DETAILED Review of the ACTUAL Battle Video - Steem Monsters Gameplay Mechanics

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Hey all,

I've performed a deep analysis on the gameplay battle video that @steemmonsters added to their Gameplay Mechanics post.

Here's the video, just in case you somehow missed it or would like to view it again:

After going through each "round of attack", I created a spreadsheet of a step-by-step of what is happening throughout the entire battle.

If you're trying to understand what's happening in the video or simply like to see an overview of what happened, then this post is for you! 😃

I hope you find it interesting, as I certainly had fun creating the breakdown.

(C) = Common
(R) = Rare
(E) = Epic


As you can see in Attack #8, I found a visual bug that shows a fireball coming from the Goblin Shaman's last position, when it should be coming from where he currently sits. If you would like to see this bug, click here to see it at the exact timeframe it appears in the video (which is at 0:36).

To the left is a screenshot, if that's your cup of tea.


As you read through the attacks above, you'll notice that I've attempted to discover which abilities these monsters have. I believe what we can discern from the video is the following:

Monster
Abilities
Pit Ogre
 
No Abilities!
Goblin Shaman
 
No Abilities!
Serpentine Soldier
 
Dodge
Monsters with Dodge have a higher chance of
evading Melee and Ranged attacks.
 
I'm guessing Dodge here, as he evaded an attack...
but it's possible his "Speed" is just very high
(we did not see the word "Dodge!" overlayed).
 
Thorns
When hit with a Melee attack, Monsters with
the Thorns ability will do guaranteed Melee
damage back to the attacker.
Haunted Spirit
 
Magic Reflect
When hit with a Magic attack, Monsters with the
Magic Reflect ability will reflect a portion of the
Magic damage back to the attacker.
 
Heal
Monsters with Heal will restore a portion of
their Health at the start of each round.
Enchantress of the Night
 
No Abilities!
Skeleton Assassin
 
Sneak
Monsters with Sneak will attack the last Monster
on the opposing Team instead of the first, and may
Melee attack even when not in the first position.
 
Again, this is a guess because he attacked first,
even though he's not in first position
nor has the highest "Speed".

So, there you have it!
I hope you enjoyed reading through all this, as there's a lot of information here.

As @yabapmatt, @aggroed and @steemmonsters stated though, this is all just "Alpha" right now, so things are highly subject to change.

I'm going to tag a few people here that I think would love to see this post,
and if I'm wrong, I apologize greatly!!
@o07, @mattclarke, @jeenger, @poyim, @clove71, @carrieallen, @karenmckersie, @rakkasan84, @minimining, @minishark, @doctorcrypto, @mister-meeseeks, @cryplectibles. @trisquelwhare & @tsnaks



Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

Sort:  

Wow. Impressive breakdown. You are a Steem Monster Nerd and you haven't even played yet. lol.

Good job on finding the bug.

I can't wait to play, and when I do, I'm coming to you with all my questions and/or advice. :D

lol Steem Monster Nerd = SMN Club

I'm in it! lol

I welcome all your questions/comments or requests for advice.

The end of September can't come quickly enough.

Very cool!
I did indeed miss the video. Thanks!

Hey @doctorcrypto!

HaHA, there's always one! lol

You're welcome.

lightning-dragon-sprite-with-wings.gif

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

Hello @onefatindian, you have already done a deep analysis of the gameplay- combat video! I just read the post about it!

I immediately realized that I had to work on it even more! I'm on vacation now and I have some time for it!

Thank you for your meaningful analysis, which I like to use and that you thought of me! See you soon!

Hey @jeenger,

I aim to please lol
How could I not take a closer look at the video? It's so great to see all this come to fruition.

Enjoy your vacation, buddy!

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

Hello @onefatindian, I have read 2 hours now and I wonder how you managed to do such an analysis in such a short time! I told you once before, there's a monster in you. Lol.

I'll do it like @poyim, provided you agree! I'll contact you if I need help!

You're awesome!
Best regards

Hey @jeenger,

2 hours must go by really fast when reading about Steem Monster stuff! But it's so much fun to learn :)

Of course, if there's any way I can help you, please let me know. I'm here for you, buddy!

Cheers,
OFI

Posted using Partiko Android

Now this is cool... i hope you do more of these. And pull in some price info from the market. Let me know if you need our help on that.

Thanks, @peakmonsters!

That sounds pretty cool. Please direct me on how to get started on pulling data automagically?

Nice thorough post ... all the Steem Monster addicts will be pleased :)

Thanks, @rentmoney!
Hope you enjoyed it too 😃

I certainly did :)

Hey all,

It concerned me that the Haunted Spirit had three abilities, which seems like overkill for a "Rare" monster.

After reading over the "Magic Reflect" ability again, I realized that I made a mistake in that the Haunted Spirit does not have the ability "Void".

The reduction in magic damage it received was actually the ability "Magic Reflect" redirecting a portion of the total magic damage, back to the attacker.

I've edited this posting a few times now (not my greatest work, gah!), and made some improvements for overall reading and updated a few things.

If you happen to see any errors with my post and breakdown, please do leave me a comment and let me know. It would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
OFI-sig.JPG

I'm geeking out! Excellent work!

Love this! It is so exciting isn't it!!? :-)

This is tingling all the right parts.

LOL

blackRed
1 epic0 Epics
3 abilities2 abilities (maybe 1)
16 health24 health
8 speed12 speed
8 melee9 melee
4 magic2 magic
0 armor2 armor

Why would the skeleton go first is the question? Animation Glitch or ability?

I think Haunted Spirit was the reason black won.

Hey @monsterworld,

I believe the Skeleton Assassin has the "Sneak" ability, due to:

  1. Going first and not having the highest level "Speed" attribute".
  2. Performing exactly the way "Sneak" is intended to work. Going first and attacking the "Last Position" monster, which in this case is the Serpentine Soldier.

I agree that the Haunted Spirit was a major factor in winning.
The self-heal alone was amazing to see!

The other thing to note is the number of actions/attacks each player managed to get in.

@yabapmatt = 4
@aggroed = 8 (EIGHT!)

@aggroed performed twice as many "moves" as @yabapmatt, and that's not including the two times that his Haunted Spirit healed himself.

Zintar is Zawesome.

Congratulations @onefatindian! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79