Played Steemmonsters Tournament Final Against A Very Unexpected Team

I just played the final in the 'Steem Monsters WilTravel Silver Leagues Tournament' and got faced with a team I hadn't expected at all...

SteemmonsterTournament Final lost.jpg
Source

WillTravel Tournaments

The tournaments hosted by @travelgirl and @wilhb81 are my favorite. Not only because of their perfect timing (1 pm my time), but because they are a little smaller, clear and simple, and there never seems to be as much trouble as in the other tournaments.

This one was a Silver League tournament. I like Silver ones the most. Although my deck is perfectly leveled to play gold, I guess I'm just not skilled enough (yet) to do good in those gold tournaments.

For me, the only downside to the WillTravel tournaments is that they are single game, single elimination tournaments.

In single game tourneys, it's not only your skills that count. You also need a little luck. One wrong decision and the tournament can be over before you know it. Because there's no double elimination, it's a big disappointment if you lose one of your first games.

When you play 'best out of 3', the skill factor becomes more important. If you make a mistake, you still have a chance to set it straight by winning the other two battles. But those tourneys take up a lot more time, and often get really confusing if not run properly.

divider2.png

Opponents

Like I said, you need a little luck in those single match, single elimination tournaments.

[tournament final lost.jpg()]
Click to see full-sized image

@the01crow

My first opponent was @the01crow again. We've been matched a couple of times in these last two days.

I always get nervous when I see his name pop up, because I know he's often one of the last players left in the tournaments he enters. His deck is a little stronger than mine, but because this was a silver league tournament, that difference is wiped out. The problem is that he's also a better player than I am.

But today, luck was on my side, since we needed to play one of my favorite battle rules.

tournament rule.jpg

As a result, I managed to beat him fairly easy.

divider2-small.jpg

@chrisroberts

I didn't know my next opponent very well. I think we have been matched once or twice before, so I didn't really know what to expect.

When playing a 'best out of 3'-tournament, you often get a little time to go check out your opponent's deck on Peakmonsters, and check out if he has a favorite team by taking a look at his battle history, but I since it all went so fast, I didn't have the time to do either.

So, I started the fight without any information at all.

And it ended up to be one of the weirdest battles I've ever played...

His Water Splinter took out my Haunted Spirit-tank pretty fast, and it was obvious that I wouldn't stand a chance without her. We were both convinced he would win the battle, since the last two monsters on the battlefield were his Frozen Soldier and my Twisted Jester.

2 monsters left.jpg

Since the ranged Twisted Jester can't attack when in first place, we both assumed it would just take him two strikes to take me out.

Fortunately, my haunted spider had poisoned him earlier in the game, and it was that poison that killed him and allowed me to go on.

You can watch the fight here



divider2-small.jpg

@travelgirl

Although @travelgirl has one of the weirdest decks I've ever seen, I know from experience she should not be underestimated.

This time, my Fire splinter was too strong for her Earth splinter and I could take her out pretty quickly.

divider2-small.jpg

@pkocjan

In the semi-finals, it was the hard-to-beat @pkocjan who was my opponent. I lost count of all the times I had lost from Paulina.

After checking out her deck, there's only one conclusion I can make: she's a very, very good player. I see her at the top of the bronze and silver tournaments' leaderboards all the time. I can't even remember if I ever did win a fight against her before. I'm pretty sure I didn't.

Up until today...

I was pretty unsure about the team I had assembled. I started playing the Life splinter only recently. I never liked the Splinter, until the Sacred Unicorn came along.

Last season, the Life splinter was by far the strongest splinter in the game, so I practiced a bit while trying to survive in the Champion 3 league, but I still have a lot to learn about the abilities and options of Life.

This time I was lucky. My Life team beat her Earth team and for as far as I remember, I beat @pkocjan for the first time in my Seemmonsters' 'career'.

All thanks to the @steemmonsters' version of 'My Little Pony'. Oh, how I love that card....

divider2-small.jpg

@cranium

So I made it to the final again. It had been a while since I got this far in a tournament.

It was no surprise to see that @cranium had made it there too. I could be wrong, but to me, it seems like the tournaments - especially the Bronze and Silver ones - are dominated by @cranium and @glory7.

I don't know if there's a way to look up how many times one has lost against a certain opponent, but in the case of @cranium, I have lost loads.

This time, it was no different. And I can only blame myself.

The battle rules were almost exactly the same as in my previous battle against @pkocjan, except for the fact that is was a 19 mana game, instead of a 20 mana game.

weak magic.jpg

I don't have a clue why I decided to replace the Life splinter - which enabled me to beat @pkocjan - with the Death splinter. On top of that, @cranium came forward with a team that was very surprising, to say the least. I don't think I have seen anyone play the Water splinter in the way he did...

water splinter.jpg

I didn't stand a single chance... @cranium wiped me out without any effort.

You can watch the fight here



divider2.png

Conclusion

I was happy to reach the final again. After winning a couple of tournaments in the beginning, my results had been pretty disappointing lately.

It pumped my self-esteem again: if I stay focused, I can do it.

After getting kicked out of so many tournaments in a very early stage, I started doubting myself more every time. As a result, I was never sure which splinter to go with, and I often switched teams with only 30 seconds left on the clock.

I definitely still have a lot to learn about the @steemmonsters game. One of the things is the order in which the monsters should be placed... I always stick with the same basic order, because that's a part that is still a big mystery to me.

