You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem blockchain has got its very first cryptogame: Steem Monsters

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

I've always heard not to give away your private keys on the internet. I know aggroed is a reputable guy, but I'm just talking in general - it's always good to be safe. Worst case scenario, what can someone do with my private posting key?

I would like to see them implement an easy STEEMconnect feature to login and track. I know you can use STEEMconnect with them, but that's after you give them your private keys. I'd like to just login with STEEMconnect and make it more convenient. Convenience is key with the masses.

Sort:  

You can login using your memo key, which I believe is less potent than your posting key.
Buying though requires your active key via steemconnect.

That's a good point! The memo key should be a bit safer for most people.

It's very smart of you to not give away your keys easily, @showtime24. The Private Posting Key is used for posting posts, comments, and voting. So worst case scenario someone could do things like:

  • Drain your voting power by upvoting their own accounts.
  • Post spam, phishing links etc. as blog posts.
  • Use your account to post spam comments.

No one would be able to steal any money with only this key, so at least that's not a concern, but as you can see, it can still do a lot of damage.

I also fully agree that it would be best for them to implement Steemconnect as a method for logging in. They have already used that for paying for card packs, so I don't see any reason not to use it for login as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69