SPIRIT OF THE FOREST: Entertaining Darkness & the Creation Myth

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Spirit-of-the-Forest-smsm.jpg


This story has been pulled from my Steem blog for use in publication. Thank you for your interest in my writing! Please visit me on Twitter for current content: https://twitter.com/KatrinaAriel

divider

Image credit for card above: @steemmonsters.


The first sketches I’ve done in years…


You might have noticed a rough sketch illustrating the story above. I actually did a few more that are too bad to share, but they’re the first attempt at drawing I’ve done in an embarrassingly long time.

I hesitated to include my art here, because I know I can do a lot better, but this is my first chapter in the Chronicles of the Spirit of the Forest… maybe I’ll keep sketching as I write them, and see how I improve.

SotF-meditating-KatrinaAriel.jpg


Jumping into the Steem Monsters Writing Guild.


I actually tried to stay away from monster madness when it exploded into the world of Steem, but the writing element lured me in. Some fantastic characters and a world that we can help create? YEAH! (Prizes are nice, too.)

I’m stoked to participate in a collaborative effort of backstory and world building, somewhat similar to what I’ve been doing in the #steemwars sci-fi parody with @thewritersblock. I’ll keep writing for Princess KatLe’a, but technically she’s supposed to be partying on the the Sri sea with a certain wizard, so I’m free to explore this new world called the Splinterland.

I’ve joined the Green element for the Steem Monsters Writing Contest, but the easiest way for me to think about this world is from the perspective of the Spirit of the Forest. I see her essentially as an expression of Mother Earth, though perhaps not as powerful as a deity.

The whole flirting-with-the-Lord-of-Darkness thing was originally @chrisrobert’s idea, written into Episode 2 of the Steem Monster’s Tavern, which is hilarious! Thanks for the inspiration, Chris. ;)

And thank you for reading!!! I’d love to hear your thoughts on the character I’m building, and the world in which she lives.

Mahalo!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

Soooo good, I am happy you have joined us , and taking the lead with a story. I like it . I have been bouncing ideas around about the same character but being involved with swamp thing. Like cursed love something keeping them apart. Transformation...RESPECT

Oooh! I love tangled love stories. No reason she can't have both. ;) I'm really enjoying this. Glad to be on your team. Thanks very much for the kind comment. 💖

this has food for thought. adore the plot twist of flirtation with the dark lord! this has me thinking of spin offs. excellent!

p.s. love the hat!

Thank you! So glad it's gotten some ideas flowing. The possibilities are wide open with this story. 💖

And, yes, I have a thing about hats. ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Well done! Great show of emotions.

Thank you very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Writing isn't necessarily easy, but I love it, and having readers enjoy it is the best! 💖

Hi katrina-ariel,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

YAY! I 💖 Curie. Thank you so much!!! I put a lot of work into this, and having it rewarded is super sweet. Huge gratitude for all you do!!!

Amazing write up with so much perfection, never have thought monster world coyld be a reality on steem block chain....the cards which was for games has a story behind.
PS congrats for the curie vote @princes👌

Thanks so much, @steemflow! It's so fun writing the story for the cards (I'm actually much more interested in the story than the game. lol!) Have a wonderful day! :)

so cool spinning a story from a couple of the cards

and your sketches are great

Thank you! Yes, it's a fun story to write. I've never done fan fiction before like this. And I'm so glad you like the sketch! I'll take the encouragement. ;)

@katrina-ariel You should keep sketching writing and sharing with us

Love your story, and your sketch as well. Nice symbolism in both. I'll make a point of reading you later chapters. ;-)

The Spirit of the Forest is alive and well in our woods, but she's a shapeshifter as well; sometimes she appears as the damaged but resilient grandmother oak tree, sometimes the grandmother hickory, and occasionally, one of our elder does.

The latter surprised me one day, by racing twenty feet in front of my car next to the barn gate, but I was already slowing, as the barn gate was closed.

I think she sensed that there was no danger, but wanted to let me know; "This is OUR land, and has been for aeons before you came."

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

The world seems very interesting! I'd seen a few posts about Steem Monsters, but I wasn't sure what they were then. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60