Steemmonsters Experiment Day 6, 7 and 8: So Far, So Good

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Find out what happened during day6, 7 and 8 of the experiment in which I start playing Steemmonsters with only a starter deck. I want to experience first hand what it is like to join the game at the start of season 6.

the splinterlands experiment.png
source

Life

You probably all know what it is like when life gets in the way of publishing the posts you had planned to post.
That's what happened to me during the last couple of days. As a result, this post will be a summary of the previous 3 days of my experiment.

divider.png

Giveaways

I didn't think of it earlier, but about 4 days ago I started joining every @steemmonsters card giveaway I could find. With a little luck, it's a great way to build your deck.

Unfortunately, there are way fewer giveaways these days than there were before. Because people don't earn free booster packs anymore, beta cards have become a lot more valuable and people seem to be holding on them rather than giving them away.

So far, I did win 1 Sea Genie card, a gift from @komod0 that was very welcome. The more cards I can add to my deck, the better.

divider.png

Battles

During three DQ's, I only lost 3 games. So far so good.
I've still been battling other level 1 accounts, maybe there were one or two exceptions, but that was about it.

Also, I haven't been matched with a bot so far - at least, not with a bot of which I know it is a bot.

I assume this will change since I've reached Silver 3 yesterday.

silver 3.jpg
source

I'm very curious to see when they will pop up.

divider.png

Reward Cards

Since I reached Silver 3 yesterday, I could claim two cards instead of one.

These were the cards I earned these last three days:

reward cards earned.png
source

I got lucky getting another gold foil card.

divider.png

Cards Sold And Bought

I've been able to sell most cards I put up for sale pretty quickly.

Coincidence or not, the Silvershield Archers card I won on day 4 was bought by @aggroed, one of the founders of @steemmonsters.

Next to the won reward cards, I also put up the Flesh Golem card, which is a card that comes with the basic starter deck, for sale. Without the self-heal the Flesh Golem gets once leveled up, the Stonesplitter Orc card is a better tank, so I figured I could sell it in order to buy another card.

So next to the Silvershield Archers card, which I sold for 0.061 SBD I sold these cards:

  • Flesh Golem: 0.111 SBD
  • Creeping Ooze: 0.122 SBD
  • Undead Minotaur: 0.169 STEEM

With these earnings, I decided to purchase Cerberus for 0.360 Steem, as an addition to my Fire splinter.

cerebrus.jpg
source

This one does have self-heal and is one of my favorite cards when playing the Fire splinter.

Earlier today, I also sold the gold foil Goblin Mech for 2.421 STEEM.

While I decided to keep one of the Undead Minotaur cards, I just listed the Javelin Thrower card for sale.

At first, I wanted to keep it, but since it is selling for 0.996 Steem, I thought I'd take my chance to list it for sale before the market gets even more flooded by all reward cards and the price goes down. If I don't sell it before the season ends, I will probably keep it.

So, if you're looking for a Javelin Thrower card, you could help me a lot by getting it of my hands :0)

divider.png

Wallet

Today, I also received the payout for my first two posts. I received more than I thought I would, but that was because I had completely missed that the second post had been upvoted by @curie, while the first one had been upvoted by @c-squared.

Together, my first two posts paid out 1.189 SBD, 2.024 STEEM and 5.298 SP.

With the current exchange rate, I was able to exchange the 1.3 SBD in my account into 3.94 Steem.

So at the moment, I have 8.487 Steem in my account.

I still need to decide which cards I want to buy, or if I will keep it and save so I will be able to purchase one of the more expensive cards.

divider.png

RC

I had made the mistake of delegating SP from my own account before I could see if the @steemmonsters delegations were still given out.

After a tip from @wonderwop, I decided to take back the delegation. My account is now at 8SP.

After publishing this post and playing my DQ, I will probably run out of RC, and will get the chance to see if @steemmonsters will delegate any Steem Power so I can keep on playing.

divider.png

Conclusion

So far, so good. Things are going more smoothly than I had expected.
Of course I've been extremely lucky getting not one, but two gold foil reward cards in only 10 days.

The end of the season is due in 2 days and 11 hours.
After I've completed my daily quest this evening, I'll probably start playing to rank up as much as I can. I hope to be able to get to at least silver 2 and get a couple more reward cards once this season has ended.

I've also ran into a post which showed me there might be a way to get some more cards for my deck, but I'll tell you more about that in my next post.



1.png

steemmonsters ad.png
source 1 - Source 2 - Source 3


Sort:  

Congrats on the other gold card! Seems like you're moving ahead, little by little. I'm fully with you on the Cerberus. That's a must have for the fire deck. As for the Javelin Thrower, I think that one is my new favorite. (Plus she's bad-ass looking!) Also, I'm probably not the only one who thinks so, which is why the price is still up, and that means selling it now is a great idea.

It had already dropped in price a lot...
Not such a big deal, since I wouldn't mind not selling her...

This is really getting interesting. Thanks for the shout out. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the tip about undelegating to see what happens. I didn't think of that myself :0)

Congratulations @itisjustme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50
You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @itisjustme!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Looking at the $10 purchase from just an investment aspect. It would seem that its still a great deal to purchase the $10 starter set as you already got what I consider a good return on that investment. It will be interesting to see what cards you get going forward in your daily and season rewards. You may come close to making near your $10 back in a single season. There isn't too many investments you can make that give your invested amount back in 14 days.

If you don't get the delegation from SM there is a section in discord that is specifically for RC issues. I would recommend posting that you ran out of RC in that section if you don't receive it automatically.

Thanks for the tip, @rentmoney, but I actually received the delegation from Steemmonsters.

I'll be writing a short post in a sec, but I already want to let you know that - in spite of the wall of bots I bumped into, I managed to complete my 2 DQs and the reward has been great again :0)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 273 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43