Steemmonsters Experiment Day 5: Fighting A Losing Battle

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

No surprises on day 5 of the experiment in which I start playing Steemmonsters with only a starter deck. I want to experience first hand what it is like to join the game at the start of season 6.

the splinterlands experiment.png
source

Nothing Spectacular

Just like I predicted in my previous post, I don't have anything spectacular to tell you about day 5.

The fact that I'm an experienced player is still a big advantage. The 10 cards I could buy from the money I earned from selling my first reward card, the gold foil Wood Nymph, are too.

But I wonder how much longer this will last... Up until now, I have only been matched with other level 1 teams. Which I think is a little surprising, because my level 1 alpha deck has been matched quite often with a level 2 deck, in spite of the fact that its rating is lower than the one of this deck.

Could it be because the alpha deck is a full deck, while this was only a plain starter deck 5 days ago?

Anyway, 13 minutes to complete the DQ is a new record for this account.

battles.jpg
Source

It's a shame that both @hotfire and @jestertwisted both fled the battlefield, or it would have been a nice 5-in-a-row.

@hotfire, by the way, is turning surrendering into a new form of art...

hotfire.png
Source

divider.png

Bronze 1

Thanks to all those victories, I reached Bronze 1 and I will be receiving 9 reward cards at the end of the season.

bronze1.jpg
Source

I have my DQ coming up in about 5 hours, and I do expect to bump into some level 2 accounts this time. But with a little luck, it won't take too much effort to beat them too.

ll will depend on the splinter I will have to play. I'm really no good with the Life and the Earth splinter. And because of that, I try to avoid playing them when I can. Not really a good idea... if I never play them, I'll never learn...

divider.png

I'm Gonna Be In Trouble Soon

Because I'm climbing up in the leagues so fast, I'll soon be confronted with the fact that my deck is incomplete.

I still don't own a single Epic, let alone a Legendary.

When you tell people you are playing a starter deck, a lot of them (mostly the ones who play a high deck themselves) don't see a problem in this.

"Oh, but you only have to sell the reward cards you win after completing a daily quest and use the money to buy extra cards. You'll have a complete deck soon."

Right! Like that's going to happen. The people who give me that line have obviously lost touch with reality. Maybe I had too, because I didn't foresee it would be this difficult to grow that starter deck.

If it hadn't been for that gold foil the first day, I would still be playing a starter deck.

After all, reward cards are handed out to everyone for free, every day again. There are a few exceptions, but most of the reward cards are sold for next to nothing. And now the payout of season rewards is getting closer, no one is buying them either. Why would they? They have a truckload of cards coming their way in just a couple of days.

Yesterday's reward card was the neutral Goblin Mech.

goblin mech.jpg
Source

He looks like he is a tough tank, but from experience I've earned most of it is make-belief. He dies more quickly than you would expect. Probably the reason he's currently selling for 5 cents.

divider.png

Funding My Deck

After playing for 5 days and thus completing 5 Daily Quests, these are the reward cards I've earned so far:

earned reward cards.png
Source

I have been very lucky to get the gold foil Wood Nymph the first day, because I was able to sell it for $0.98 and used the funds to buy 10 extra cards for my deck. (Meanwhile, the price has dropped to only $0.70.)

Market prices of the other cards:

Creeping Ooze: $0.05

Silvershield Archers: $ 0.07
(Wow, time to sell the card. Two days ago it was only worth $0.02.)

Goblin Mech: $0.05

I hope the tide will turn soon, because at this pace, it is going to take a year before I'm able to afford an epic or a legendary card.

So, in case you're one of those people who comforted me with the fact that I would be able to build my deck quickly by selling my reward cards, I kindly ask you to read the last part again and reconsider your opinion.

(And maybe pay a visit to the market and buy that 'Silvershield Archers'-card I just put up for sale.) 😉

( No Dave, not you. You are not allowed to buy my cards anymore, lol - that would make it too easy)

divider.png

Fighting A Losing Battle

A couple of days ago, one of my team mates told me I shouldn't be doing this experiment, because it was a waste of time. I absolutely agree, and after only 5 days I already lost my believe in the fact that one is still able to build his @steemmonsters deck without investing extra money.

Still, I will keep going, because that's exactly the point I want to make.

I've only got this far already because I'm not a real newbie. If I would be, I would probably still be struggling to complete the first or second DQ.

My experience allows me to complete a DQ in 15 minutes. Writing this post takes me at least 4 times as long. These posts are not only meant to document my experiences, but also to earn a little extra, so I can buy more cards.

I have the luxury to stop this experiment whenever I think it takes up too much of my time, or when there will be more frustration than fun. Many people aren't that fortunate, as this is the only way for them to be able to play.

I'm fully aware of the founders' vision that "this game is not for everyone", and to be honest.... that makes me sad. Sad ánd angry. Why should only the rich be allowed to have fun?

Don't worry, I realize that I'm fighting a losing battle trying to make people see how unfair this entire situation is. But I'd rather fight a losing battle, than just stand on the sideline, do nothing and watch it happen...