I also need to take the time to learn the rules of attack. Believe it or not, I still don't have a clue which monster is going to be attacked by a monster with the sneak or snip ability. All I know is that it isn't the first one, lol.

So, if I ever want to get any better, I will have to start with studying the rules again. And then find me a good sparring partner - someone who knows all about the game - and not just play challenges, but also discuss the fights afterwards. I need to learn where I go wrong every time...

Anyway, this is no time to complain. After all, I finished in 2nd place, and won another 5SBD.

I assume I will learn everything I need to know eventually, as long as I keep playing...


See you in my next post!

signature.png

SteemMonsters is a really fun game. If you don't have an account yet, you can create one using my (affiliate) link:

SIGN UP HERE


steemmonsters.png
Source


Screenshots taken from the Steemmonsters website

Divider Source


qjrE4yyfw5pQYiuVvgYiUBP16WHGGN7UNn1BCdGdUB1GQ2jMjFL7G1Yb8JZDSzeDEKqkFUJRPqsDYToe6n7foUvAoJ9DqTxeXNv6x3iSXYBTFVuAuyzCBhNd.gif


.

Sort:  

I've yet to play in any tournaments because I feel like I still lose way too often. I appreciate reading about it when others give it a try, though.

:)

Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome.
I lose very often too. But playing tournaments is totally different from playing in the day-to-day ranking. It's also more fun, because of the contact with the other players you have in the Discord channel.

You have about the same deck as I have. Which means it is maxed for bronze and silver tournaments. If I were you, I'd give it a try. I even join Gold ones, even though I know I don't stand a chance, lol.

The only thing that can happen is that you learn what not to do :)

Resteem. It is very pleasant to read such pleasant words about myself.

Thanks. Glad you liked it.
But it was simply the truth. I wish I could look up some stats to see how many times I lost against you. And that last battle, well... that shows the difference between a regular player, and a great player.
I'm by far not as good at the game as I would like to be - and it feels like I don't progress at all - so I stick to the basics. To give you an example: I've been playing since season 1, and it wasn't until two weeks ago that I found out that I could make my level 6 deck a lot stronger by using the epic summoners and upgrading my level 6 rares to level 7.
When they started to give out those epic summoners in the beginning, I sold every single one of them, because I didn't see any use for them, lol. Just to say that I'm a slow learner when it comes to Steemmonsters.

The idea of playing the Water splinter without at least one magic card would never occur to me. You can only experiment like that when you know the game inside out.
(I did steal the idea once after seeing you do it, and it worked even for me, surprisingly)

So thank for teaching me a new trick :0)
That's mostly how I get around: I watch others do things I would never think of, and then try it out myself. I'm not good enough to be that creative, lol

Woah, a very lengthy and detailed battles with each of your opponent. You're such a good memorizer @monstermother Again, congratulations for bring the second place. Hope to see you on this upcoming Saturday gold tournament 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, it is funny you say that, because my memory is the worst. I would probably be a better player if I would be able to remember more.

This post was assembled with information that is made available through the Steemmonsters site and Peakmonsters.

I did remember battling some players before. After all, I try to enter as many tournaments as I can, and you run into the same people every time. So every once in a while, something sticks :0)

I'm so happy you and @travelgirl organize those 'Australian time' evening events. It's 1 pm here then, so I'm able to join. Loads of other tournaments (I assume the US-based) are scheduled at times I simply can't enter (mostly between 3 and 6 am). I'm not that addicted yet that I'm willing to get up at 6 in the morning to play a tournament. But who knows, maybe someday I'll be good enough to have a decent chance at winning, and when there would be a lot of money involved, I might reconsider :0)

Lol, it is funny you say that, because my memory is the worst. I would probably be a better player if I would be able to remember more.

This post was assembled with information that is made available through the Steemmonsters site and Peakmonsters.

I did remember battling some players before. After all, I try to enter as many tournaments as I can, and you run into the same people every time. So every once in a while, something sticks :0)

I'm so happy you and @travelgirl organize those 'Australian time' evening events. It's 1 pm here then, so I'm able to join. Loads of other tournaments (I assume the US-based) are scheduled at times I simply can't enter (mostly between 3 and 6 am). I'm not that addicted yet that I'm willing to get up at 6 in the morning to play a tournament. But who knows, maybe someday I'll be good enough to have a decent chance at winning, and when there would be a lot of money involved, I might reconsider :0)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Monster Mother from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

great write up! trust me i dunno sometimes why I have these weird teams. Maybe its the nerve that is getting to me but i always end up having the weirdest/unpredictable teams and then end up loosing lololol

I was actually more referring to the levels of your splinters.You seem to have a level 1 splinter, a level 3 splinter and a level 6 splinter in one account. I think I never saw that before. How do you handle your DQ when you get a Fire quest? Just skip to another quest?
Because at some point, you simply can't complete the DQ with a level 1 splinter anymore....
...
Oh, I only just noticed that you seem to have a gold fire summoner too... I missed that the last time :0)

Yes it is too expensive for me to level up all splinters so I just pick and choose the ones I can go with first. So last night i had a water quest and my water wasn't strong so i "gambled" my second chance but omg fire splinter so I had to drop from 2700 points to 2100 to finish the quest. I would of leveled up my summoner as i was loosing so much to get it done but mine is a gold summoner so to level it up, it would be too much for a quest lol.

I probably need to win some tournaments to make some upgrades to my weaker splinters

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Hi, @monstermother!

You just got a 0.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Great writeup! Very detailed, helpful, and entertaining.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words. I wanted to keep it short, but somehow it ended up like this, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74