Steemmonsters: my problems with the new reward system (the stronger collection will be getting stronger)steemCreated with Sketch.

steemm.png

Good morning all,

I do want to write a little post about the changes in @steemmonsters. To be more precise about the new reward system.
The new season has started yesterday and with the start of the new season new rules and new cards were introduced.

The reward cards

Well I do have a too big problem with the new reward cards. It does bring another dimension to the game! For the moment it is limited to 10 different cards which seems sufficient!
Based on the highest league you got into, you will get an x amount of cards at the end of the season. My highest league for this season is Bronze I, which will result in 15 rewards cards at the end of the season.
Silver III which was my highest league last season would grant me 20 cards. To be able to compare this with the rewards of the Booster pack like last season, we can easily divide this by 5.
So, to be honest nothing much has changed.

The reward for completing the daily quest!

Here is where I do have the biggest problem with. Let me first say that I do understand why they did introduce the reward cards. Money can be made with steemmonsters, so people were creating multiple account, to get as many as booster packs as possible. So, yes they had to change something.

But the reward system of the daily quest also changed. Depending on the league your are playing when you win the last battle for the daily quest, you will be getting X-amount of cards.
For me the daily quest will reward me with 1 reward card. A player in the silver league will be rewarded with 5 reward cards, a player in the gold league will get even 10 reward cards.

The daily quest is for the lower players in the league an excellent way to strengthen their collection. This has changed now. It will for the players in the lower leagues impossible to climb in rankings without investing lots of money into buying boosters packs.
Let me explain you why?
Lets compare a player in the Bronze League and a player in the gold league. Both are playing 10 daily quests in a row. The Bronze players will have after 10 successful completed quest 10 reward cards. He should be very lucky to score some good rewards cards and if he does he will probably only have one of them.
The gold player will get 100 rewards cards. So he has much more chance of getting the better cards of due to the small different number of rewards cards, he will probably be capable of upgrading lots of his common and rare reward cards. Hence his collection will blown the collection of the bronze player away.
Due to this it will be extremely hard for a bronze player to move up a league without investing!
The difference with the players in the Silver league are already 40 reward cards.

In the previous season both players had the same chance of strengthening their collection, because regardless of the league you were in, you would get the same reward for the daily quest. The players in the higher leagues would get their extra reward at the end of the season.
I guess we could compare this with a football season were the better teams get 4 points for winning a game, and the lesser teams only would get 1!

I do want to express one more time, that I do understand that changes were necessary, but I do feel that these changes written above will cause a too big gap between the players from the different league. I do know that the creators of Steemmonsters do need to earn some money and they are fully entitles to do so! It is one of the best Dapps on the steem blockchain, so I do hope that they will make a nice profit. But due to these changes, I can foresee lots of smaller players dropping out.
Smaller players dropping out will decrease the will the buy some cards from the market of to invest into new booster packs!

So once again: @aggroed and @yabapmatt you guys did create a great game. Even I am getting addicted, only I do regret that changes you made to the reward system of the daily quest! This post is no rant but just my 2 cents and the ideas of a bronze league player!

Cheers,
Peter


Sports Bettors On Steemit Unite and Join the SBC !


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

I completely agree not having pack for daily quests gonna hurt smaller players and the bigger players will have a higher chance to get better cards. I just wish everyone got the same amount of reward cards in the daily quest to make it more fair but that is just my opinion!

It indeed feels that the strong player will get double rewards and that the lesser players are more or less punished twice for not having a decent collection!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 216 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Indeed the competitive advantage of already investing money or having collected a prized deck is steep. I think the league as in moving up and getting rewards is fine as is, but i agree the daily task seems like it shouldnt be following that rule

It doesn't allow for people to play themselves into a better position and ring fences you into spending money vs spending time. Which I get, you're a business but if you can find a balance where playing time can be rewarded a little more that would be ideal

Indeed they should have created a better balance. The balance was their in my opinion where the players of the higher league did get a lot more rewarded after the league was over.
But now it feels, like makes this a fact, that they are getting double rewarded!

Even with the old system, the better cards end up getting even more better cards.

I seem to be facing at least 1 card that makes a set almost impossible for me to beat. The question is, do I spend $3 to get the same card or just hope I don't have to fight that card and take the loss. The player with that card will continue to advance and gain more cards.

I agree but in the old system the rewards for the daily quest were at least the same. So regardless of the league you were in, you would earn a booster pack.
With the current reward system for the daily quest they are just making the gap between bigger.

I completely agree. I understand it from the business perspective, but for smaller players like me it takes away the feeling you can 'get somewhere' buy playing the game. Let's see if there's more people seeing it this way, things might change again in the future, there's constant tweaking going on :-)

Indeed they are constantly tweaking the game, which we can only applaud for. They will make changes which in our views will be an addition to the game, while others will result into the opposite feelings.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Agree with your assessment as well given what I am seeing in game already with these cards. There are still looking for the right balance to ensure that the Steem Monster economy doesn’t break while trying to run a freemium type model that does not turn into pay to win. I think that a great way to help would be allowing players to earn XP on their cards as they use them in battle. That incentivizes gameplay without necessarily require purchases to win. It would actually encourage players to buy cards to complete their collection and then play to level them up. I hope we are near this stage...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did read about this proposal of you earlier.
People like evolution and not revolution. And while I do understand that they want to maximize their economics, I do think that this change is a revolution and that it can hurt their economic model.
Cheers,
Peter

I think they should have kept packs being the daily quest reward and it isn't so bad having season rewards being cards to stop people abusing it.

I can relate to a change in which they do offer everybody the same number of reward cards for the daily quest. But they are trying out different things. Only the change they made now, feels unfair to me and probably to a lot of small player. On the other hand, the big players will be delighted with this change. They can flood the market with all their reward cards, and use the Money to invest into booster packs or into buying the needed Alpha or Beta cards on the market. To be honest these big players are probably the one who are the real early adaptors or the ones who did invest the most into SM.

And the ones who are listened to when decisions need to be made. I'm visiting the mav's house every once in a while, and there i've seen that a lot of the previous changes were made because of the pressure from the big investors. So for a great part, they are making the decisions...

Hi @fullcoverbetting!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.016 which ranks you at #3572 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 3584).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I agree that this reward system does balance towards the ones that are already strong... Oh well, hopefully they see it and will tweak it in the future. It is a pity to have this imbalance...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76