So I assume you could say I'm wasting my time indeed, but at least I can look at myself in the mirror, and sleep at night.

look at myself in the mirror.gif
Source



DISCLAIMER: Please let it make clear that this is not at all an attack on the founders of the Steemmonsters and their team. I think they've done an awesome job developing the game, and I admire how they are constantly tweaking it to make the @steemmonster experiment even better. I know they have been working hard day in, day out to make sure we have the ability to play, and I want to thank them for that.
They have done an awesome job making @steemmonsters one of the flagships of the community.

All I want to achieve is some insight on how things are going at the base of the game.



1.png

steemmonsters ad.png
source 1 - Source 2 - Source 3


Sort:  

Congratulations @itisjustme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yes! See what I meant, prices do go up sometimes... Reminds me to put up my archers for sale (for six cents, of course, driving the price back down again, hehehe!) Don't worry, I'm not that desperate to sell them, though someone else might...
Thanks for continuing this experiment, and reporting about it regularly. It makes me feel less frustrated about the closing doors on the game. But as I mentioned before, I'm sure other people feel turned off too, and let's face it: if they stop coming the sm team will have to implement other changes. Seeing how dynamic things are, I wouldn't be surprised about things getting a bit less restrictive.
By the way, you keep talking about a full deck. Do you mean by that owning every single card of a certain splinter? Do players actually do that? Looking at my collection, it's mostly made up of common and rare cards, with the Divine Sorceress and Lord Arianthus being the only exceptions. Needless to say, I got them as rewards, and I'm not particularly keen about either. Otherwise I've always considered epics and legendaries to be too expensive to bother. Though I may have to reconsider, as it's getting harder to get through the gold league.

With a full deck I indeed a deck with every basic card in the game (reward cards not included)

Do players actually do that?

Lol, I think a lot of people do.
My alpha deck I keep as a collector's item; so it had to be complete, but except for my gold foil deck, all decks I have have each card of each splinter; I even try to get them leveled up to the level the according level of the summoner.

Epics and legendaries are expensive indeed, but remember, I've been playing since season 1; and they used to give out free booster packs as a reward for completing the DQ ánd as season rewards. That means that I got the chance to build out the main part of my decks for free.
And I would be lying if I said that I didn't spend quite some money too.

After they realized they weren't selling any booster packs anymore, they switched to the reward card system. As a result, it is way more difficult for anyone who has started after - I think it was season 3 - to build their deck without investing.

It makes me feel less frustrated about the closing doors on the game. But as I mentioned before, I'm sure other people feel turned off too, and let's face it: if they stop coming the sm team will have to implement other changes. Seeing how dynamic things are, I wouldn't be surprised about things getting a bit less restrictive.

I hope with all my heart that you're right, but I'm afraid it won't. Like I said in the post, I had a direct conversation with one of the founders, and from what I understood, they are only going to evolve into an even more 'play-to-play system'.
But since so many changes have been made since the beginning, there is always hope. If enough people keep fighting the same losing fight I am, maybe it'll change for the better, maybe it won't. We'll have to wait and see.

Anyway, If you haven't read it yet, I suggest you hop over to the account of @rentmoney.
He's a big player, but with a heart for newcomers. He puts up a lot of suggestions for changes that would make the game more attractive to more people than only the top players.

His last post, Steem-Monsters: Prize Adjustment Suggestion For League Payout/Future Tournaments ! has a lot of valid arguments in it.

By the way, thanks a lot for the upvote!

Interesting, I look forward to seeing the conclusion of this experiment. As you know I ran a similiar one where I used only the starter set cards with no upgrading/buying or selling and reached into the Silver leagues.

My strategy was simply play until I win the daily and then stop. On the last two days of the league I ran up the league standings as far as I could. Silver league was as far as I progressed using this strategy and considering I only used the starter cards I thought that was more then a fair level to reach with such underpowered and limited card set. In other words ... great value for $10.

Now some things have changed since my experiment and yours. I do disagree with some of your assessment and I see your outcome in game play as positive for an investment of $10 thus far. I think the biggest issue that you are going to run into that I didn't is the army of bots you will eventually have to overcome.

Some other notes : It also took me 10 - 40 minutes per daily quest with the starter set cards. As you are doing the same it looks like that aspect of the game hasn't changed. I stopped climbing the league on the last day if gaining points became too slow. Its actually possible to get into the gold league with just level one cards but you would need an abundance of time on your hands (which most of us don't have) to accomplish. I know this because I have played against level 1 teams in the gold league.

Thanks for taking the time to do this experiment as I know its time consuming. The info attained will likely help allot of others in the game.

Thanks, @rentmoney.
I'll be posting a new update in a minute. Life got in the way of posting one sooner.

I agree that the bots will probably the biggest problem I will be running into, although: so far so good. I've reached silver 3 and haven't been matched with a bot of which I know it is a bot so far. I assume I will encounter them soon, however.

Selling reward cards isn't that easy with everyone having a truckload of them coming at the end of the season. Fortunately, I've managed to sell the 2 gold foils I had won :0)

I guess I'll start playing to rank for season rewards later today. I know you can get a level 1 deck to gold, but I don't think I'm skilled enough to do do. We'll see... :0)

I look forward to reading it.

You are 100% good enough to reach gold with level 1 cards its more of a time consuming venture to do so. Which is why bots are able to do it.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 197 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I finally made it to diamond for one game and have dropped ever since. 🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

What level summoner are you playing?

My fire is 3, all the rest are 2's. I've been trying to trade my Reward cards for Summoners but nobody's interested.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94