Steem Monsters Strategy Talk: Which cards to level up first, PART 1 - Water Splinter

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

For someone new to Steem Monsters, it can be quite daunting when deciding whether to focus on leveling up specific cards in one splinter or to have a variety of cards to choose from. Personally, I have decided to focus on leveling up cards in each splinter, starting from my favorite.

Why I decided to first focus on the Water splinter

In my opinion, the Water and Death splinters are the most versatile when it comes to team composition. Water, with it's strength in Magic was the first deck I focused on maxing. Using Water, I have been able to beat almost any team, especially teams that don't have a good Magic counter, i.e. cards with Void or Magic Reflect abilities.

Which Water cards to level up first

in leveling up Water cards, I would first focus on leveling up the Mischievous Mermaid and Medusa for their Magic abilities. Due to the Alric water summoner giving a +1 Magic to the team, it is an advantage to have at least one of these cards in your team.

9E1359EF-34F7-4CCF-B58B-84EF8B3F69F9.png

The next two essential Water cards to level up are the Naga Warrior and Crustacean King. The Crustacean King is the backbone of the Water squad as it adds greatly needed defensive skills to the team through Protect and Tank Heal abilities. Whereas, the Naga Warrior is a solid attacking tank at the front with it's Retaliate and Enrage abilities.

Obviously it would be nice to level up all the Water cards if you have the money, but in my experience, I haven't yet affectively used the Frozen Soldier. I have also rarely used the Water Elemental, and have been quite successful without a maxed Frost Giant.

So this has been my strategy when it comes to leveling up cards in the Water splinter. In my next post, I will give some insight into which cards to focus on with the Death splinter.

In case you haven't yet checked out Steem Monsters, it's not too late to get started and join in the fun. You can go here to get started. The $100 daily tournaments will be coming very soon, so be prepared.


If you have a Steem account created before 12 July 2018 with a reputation of at least 30, you can claim $5-$160 worth of Byteball tokens By downloading the Byteball wallet here, and following the instructions in this post.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

Is there any way to level up cards besides combining them? For example, do cards gain experience by battling?

In the future the cards will be able to gain experience through battling in tournaments, but this hasn’t been implemented yet.

I have two arlic beta cards but they wont combine?

Oh never mind lol I figured it out.

O how come? It should.

totally agree I would even say that water element is the strongest starting element when you play on low-mid levels. one problem you will have to face is the magic reflection shields which can be used against you

Exactly. Especially that Haunted Spirit.

@nextgen622, Good luck with your leveling up process and hope that you really are enjoying the Journey of Steemmonsters. At this moment i am standing on level 1 and in my opinion going forward, not sure but will try to level up because till now i didn't won a single battle and for sure it's an funny aspect for me ha ha. But i am really enjoying this game because it's really interesting.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Thank you. All the best with your SM journey too.

Welcome and thank you so much. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54