blight is heading for our home and he has come to face it with a few others. I don’t get it the army they say they will face is so large. Yet he didn’t seem worried. He did ask for you. He waited as long as he could.” said my dad looking at me with disappointed I hadn’t seen in years.

I didn’t know what to do. I lowered my head in same. Then I heard a voice in my head of the little boy who left those years ago. “We’ll always be brothers right?” I had told him yes that day he left. Yet today when he returned I hid.

“Where did they go? I asked

I went and grabbed my bow. I might not be a fighter but I know how to hunt. I could show up with nothing in my hands. I jumped on my horse and went after them. I figured I would catch up to them fast traveling alone. Yet the day passed and still I had not reached them. So I camped overnight in the woods. I felt good eating the rabbit I had caught like everything would be alright. I had not idea what would happen next.

image.png

The next day I started out early. I had to find them today. I started to hear the battle long before I could see it. Those sites are burned into my mind. The creatures of the blight are worse than the stories you have heard. The magic that I saw all over the battlefield was amazing. At the center of it all stood my brother. He caused lakes to show up on dry land around monsters that fell to sharks and crabs and other beasts I had never seen. I could see the guards around my brother in a fierce battle one of them feel. The monster was hurt but it started one last charge towards my brother.

I don’t really remember firing that arrow. Yet I do remember watching it fly farther than I had even be able to shoot before. As it crashed into the head of the beast it feel to the floor and stopped a few feet from my brother. He looked away from a spell he had just finished and then glanced back. When our eyes meet the hate in my heart was gone. He gave me a nod and went back to the battle. I emptied my quiver that day fighting by my brother side. For a while, I thought we might fall that day. Then from the sky feel giants of ice that changed the tide of the battle.

Once it was all over and we headed back. I was surprised at how little my brother had changed. Sure he was a powerful mage now. But he talked like the boy I grew up with. He promised that he was going to end this fight with the blight. That they wouldn’t take over our world. He couldn’t stay long and I couldn’t go with him. When I see him again I will remind him of that shot from horseback that saved him. Because I might not be anyone special. But I might have saved the man who is going to save our world.

image.png


speculative fiction writers of steemit

Image by @EdibleCthulhu

Image Source

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stever82 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Fiction I growing on me

I have a lot of fun doing this. I know I am not that great of a writer but I can tell an okay story I think. I just need to get better at a few things. Also I wouldn't hurt if I could learn a few fancy words to put into my stuff.

What better at what things?

I enjoyed reading your composition, I think you are a great story teller. I know it’s not easy, so keep doing it, practice makes us perfect 👌

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Great story. Love the SM theme, and I can't tell what kind of creature it is. Awesome job.

Thanks to my friend I will try to get that story done this weekend. I had to think more now that you said mine is the ending. I have to wrap it up.


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @stever82

We have planted already
7473.16 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 27117.18
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31