You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Blockurator's Steem Monsters Leasing Program

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Just noticed all the Biblical books you authored.

Cool. Very cool.

My father was an ordained Methodist minister - a rarity in Asia in the 60's - before becoming a shrink in the Veteran's Administration.

Consequently, I've been an avid "armchair comparative religionist" since early childhood and more so when I became a Buddhist.

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

Sort:  

Thanks. Out of curiosity, what made you become a Buddhist? Zen?

Oddly enough, the military stashed me there after a possible ID compromise (images/video) during a mission (long story).

Anyway, I was long overdue to do that traditional Thai "coming of age" thing. That's when a young man enters a Buddhist monastery for training in the Buddhist religion. I was viewed like all the other older men there - criminals who got leniency in the legal system.

The Spartan lifestyle was no problem. I treated it like any other survival evolution. But I failed the 30 day vow of silence three times! Why? A man can go crazy listening to his own thoughts 24/7 - unless he learns to make friends with himself.

I hadn't realized how much communication - in the form of giving orders and jibes among comrades - fed my ego.

Of course, the ego had to be increasingly subordinated with an end goal of "ego death".

Lastly, I was initially uncomfortable "begging" for food, but it was absolutely amazing how people were genuinely "honored" to give us all food in the morning.

I must confess that I didn't want to leave when my time was up and it was supposedly "safe" to go back to work. I learned so much about myself and the wonders of the "inner universe" there.

Wow. I didn't mean to make this a short story.

OK. 'Nuff said.

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

There is a lot about Buddhism that I admire, but it doesn't offer the one that I've found I needed the most. There's no personal savior to redeem me for the innate sinfulness of my bones. I don't have to work to earn God's favor. It's been done for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48