Trading* in Steem Monsters is now LIVE!!!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Man, I'm excited because you're excited. We broke $25k in sales today!!! You all have purchased more than 10k booster packs. It's incredible! @yabapmatt and I see this excitement and it's fueling us to do whatever we can to help this thing move along. This whole blockchain can feel that this is gonna go big. We're working our asses off to help with that!

Trading* is now LIVE!

@yabapmatt is a genius. You should vote his witness if you haven't already! We launched the game 6 days ago. He got card packing gifting up and running. Then he got card gifting up and running too! Here's what it looks like. I think @clove71 was the first to do a live exchange.

So, now just like gifting a pack you can gift a card to someone!

Confirmation of a gift!

How is this trading?

Well, it's a start. Now you can move cards back and forth between players. It's not trustless yet. So, I'm going to start with a non code fix for trust. I'm creating a merchant group in the Discord. These are people that have sent me at least 100 SBD. If they fail to perform a trade I'm going to take the money from what they gave me and make the trader whole.

So, if you trade with someone with a merchant role and they steal your card you can come to me and I'll pay you out of the money they already handed me.

In the future we'll make this all happen on the blockchain, but for now, tonight, and for a little bit until we can get trustless trading going you're gonna have to live with the code/role solution for trading.

THAT SAID YOU CAN NOW TRADE CARDS!

Personally I think legendaries are worth at least $60. If anyone wants to trade me their legendaries for less than $60 I'm open to it. DM me.

If you want the merchant role send me 100, 250, or 500 SBD and I'll grant you the role

I'm not going to spend the money. If you ever want it back I'll give it all back and remove the role. This is like a performance bond. If you're trading as a middle person then this is the guarentee that you'll pay. If you screw someone over then I'm going to give them money out of this crypto performance bond to pay for the theft you caused. I'm the sole judge and jury for places where there was a miscommunication or purposeful bad acting.

So, pay me. Get the role. Do your job. Get it all back.

Pay me. Cheat someone. Forfeit what you paid me and I'll give it to the person you scammed.

It's the wild west people

If you trade with people that don't have the role I'm not responsible for you getting scammed. If you trade with people with the role I'll make sure you're kept whole. I'm ok with merchants charging for their services. Find a market rate until we get trustless systems going.

I hope you make a killing!

Have fun trading guys. If they don't have the merchant role in Discord trade at your own risk.

Discord link is on the @steemmonsters account info now! https://discord.gg/CAFJRjY for you lazy people.

Artwork by https://steemit.com/@wizardofcheeze

Sort:  

Will look into possibly being a merchant without such restrictions. As far as "It's not trustless yet." I think that is an unfortunate thing because that is very important in such a system and feel it should have been a higher priority. Will still support as we all will. But the game should be for all users to be able to interact safely when it comes to trading. So everyone be careful in trading land! Look forward to get into trading mode!

Back when I was designing Pocket, I thought a fair amount about how trustless trading could be done on Steem, and what I figured out was disappointing. Some operations are definitely possible, but it can be cumbersome to do it right.

@steemmonsters, feel free to ping me if you want to chat about it.

Wow! Thank you guys for featuring my image of your images. :blush: Steem Monsters really is going to be a huge contribution to what is possible on the Steem blockchain. Functionality is being added quickly (trading is now available...seems like I was just changing its diaper) and the discord chat is full of enthusiastic and talented users.

You cast tasty spells

I sacrificed a deck

and was immediately rewarded with my first legendary.

amazing!
did it just appear or has it been in another pack?

It was in a subsequent pack. I bought 5. Sent the first to null, opened two, sent another to a friend, and then opened the final one containing a legendary.

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

postpromoter upvote in the amount of $94.51 STU, $118.84 USD.
promobot upvote in the amount of $84.07 STU, $105.72 USD.

For a total calculated value of $179 STU, $225 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $45 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

One step closer to game play. Steemmonsters is the best thing since sliced bread.

Wish I knew programming to help things along.

I love how quickly you have pushed out new features since the open alpha! This new card trading will open up lots of possibilities for the game, and we might already begin to see some people who are able to make money off the game.

Damn! here it is! trading! haha!☺

wow. my legendary is worth $60? SWEET! I only bought three boosters so far.....!

Wonderful news! I'm excited! Comment on this post if you're looking for a specific type of #SteemMonster for trade!

Yours truly,

@Sutter

We will be able to close watch the price movement

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14